Non-Toxic Toothpaste: Ingredients, Fluoride, and Tablets

Non-toxic on a toothpaste label comes down to five checkable ingredient classes: sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) as the foaming detergent, titanium dioxide as a whitening filler, synthetic dyes, triclosan as an antibacterial additive, and plastic microbeads, whose U.S. phaseout reached OTC toothpastes with manufacturing and interstate-commerce deadlines in 2018 and 2019. None of the first four is illegal in U.S. toothpaste; a maker either formulates around them or doesn’t, and the only way to know is the ingredient list on its own product page, not the word “natural” on the front.

Choose the active ingredient before the package. The American Dental Association’s general home-care recommendation is to brush twice a day with fluoride toothpaste for two minutes. A paper pouch does not make up for leaving out an ingredient your teeth need.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links below are affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no added cost to you.

Finish the toothpaste you have before replacing it just for a different package. For an adult switching to tablets with fluoride, Unpaste and Bite are two options to compare. Both brands also sell fluoride-free versions, so check the formula as well as the brand name.

  • Unpaste Fluoride Mint: the maker lists sodium fluoride.
  • Bite with Fluoride: the maker lists sodium monofluorophosphate. Sold by Bite directly (not on Amazon).

The Amazon listing is Unpaste’s 125-tablet fluoride pack, not the maker’s subscription; Bite’s fluoride bits are sold only through Bite’s own site. Confirm the active ingredient on the listing and the package you receive. If you already have a jar, look for refills instead of buying another starter container.

What “Non-Toxic” Means in a Toothpaste Ingredient List

Sodium lauryl sulfate is the surfactant that makes toothpaste foam. It doesn’t clean better than a low-foam formula, and it’s a recognized irritant for people prone to canker sores or mouth ulcers — the reason so many tablet and “clean” toothpaste brands market as SLS-free. It isn’t restricted in oral care in the U.S.; avoiding it is a comfort choice, not a safety requirement for most brushers.

Titanium dioxide shows up as an opacifying whitener in some pastes, most visibly in Burt’s Bees’ fluoride-free Purely White line and in Colgate Total, in the August 29 ingredient comparison. The European Union withdrew titanium dioxide’s approval as a food additive in 2022, and that fact circulates online as if it applies to toothpaste. It doesn’t. Commission Regulation (EU) 2022/63, effective February 7, 2022, amends the EU’s food-additive rules (Regulation 1333/2008) and says nothing about cosmetics. In the EU, toothpaste is regulated as a cosmetic under a separate framework (Regulation 1223/2009), and in the U.S. the FDA has not restricted titanium dioxide in oral care at all.

The short version: neither the EU nor the FDA restricts titanium dioxide as a toothpaste ingredient. Brands that skip it, like RiseWell, Boka, Davids, and the fluoride tablets checked below, are making a formulation choice, not complying with a law.

Triclosan is the other ingredient people ask about, usually because of news coverage of antibacterial soap. The FDA’s 2016 rule banned triclosan in over-the-counter antiseptic hand and body washes, and its 2017 and 2019 follow-up rules covered health-care antiseptics and consumer antiseptic rubs. None of the three mentions toothpaste, because triclosan toothpaste is regulated separately, through the FDA’s over-the-counter drug pathway rather than the antiseptic-wash rules. Colgate removed triclosan from Colgate Total in the U.S. in 2019 anyway; none of the fifteen products in the August 29 comparison listed it.

Carrageenan, a seaweed-derived thickener, still appears on some ingredient lists — Burt’s Bees’ fluoride-free paste names it — and draws scrutiny for the intestinal irritation seen with degraded carrageenan in animal studies, though the food- and cosmetic-grade form used in toothpaste is a different, undegraded compound. It’s worth checking for if you’re avoiding it, not a settled toxicity question. Plastic microbeads are the one item on this list that’s actually restricted: the Microbead-Free Waters Act of 2015 covers rinse-off cosmetics, including toothpaste, with intentionally added solid plastic microbeads used to cleanse or exfoliate. The FDA’s deadline summary distinguishes ordinary cosmetics from those that are also OTC drugs: the latter had to stop manufacturing covered products by July 1, 2018, and introducing them into interstate commerce by July 1, 2019. Polyethylene glycol (PEG), a liquid binder some clean-ingredient brands also avoid, is chemically different from a microbead and isn’t covered by that law; its absence from a formula is a preference, not a compliance issue.

For most brushers, SLS itself is a detergent, not a toxin, at the concentration used in toothpaste. For people who get canker sores, it’s a documented trigger, and switching to an SLS-free formula is a reasonable, low-cost thing to try before assuming a different cause. Eleven of the fifteen brands checked below state SLS-free formulas; Colgate Total, which doesn’t, still carries the ADA Seal of Acceptance, so a certification badge is not a stand-in for an SLS-free claim.

The Fluoride Question

Fluoride is the ingredient the “non-toxic” search most often ends up questioning, and the dental and public-health evidence doesn’t support treating it as one. The American Dental Association states plainly: “For most people (children, adolescents, and adults) brushing twice a day with a fluoride toothpaste—when you get up in the morning and before going to bed—is recommended,” and adds that the ADA “recommends use of a fluoride toothpaste displaying the ADA Seal of Acceptance.” The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention explains that fluoride helps rebuild the outer enamel layer and prevent cavities. Neither position is contingent on a “clean beauty” definition of non-toxic; it’s the default clinical recommendation.

Young children need a much smaller amount of fluoride toothpaste than adults. The ADA recommends a rice-sized smear from the first tooth until age three, then a pea-sized amount from ages three to six, with an adult supervising brushing and helping the child spit rather than swallow. These are amounts of paste, not instructions to give a young child a whole adult-size tablet. That’s a use-it-correctly caution, not a reason to avoid fluoride toothpaste for an adult who spits. Choosing fluoride-free is a legitimate preference — for taste, for a philosophy about topical versus systemic exposure, or to try an alternative — but it isn’t an upgrade the evidence calls “safer.”

Nano-hydroxyapatite (n-Ha) is the fluoride-free alternative with the most direct evidence behind it, used in Boka, Davids, and Bite’s fluoride-free line. RiseWell Original Mineral Toothpaste uses micro-hydroxyapatite, according to its maker; it should not be grouped with nano formulas. A randomized, double-blind trial published in the Journal of Clinical Dentistry found that 5% and 10% n-Ha dentifrice produced remineralization of early enamel decay comparable to a 1,100 ppm fluoride toothpaste (Najibfard et al., 2011). A later systematic review and meta-analysis in the Canadian Journal of Dental Hygiene found hydroxyapatite toothpaste performs comparably to fluoride for caries prevention across the trials it pooled (Limeback et al., 2021). That’s a genuine evidence-backed alternative, distinct from a fluoride-free formula built on calcium carbonate or clay alone, which has no equivalent remineralization data behind it.

Two tablet options that include fluoride

Unpaste Fluoride Mint lists sodium fluoride as its active ingredient. The 250-count tablets come in a kraft packet with a sugar-cane-based liner, according to Unpaste. It is the more direct fit if you want fluoride and a paper-forward package without committing to a jar-and-refill subscription.

Bite Toothpaste Bits with Fluoride use sodium monofluorophosphate. Bite’s current direct-order format starts with a refillable jar and moves to refill pouches, so it makes the most sense for someone who wants automatic shipments and will keep using the same container. Check the Amazon listing carefully; Bite also sells fluoride-free formulas under similar branding.

Fluoride-free tablets are a separate decision

Hello toothpaste tablets and the EcoRoots tablet option are routes for shoppers deliberately choosing a fluoride-free formula. They can still provide the tablet format, but they should not be treated as equivalent to fluoride toothpaste for cavity prevention. Check the active-ingredient panel rather than relying on the words natural, clean, or gentle.

Sensitivity is another filter. A mild flavor or short ingredient list does not mean a product treats sensitive teeth. Look for a labeled desensitizing active ingredient and ask your dentist before changing products if sensitivity, repeated cavities, gum disease, or prescription dental care is part of the picture.

Packaging: tablets, jars, and recyclable tubes

A glass jar or metal tin only earns its place if it stays in use. Buying another starter container with every order adds material without improving the routine. Paper-forward pouches can reduce plastic, but liners, zippers, labels, and local composting rules determine what happens after the tablets are gone.

  • Use what you own first: replacing a half-used tube creates waste immediately.
  • Choose refills you can actually obtain: a reusable jar is less useful when the refill format is frequently unavailable.
  • Read the disposal directions: paper-looking packaging may contain a liner and may not belong in curbside recycling.
  • Keep tablets dry: moisture can shorten their usable life and turn a low-waste purchase into discarded product.

If a tube fits your routine better than a jar or tablet, the tube itself has gotten more recyclable in the last few years, with real limits. Colgate’s own environmental-impact page states: “Meet our recyclable tubes… You can make a difference by reaching for one of our recyclable tubes. Use it and then recycle it,” specifying the tube as #2 HDPE plastic with a #5 polypropylene cap — and a footnote that “your community may not yet accept tubes for recycling. Check locally.” (Colgate packaging details). Tom’s of Maine makes a near-identical claim on its own packaging page: its full-size tubes are “now in a recyclable tube,” made of the same “circular” #2 HDPE, with TerraCycle offered separately for the smaller tubes that aren’t yet recyclable curbside. (Tom’s of Maine packaging details). Both claims are real and both carry the same caveat: recyclable in principle, dependent on your local program in practice. Davids’ metal tube and Georganics’ glass jar sidestep that dependency by using materials most curbside programs already take.

Non-toxic toothpaste brands compared

Ingredient and packaging details below were recorded in August 2026, with RiseWell Original’s formula checked in September. Prices show the pack sizes used for comparison, not current Amazon offers; retailer packs can differ. Check the current package’s ingredients and size before ordering.

Product Format Fluoride / n-Ha / neither SLS Titanium dioxide Dyes Certifications/claims as stated Packaging Price per oz or per tablet (Aug 2026) Buy
Bite Fluoride-Free Toothpaste Bits Tablet/bits, refillable jar n-Ha (fluoride-free SKU); fluoride version also sold (sodium monofluorophosphate) Absent (sodium cocoyl glutamate) Not stated Absent B Corp, TSA-compliant, cruelty-free/vegan Refillable jar, no plastic tube $12.00/oz ($48 / 4 oz, 248 bits) Buy at Amazon
Unpaste Fluoride Mint Tablet Fluoride (sodium fluoride, 0.62 mg/tablet) Absent Not stated Absent None third-party stated Kraft packet, sugar-cane liner (per maker) $0.088/tablet ($21.99 / 250 ct) Buy at Amazon
Georganics Mineral Toothpaste Tablets Tablet Neither stated (fluoride-free) Not stated on tablets page Not stated Not stated None stated on tablets page “No tube, no mess” per maker; refill format sold separately £0.0825/tablet (£9.90 / 120 ct, GBP)
Kaylaan Fluoride Mint Toothpaste Tablets Tablet Fluoride (sodium fluoride) Absent Absent Absent Certified B Corporation, vegan, cruelty-free, carbon neutral Reusable recycled-aluminum tin; compostable refill bags $0.144/tablet ($13.00 / 90 ct)
Hello Antiplaque & Whitening Tablets Tablet Fluoride-free Absent Absent Absent Vegan, gluten-free (brand-wide claim) Tablet format, no tube Not independently priced (existing Amazon listing) Buy at Amazon
Boka Ela Mint Tube n-Ha Absent Not stated Absent PETA cruelty-free, vegan Tube, material not stated $2.91/oz ($11.62 / 4 oz) Buy at Amazon
Davids Hydroxi Premium Toothpaste Tube n-Ha Absent Not stated Absent EWG Verified, Leaping Bunny, FSC-certified packaging Recyclable metal tube $2.74/oz ($10.95 / 4 oz) Buy at Amazon
RiseWell Original Mineral Toothpaste Tube Micro-hydroxyapatite, per maker Absent Not stated Absent Vegan, gluten-free, “dentist developed” claim Standard tube, no recyclability claim stated $3.53/oz ($12.00 / 3.4 oz) Buy at Amazon
Dr. Bronner’s All-One Toothpaste Tube Neither (coconut flour/menthol-based) Absent Not stated Absent USDA Organic, Fair Trade, Non-GMO, NSF, vegan, cruelty-free Tube, recyclability not stated $1.60/oz ($7.99 / 5 oz) Buy at Amazon
Jason Healthy Mouth Anti-Cavity Tube Fluoride (sodium monofluorophosphate, 0.76%) Absent Not stated Absent Gluten-free, vegan, no animal testing Standard 6 oz tube Not stated on page
Burt’s Bees Purely White Zen Peppermint (Fluoride-Free) Tube Neither (hydrated-silica whitening) Absent (sodium cocoylglutamate) Present (listed ingredient) None named; contains carrageenan “100% Natural Origin,” Leaping Bunny Tube; maker-run TerraCycle take-back program $5.99 (size not stated on page)
Crest 3D White Brilliance Tube Fluoride (type not isolated on page) Not stated Not stated Not stated None stated; no ADA Seal shown on this SKU No tube-recyclability claim found Not stated on page
Colgate Total Whitening Tube Fluoride (stannous fluoride, 0.454%) Present (listed ingredient) Present (listed ingredient) Not identified ADA Seal of Acceptance Recyclable #2 HDPE tube, per maker (see above) Not stated on page
Sensodyne Sensitivity & Gum Tube Fluoride (full disclosure gated off-page) Not stated Not stated Not stated “#1 dentist recommended for sensitive teeth” (no ADA/EWG badge shown) Not stated on page Not stated on page
Tom’s of Maine Whiten Plus Deep Clean Tube Fluoride Absent Not stated Absent Certified B Corporation, cruelty-free Recyclable #2 HDPE tube, per maker (see above) Not stated on page ($7.99, size unstated) Buy at Amazon

Hydroxyapatite tubes

Boka and Davids use nano-hydroxyapatite instead of fluoride; RiseWell Original uses micro-hydroxyapatite. All three state SLS-free formulas. Davids carries the most third-party backing — EWG Verified and Leaping Bunny — plus a recyclable metal tube, no HDPE caveat required. Boka and RiseWell rely on their own stated claims rather than a certification badge, a different level of verification than a seal provides.

The mainstream contrast

Crest, Colgate, and Sensodyne are the products a “non-toxic” search is usually reacting against. Colgate Total is the clearest case: it carries the ADA Seal of Acceptance, a real clinical-effectiveness marker, while also listing SLS and titanium dioxide as ingredients — a seal and a clean-ingredient list are different questions, and Colgate answers one but not the other. Crest and Sensodyne gate more of their formula behind a separate Drug Facts page, so several fields above are genuinely unconfirmed rather than absent.

Format doesn’t change effectiveness; formula does. A fluoride tablet like Unpaste or Kaylaan delivers the same sodium fluoride mechanism the ADA and CDC describe for fluoride paste, chewed into contact with your teeth instead of squeezed from a tube. A fluoride-free tablet carries the same fluoride-free trade-off as a fluoride-free paste, whatever the container. The tablet format solves a packaging problem — a compact, often plastic-free refill instead of a tube — and answers a cavity-prevention question only as well as whatever active ingredient sits inside it.

Compare cost per brushing

Divide the delivered price by the number of tablets. If one tablet equals one brushing, a 125-count packet covers about 62 days for one person brushing twice daily. Include shipping and any subscription requirement, then compare that figure with the number of brushings you get from your current toothpaste. The package price alone hides the useful comparison.

How the routine changes

  1. Chew one tablet until it breaks down.
  2. Brush with a wet toothbrush for two minutes, or follow the product label and your dentist’s instructions.
  3. Spit; do not swallow the tablet.
  4. Close the package and store the remaining tablets somewhere dry.

A tablet changes the toothpaste container, not the whole bathroom. For the adjacent decisions, compare lower-plastic dental floss or work through the zero-waste bathroom guide without replacing items that still work.

Why fluoride comes first

The American Dental Association recommends brushing twice daily with fluoride toothpaste for two minutes. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention explains that fluoride helps rebuild the outer enamel layer and prevent cavities. Product formulas can change, so confirm the active ingredient on the package you receive.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is fluoride toxic in toothpaste?

Not at the concentration in ADA-recommended toothpaste; the ADA and CDC both recommend fluoride toothpaste as standard home care, cited above. The real safety issue is a small child swallowing toothpaste instead of spitting, which is a dosing and supervision caution, not a reason to avoid fluoride for an adult who brushes and spits normally.

Is titanium dioxide in toothpaste banned?

No. The EU’s 2022 titanium dioxide ban applies to food additives only, under a different regulation than the one covering cosmetics and toothpaste. The FDA has not restricted titanium dioxide in U.S. oral care either. Brands that leave it out, like Boka, Davids, and RiseWell, are making a formulation choice rather than following a legal requirement.

Are toothpaste tablets as effective as paste?

Effectiveness follows the active ingredient, not the format. A fluoride tablet works through the same mechanism as fluoride paste; a fluoride-free tablet has the same limits as a fluoride-free paste. Tablets change the packaging, not the chemistry.

Is SLS in toothpaste harmful?

Not established as harmful at typical toothpaste concentrations, but it is a documented irritant for people prone to canker sores. Eleven of the fifteen brands checked for this guide state SLS-free formulas; trying one is a reasonable step if you get frequent mouth ulcers.

Is nano-hydroxyapatite a real alternative to fluoride?

It’s the fluoride-free alternative with the most direct clinical evidence: a randomized trial found 5% and 10% n-Ha dentifrice remineralized early decay comparably to a 1,100 ppm fluoride toothpaste, and a later systematic review found hydroxyapatite performed comparably to fluoride across pooled trials. That’s a different evidence level than a fluoride-free paste built on calcium carbonate or clay alone, which has no equivalent data behind it.

Are toothpaste tubes recyclable?

Sometimes, and it depends on your local program. Colgate and Tom’s of Maine both state their current full-size tubes are made of recyclable #2 HDPE plastic, with each maker also noting that not every community accepts tubes curbside yet. A metal tube (Davids) or a glass jar (Georganics) sidesteps that uncertainty, since most curbside programs already take those materials.