Of the brands most often marketed as organic dog food, a minority carry the actual USDA Organic seal. Under USDA rules, a finished pet food can only display that seal at the 95%-or-more organic tier; a “made with organic” recipe (70%+) cannot use the seal, and a “natural” recipe is a separate AAFCO ingredient claim with no organic content requirement at all. Checking brand pages and current listings today turned up six brands with an organic-labeled recipe, two using organic ingredients without a seal claim, and several familiar “natural” brands with no organic claim at all. The practical move: read the exact recipe’s label wording, not the brand’s reputation.
Some product links below are affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
Food is the recipe decision; cleanup is the daily one. Our biodegradable poop bags guide checks which bags actually break down versus which just print “eco” on the roll.
Read the nutrition statement before the organic claim
A package can carry the USDA Organic seal and still be the wrong food for a particular life stage. The useful line is the nutritional-adequacy statement. A food described there as “complete and balanced” has either met an AAFCO nutrient profile or passed a feeding trial using AAFCO procedures. The statement should also say whether the recipe is for adult maintenance, growth and reproduction, or another stated life stage.
That distinction matters more than an ingredient-list shortcut. The first ingredient, a “natural” label, or a premium package cannot replace a complete-and-balanced statement. Dogs with medical needs, food allergies, or large-breed growth requirements need a formula chosen with their veterinarian, regardless of its organic status.
What the organic wording on a dog-food bag means
| Label wording | What it supports | What it does not support |
|---|---|---|
| 100% Organic | All ingredients and processing aids, excluding water and salt, meet the organic rules. | A claim that the recipe suits every dog or life stage. |
| Organic | At least 95% certified-organic content, excluding water and salt. The USDA seal is allowed. | Proof that every ingredient is organic. |
| Made with organic … | At least 70% certified-organic content, with the named ingredient or food group covered by the claim. | Permission to display the USDA Organic seal or market the finished food simply as organic. |
| Natural or human-grade | Different claims about ingredient origin or handling, depending on the wording. | Organic certification. |
The certifier’s name should appear on a certified package. Check the current bag rather than relying on a brand name: recipes, suppliers, and retailer listings change.
Which brands carry the USDA Organic seal
Fifteen brands, checked against their own pages, current listings, or independent review sites on the date below. “Not disclosed” means the brand does not state that detail where checked — it is never inferred. A brand that sells both organic and non-organic recipes only earns the organic tier for the specific SKU that states it; the rest of that brand’s lineup can be plain natural.
| Brand | USDA Organic seal | Certifier named on label | Made in | Format | Where stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tender & True | Organic (95%+) on select recipes | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Dry, canned, freeze-dried | Tender & True: USDA certified organic explainer |
| California Dog Kitchen | Organic (95%+) | Organic Certifiers, Inc. (named) | San Diego, CA | Fresh frozen | California Dog Kitchen: USDA Organic Chicken product page |
| Newman’s Own | Organic (95%+), per retailer listings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Canned wet | Harris Teeter: Newman’s Own Organic Grain Free Turkey Dinner listing |
| Evanger’s Organics | Organic (label reads “100% Organic”) | Not disclosed | USA (stated on product page) | Canned wet | Evanger’s: Organic Chicken & Turkey Dinner product page · Amazon listing (verified today) |
| Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Organic | Organic, per listing title | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Dry kibble, canned | Costco: Nature’s Domain Organic Chicken & Pea Dog Food listing |
| Party Animal Cocolicious (Organic SKUs) | Organic, on specific SKUs (e.g. “95% Organic Chicken”) | Not confirmed for this SKU (Oregon Tilth is named for the sister Party Animal line) | USA (brand states all production is domestic) | Canned wet | Party Animal: organic-certification FAQ · Amazon listing (title confirmed today) |
| Wag Tantrum | Made-with organic ingredients; no seal shown | Not disclosed | Houston, TX (address published) | Fresh/frozen subscription | Wag Tantrum: About Us |
| Gather (Petcurean) | Made-with organic (“Made with USDA Certified Organic & Non-GMO Ingredients”) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Dry kibble | Amazon listing |
| Castor & Pollux Organix | Not disclosed — brand site now redirects to Merrick Pet Care | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Dry, canned | Amazon listing (title confirmed today) |
| Natural Planet Organics | Not disclosed — independent reviews report the line discontinued; no live brand page found | N/A | Not disclosed | Dry (historically) | Dog Food Advisor: Natural Planet Organics review |
| Open Farm | None — Certified Humane, not organic | Certified Humane (animal-welfare certifier, not an organic certifier) | Not disclosed | Dry, wet, gently cooked | Open Farm: Certified Humane vs. Organic Pet Food |
| The Honest Kitchen | None — human-grade certified, not USDA Organic | N/A (human-grade claim) | USA (stated) | Dehydrated | The Honest Kitchen: Why Human Grade |
| Nature’s Recipe | None found | N/A | Not disclosed | Dry, wet | Nature’s Recipe: product ingredient statement |
| Blue Buffalo | None on flagship recipes; a separate, smaller “Blue Buffalo Organics” line exists | N/A | Not disclosed | Dry, wet | Blue Buffalo: Frequently Asked Questions |
| Wellness | None found | N/A | Not disclosed | Dry, wet | Wellness Pet Food: brand site |
Two patterns stand out. First, brand identity does not travel with certification: Party Animal sells an organic-labeled Cocolicious SKU alongside a “I’m Wholesome” Cocolicious SKU that makes no organic claim, so the brand name settles nothing without the exact recipe. Second, a “made with organic ingredients” claim, like Wag Tantrum’s or Gather’s, describes the inputs, not a seal on the finished product — useful information, but not the same statement as “Organic” at the 95% tier.
Five options, with the claims kept separate
| Option | Claim to check | Best reason to consider it | Before buying |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tender & True Organic Chicken & Liver | USDA-certified organic recipe | The clearest current dry-food match for a shopper who wants both an organic claim and a published nutritional-adequacy statement. | The manufacturer says the recipe meets AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages except growth of large-size dogs (70 pounds or more as adults). Confirm that wording on the bag you receive. |
| Castor & Pollux Organix | USDA Organic seal on the exact recipe | A second organic line to compare when the relevant formula is in stock. | Retailer inventory and recipes vary. Match the listing photo, seal, ingredient panel, and life-stage statement to the physical bag. Castor & Pollux’s own brand site now redirects to Merrick Pet Care, so verify this listing is still current before ordering. |
| Newman's Own Organic dog food | USDA Organic seal on the exact recipe | A retailer route for shoppers specifically looking for a current Newman's Own organic formula. | Verify the seller, recipe, package size, seal, and life-stage statement. Skip a listing when those details do not match the bag shown. |
| The Honest Kitchen | Human-grade handling; recipe-specific organic ingredients may vary | For shoppers whose priority is a human-grade claim rather than USDA certification of the finished food. | Do not treat “human-grade” as a synonym for organic. Check the adequacy statement on the chosen recipe. |
| Primal Pet Foods (not organic) | No organic claim on the label | Included here only as a raw/freeze-dried contrast, not an organic pick. | Raw and freeze-dried are not organic claims. Check whether the exact formula is complete and balanced, and follow its handling instructions. |
The strongest current match
Tender & True Organic Chicken & Liver is the most straightforward option in this group because the organic and nutritional claims are both specific. Its current product disclosure identifies the recipe as USDA certified organic and says it is formulated for all life stages except the growth of large-size dogs. That is a narrower, more useful claim than simply calling a food clean or premium.
Castor & Pollux Organix is unconfirmed: its own row above records no disclosed seal, so treat it as unverified until the bag shows one and the right life-stage statement. If a retailer substitutes a different size, flavor, or seller, recheck the package before opening it. Its parent brand page no longer resolves independently, which is one more reason to verify the exact listing rather than the brand name.
The bowl matters as much as what’s in it: our stainless steel dog bowl guide checks which of eleven bowls actually name their steel grade on the label, the same kind of claim-checking this guide runs on organic food.
Frequently asked questions
Is organic dog food better for dogs?
Not automatically. Nutritional adequacy is governed by AAFCO nutrient profiles and feeding-trial procedures, not by organic status — a food can be complete and balanced without being organic, and an organic-labeled food still needs its own adequacy statement checked. What organic certification governs is agricultural input: pesticide use, synthetic fertilizer, antibiotics, growth hormones, and GMO ingredients in the certified portion of the recipe. Whether that trade-off matters for a given dog is a separate question from whether the food is complete and balanced.
What does “natural” mean on dog food?
Under the AAFCO definition, a natural ingredient must come from a plant, animal, or mined source and not be produced by a chemically synthetic process, with only trace synthetic residue allowed from normal manufacturing. Vitamin and mineral supplements, most preservatives, and other chemically synthesized additives fall outside that definition, which is why most “natural” dog foods still list a synthesized vitamin-mineral premix — permitted under AAFCO’s own carve-out for those additions. Natural describes ingredient sourcing and synthesis, not organic agricultural practice, and the two claims are independent of each other.
Which organic dog foods are made in the USA?
Of the brands checked above, California Dog Kitchen states its kitchen is in San Diego, Wag Tantrum publishes a Houston, Texas address, and Evanger’s Organics and Party Animal both state their products are made in the USA. Gather, from Canada-based Petcurean, does not disclose a manufacturing location on the pages checked. Several other brands, including Tender & True, Newman’s Own, and Kirkland’s Nature’s Domain line, do not publish a specific production location, so “made in USA” should be confirmed on the bag rather than assumed from the brand’s home market.
Is Blue Buffalo or Wellness dog food organic?
No, not their flagship recipes. Blue Buffalo markets its main lines, including Life Protection Formula, as natural rather than organic, and reserves the organic claim for a separate, smaller Blue Buffalo Organics line that is not the same product as the flagship bags. Wellness’s published materials describe its recipes as natural as well, with no USDA Organic seal claim found on the brand’s own pages checked today. Both are widely sold, well-reviewed natural brands — natural and organic are simply different claims, and neither company’s core lineup makes the organic one.
What is the difference between natural and organic dog food?
Natural is an AAFCO ingredient-sourcing claim: no chemically synthetic processing beyond trace manufacturing residue, with a standard carve-out for synthesized vitamin and mineral supplements. Organic is a USDA agricultural-production and handling standard, verified by an accredited certifying agent, that governs how the certified ingredients were grown or raised — no synthetic pesticides, no antibiotics or growth hormones in the certified meat, no GMOs. A food can be natural without being organic, organic without disclosing whether it’s also marketed as natural, or neither. Only the organic claim requires third-party certification and lets a qualifying product display the USDA Organic seal.
Compare cost without creating more waste
- Use cost per feeding, not cost per bag. Feeding amounts differ, so package price alone is a poor comparison.
- Do not buy the largest bag automatically. A bulk bag is only lower-waste if your dog finishes it while the food is fresh and you can store it as directed.
- Keep food in its original package. The lot code and label matter if there is a recall, even when the bag sits inside a storage container.
- Do not discard a suitable food just to upgrade the label. If your dog’s current food is appropriate and tolerated, finish it or transition according to veterinary and package guidance rather than wasting a usable supply.
Food is only one part of the waste equation. The guide to lower-waste dog care covers durable gear, cleanup, and other choices that do not require changing a diet. For households with a cat too, the same certified-versus-marketed gap shows up in litter: see the material-by-material breakdown in the eco-friendly cat litter guide.
The same certified-versus-marketed gap runs the other direction too: our organic cat food guide checks which cat food brands actually carry the USDA seal versus which just say “natural.”
Evidence behind the label checks
The USDA organic-labeling rules define the 100%, 95%, and 70% categories and confirm that pet food may be certified under the current production and handling standards. The FDA explanation of complete-and-balanced pet food describes nutritional-adequacy statements and AAFCO profiles. The FDA handling guidance covers storage, lot information, and the additional contamination risk associated with raw pet food. The AAFCO natural-claim definition covers the synthetic-processing limits described above. Brand-specific wording in the tables comes from current manufacturer pages, help-center articles, and live product listings checked on August 28, 2026, and should be checked again against the package received, since recipes and certifications change.
5 thoughts on “Organic Dog Food Brands: Who Holds USDA Certification”