Organic Cat Food: What the USDA Seal Requires

Only two cat foods here carry the USDA Organic seal: Tender & True and Evanger’s Organics. A third, Party Animal, prints “Organic” in its product name while its own ingredient panel reads “Made with Organic Beef,” a legally different and lower tier that USDA rules bar from using the seal at all. The rest of the brands here make no organic claim; most compete on “natural,” “human-grade” or “non-GMO” instead, three different standards that a shopper can easily mistake for organic. None of that makes them worse food. The word on the bag and the word on the seal are different claims, and cats — obligate carnivores whose diet is almost entirely animal-sourced — make the seal harder to earn than it is for dog food or a bag of organic chips.

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

An orange tabby cat eats kibble from a stainless steel bowl, with loose kibble scattered on the floor around it.
An orange tabby cat eating kibble from a stainless steel bowl. Photo by Konstantinos Feggoulis on Unsplash

What USDA Organic Rules Require on a Cat Food Label

Pet food falls under the same USDA National Organic Program rules that govern a carton of eggs or a bag of organic rice, enforced through the same four label tiers. “100 Percent Organic” covers a recipe whose ingredients, excluding salt and water, are entirely certified organic. “Organic” requires at least 95 percent, and only these first two tiers may carry the green-and-white USDA seal. “Made with Organic …” drops the bar to 70 percent — and USDA’s own labeling guidance says a product at this tier must not display the seal anywhere, represent the finished product as organic, or say “made with organic ingredients” as a blanket claim. Below 70 percent, a maker can name individual certified-organic ingredients in the ingredient list but can’t use the word “organic” on the front of the package at all.

Table of USDA organic label tiers on cat food: 100 Percent Organic (every ingredient but salt and water) and Organic (at least 95 percent) may carry the green-and-white USDA seal; Made with Organic (at least 70 percent) may not show the seal or call the finished product organic; and below 70 percent, certified-organic ingredients may be named only in the ingredient list
The USDA organic label tiers on cat food, and what each one lets a package show. Graphic by The Zero Waste List.

Party Animal’s cat lines are the clearest example of that 70 percent tier in the wild. Its Purr’n Beef can reads “Made with Organic Beef, Fruits, Vegetables + Vitamins & Minerals” on the label — the exact “made with organic” wording the USDA rule describes, on a product still named “Party Animal™ Organic Purr’n Beef.” The Cocolicious line, sold by the same company, uses identical wording on its organic SKUs. Neither can carry the seal under USDA rules, and neither does on the maker’s own product page — but a shopper scanning a shelf for the word “organic” would have no way to know that from the name alone. Reading the actual ingredient-panel wording, not the product name, is the only way to tell which tier a can is in.

Why So Few Cat Foods Carry the Seal

A cat is an obligate carnivore: unlike a dog, it can’t thrive on a mostly plant-based diet, so a cat food’s ingredient list runs heavily to meat, organ, and fish rather than the grains and vegetables that make up most certified-organic acreage in the US. That matters because the 95 percent organic threshold applies to the whole recipe, animal ingredients included — and certifying a meat supply chain as organic (feed, living conditions, and handling tracked back to the farm) is a slower, costlier process than certifying a field of organic oats. Tender & True says on its own certifications page that it is “currently the only USDA certified organic complete and balanced diets available” for pets — a claim about its specific product line, not the whole market, but a useful data point on how thin the field is. The upshot for a shopper: a meat-heavy recipe with the actual seal represents a harder, more expensive supply chain to build than a plant-forward organic snack, which is one reason the certified list stays short even as “natural” and “human-grade” cat food lines multiply.

The certification itself has to reach further back in the supply chain for meat than for a crop. An organic grain buyer largely needs the field’s pesticide, herbicide, and fertilizer history documented. An organic meat buyer needs the same paperwork for every animal’s feed, plus a documented chain of custody from farm to slaughter to rendering to the can — more links, each one auditable, each one a place a supplier can fall out of compliance. That’s not a reason to distrust the brands that skip organic; it’s a reason the ones that don’t skip it, Tender & True and Evanger’s Organics here, are worth naming specifically rather than treating “organic cat food” as one interchangeable category.

Which Cat Foods Carry the USDA Seal

Tender & True’s dry recipe and Evanger’s canned beef carry the seal, and Evanger’s names Oregon Tilth as its certifier. Party Animal’s can sits in the made-with-organic tier, Open Farm pursues Certified Humane instead of organic, and Wellness markets its cat line as “natural.” Most come in cans or bags, and Smalls, Cat Person and Open Farm also sell pouches; only the steel cans have a reliable curbside route.

FoodUSDA seal (95% / made-with 70% / none)Wet/dryFirst ingredient as statedAAFCO statement stagePackagingPrice per oz (Aug 2026)
Tender & True
Organic Chicken & Liver Recipe, dry
Organic (95%+) — USDA sealDryOrganic chicken“All life stages” (brand copy; formal statement not itemized on listing)Bag (3 lb, 7 lb)$0.37/oz (3 lb bag, $17.99)
Evanger’s Organics
Organic Beef Dinner for Cats, canned
Organic (95%+) — USDA seal, certifier Oregon TilthWet (canned)Organic Beef“AAFCO Complete & Balanced” — all life stages (stated on listing)5.5 oz cans (24-count case)$0.40/oz ($52.66 per 132 oz case)
Open FarmNone — pursues Certified Humane insteadWet, dry, freeze-dried (varies by line)Not disclosedNot disclosedVaries (pouches, cans, bags)Not disclosed
SmallsNone disclosed on maker pageFresh gently-cooked, freeze-driedNot itemizedNot disclosedFresh pouches, freeze-dried bagsNot disclosed
WellnessNone — markets its cat line as “natural”Wet and dryNot disclosedNot disclosedBags, cansNot disclosed
Cat Person
Salmon & Tuna Dry Food
None disclosed on the maker’s own product dataDry (also sells wet)Not disclosedNot disclosedBag (dry), pouch (wet)$0.47/oz (4 lb bag, $29.99)
Party Animal Organics
Purr’n Beef, canned
None — “Made with Organic” (70%+), seal barred by USDA ruleWet (canned)Organic BeefNot itemized (Guaranteed Analysis shown, no statement text found)5.5 oz cansNot listed on the maker’s page
Made by Nacho
Chicken, Duck & Quail Kibble
None disclosed on the maker’s own product dataDry (also sells wet)Cage-free chickenNot disclosedBag (2 lb, 4 lb)$0.41–$0.47/oz
RawzNone — no organic category in brand navigationWet and dry (per brand nav)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Feline Natural
Lamb & King Salmon Feast, canned
None disclosed on the maker’s own product dataWet (canned)Lamb (per product name; full panel not itemized)Not disclosed85 g / 170 g tins (imported, New Zealand)$0.92–$1.32/oz
Nulo
Prowess Paté, Whitefish & Duck
None disclosed on the maker’s own product dataWet (also sells dry)Fish broth, then whitefishAll life stages (formulated to AAFCO profiles)CansNot disclosed on maker site (sold via retailers)

Organic Isn’t the Same Claim as Natural, Human-Grade, or Non-GMO

AAFCO — the industry group whose model regulations most states adopt for pet food labeling — defines “natural” as a feed or ingredient derived from plant, animal, or mined sources, allowed to go through most common processing methods, but not produced by a chemically synthetic process and free of chemically synthetic additives beyond trace amounts. That’s a real, enforceable standard, but it has no organic-farming requirement at all: a “natural” chicken can come from a conventionally raised bird, as long as the chicken itself isn’t chemically altered. Wellness, Rawz, and Feline Natural all lean on this claim, not organic, and their products are no less real for it — it just answers a different question than the USDA seal does.

Table of cat food label claims: organic covers how the ingredients were farmed but not whether the recipe is nutritionally complete; natural, as AAFCO defines it, covers plant, animal or mined sources that aren’t chemically synthetic but has no organic-farming requirement; human-grade means human-edible ingredients made in a human-food facility, with no federal definition in pet food labeling law; and non-GMO covers genetically modified ingredients only, not farming method, synthetic inputs or animal welfare
What organic, natural, human-grade and non-GMO claims each cover on cat food, and what each leaves out. Graphic by The Zero Waste List.

“Human-grade” is narrower still: it means every ingredient is legally edible by a person and the food was made in a facility licensed for human food production — a claim about the supply chain and the plant, with no federal definition written specifically into pet food labeling law. Open Farm and Smalls both build their marketing around ingredient quality and sourcing transparency rather than organic certification. “Non-GMO,” usually backed by third-party verification like the Non-GMO Project, checks only for genetically modified ingredients and says nothing about farming method, synthetic inputs, or animal welfare. A bag can legitimately carry all three claims — natural, human-grade, non-GMO — and still never qualify for the USDA organic seal, because each one is answering a narrower question than “organic” asks.

The Nutrition Statement That Matters More Than the Seal

An organic seal describes how the ingredients were farmed. It says nothing about whether the finished recipe is nutritionally complete for a cat — that question is answered separately, by the nutritional adequacy statement required on every pet food label. The FDA explains that a product can only call itself “complete and balanced” if it either meets an AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profile (there are separate profiles for growth and reproduction versus adult maintenance) or has passed a feeding trial run under AAFCO procedures. A can or bag that skips this statement, or states a life stage that doesn’t match your cat, is a bigger practical gap than an unfilled organic tier — and the FDA is explicit that endorsements or seals from other organizations, including the organic seal, aren’t assurance of nutritional adequacy on their own. A cat with a diagnosed medical condition, allergy, or unusual life stage needs a formula chosen with a veterinarian, organic or not — no label tier substitutes for that.

Where to find it: the nutritional adequacy statement sits in small print near the guaranteed analysis panel, usually on the back or side of the package, not on the front where the organic or natural claim lives. Read it on any recipe, organic ones included, before the ingredient list or the seal: it’s the one line that says whether the food is meant to be a cat’s whole diet.

The Waste Question: Cans, Pouches, and Bulk Bags

An organic label is a farming-input decision. What happens to the container is a separate, and for most households a bigger, ongoing waste decision — and it doesn’t depend on whether the food inside is organic.

Finish the bag or case you already have. Switching brands mid-bag to chase a seal wastes food and packaging for a marginal label upgrade. A cat tolerating its current food well, on a recipe with a real complete-and-balanced statement, doesn’t need to change over an ingredient-sourcing claim alone.

Buy the size you’ll finish. A 24-count case of 5.5 oz cans, like Evanger’s or Party Animal’s, produces one steel can per meal no matter the case size, but a 7 lb kibble bag instead of four 3 lb bags cuts the plastic and printed-panel weight per ounce of food roughly proportionally. Buying larger when storage and freshness allow is one of the more reliable ways to cut packaging without changing what’s in the bowl.

Contaminants are a recall question, not an organic one. The FDA maintains a public recalls and market-withdrawals list for pet food, and organic status has never been a factor in whether a recipe appears on it — contamination risk depends on the specific ingredient, facility, and testing record, not on a USDA farming-input seal. Checking a specific product against that list beats assuming either “organic” or “natural” on the label makes contamination less likely.

End of life looks different by format. A steel can, rinsed, goes into most municipal metal recycling streams whole. A foil-lined wet-food pouch, the format Cat Person and several fresh brands use for single-serve portions, is a mixed-material laminate that most curbside programs reject — it’s built for shelf life and portioning, not for a second life as material. A kibble bag’s multi-layer film sits in the same bucket as most pouches: check for a brand-specific take-back or store drop-off program rather than assuming curbside recycling will take it.

The buy-it-for-life piece of a cat’s feeding setup isn’t the food — it’s the bowl. Cans and pouches get replaced every meal regardless of brand; a stainless steel bowl is a one-time purchase, and our stainless steel cat bowl guide covers which bowls name their steel grade.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Organic Cat Food Better for Cats?

The USDA organic seal is a farming and sourcing standard, not a nutrition ranking. A cat food’s nutritional adequacy is set separately by its AAFCO statement, so an organic recipe and a conventional one can both be complete and balanced — or both fall short — independent of the seal. Reading the nutrition statement alongside the organic claim, rather than instead of it, is the more useful check.

Can Cat Food Be 100 Percent Organic?

Yes, in principle — the “100 Percent Organic” tier exists in USDA rules and applies to pet food the same way it applies to any packaged food. In practice it’s mostly seen on single-ingredient treats rather than full diets, because sourcing every component, including every animal ingredient, as certified organic is harder for a complete cat food than for a simpler product.

What Does “Made with Organic” Mean on Cat Food?

It means the recipe contains at least 70 percent certified-organic ingredients by USDA rule — a real standard, but one that legally cannot carry the USDA organic seal or be marketed as simply “organic.” Party Animal’s Purr’n Beef and Cocolicious lines use this exact wording on their own labels, even though “Organic” appears in the product name.

Is Grain-Free the Same Claim as Organic?

No. Grain-free describes a formulation choice — the absence of wheat, corn, rice, or other grains — and has no connection to how any ingredient was farmed. A recipe can be grain-free and organic, grain-free and conventional, or grain-inclusive and organic. Party Animal’s Purr’n Beef, for one, is sold as grain-free and made with organic beef.

Does an Organic Claim Say Anything About the Can or Packaging?

No. USDA organic certification governs the ingredients and how they were farmed, not the container. A can, pouch, or bag from an organic-certified brand follows the same recycling and end-of-life rules as any other can, pouch, or bag of the same material — steel cans generally recycle, most flexible pouches and multi-layer kibble bags generally don’t through curbside programs.

Zero Waste Starter Checklist

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?

Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿