“Non-toxic” on a body wash is the maker’s own description, so the ingredient list has to do the checking. Most of the worry comes down to three things on that list: whether the scent is itemized or folded into the single word “fragrance,” whether any cleanser name contains “-eth-” or “PEG” (the ethoxylated ingredients that can carry traces of 1,4-dioxane), and which preservative keeps the bottle from growing mold. Among the eight liquid washes compared below, none lists a paraben or a formaldehyde releaser, only Olay’s uses ethoxylated cleansers, and Native and Olay give their scent as “fragrance” alone.
The packaging question has a plainer answer. Finish the bottle already in the shower. After that, a bar in a paper wrap leaves the least behind, and among liquids, Plaine Products’ aluminum bottle is built to be mailed back, washed and refilled rather than recycled. At about $2.06 an ounce it costs two and a half to five times as much as Attitude, Native or Everyone, and the return program is the reason to pay it.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Popular Body Washes and What Their Labels List
The cleansing base sorts this group three ways. Three are true soaps made from plant oils, four use synthetic cleansers without ethoxylation, and one, Olay’s, is built on an ethoxylated sulfate. Prices and ingredient lists are as posted on each maker’s site in September 2026.
- Plaine Products Body Wash: saponified coconut and safflower oils, quillaja extract. Preserved with sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate and gluconolactone; scent is essential oils named for each version, none in Unscented.
- Plaine Products Hair + Body Wash 2:1: sodium lauroyl methyl isethionate, cocamidopropyl betaine, glucosides. Preserved with phenoxyethanol and ethylhexylglycerin; scent is named essential oils plus an unnamed “proprietary natural fragrance.”
- Dr. Bronner’s Pure-Castile Liquid Soap, Peppermint: soap made from organic coconut, palm and olive oils. No preservative listed (citric acid, vitamin E); scent is two named mint oils, none in the Unscented version.
- Meow Meow Tweet Hand + Body Wash, Lavender Sweet Orange: soap made from coconut, sunflower and castor oils. No preservative listed (rosemary extract, citric acid); scent is named lavender and orange oils.
- Everyone 3in1 Soap, Lavender + Aloe: cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, sodium coco-sulfate, glucosides. Preserved with phenoxyethanol, benzyl alcohol and potassium sorbate; scent is named lavender oil, with no synthetic fragrance by the maker’s account.
- Attitude Body Wash, Orange Blossom & Eucalyptus: sodium coco-sulfate, glucosides, sodium cocoyl isethionate. Preserved with sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate; scent is five named chemicals beside an asterisked “fragrance (parfum).”
- Native Body Wash, Coconut & Vanilla: cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium cocoyl isethionate, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate. Preserved with sodium benzoate and sodium salicylate; scent is “Fragrance” only, with an Unscented version sold.
- Olay Ultra Moisture Body Wash with Shea Butter: sodium trideceth sulfate and trideceth-3 (ethoxylated), cocamidopropyl betaine. Preserved with sodium benzoate, methylchloroisothiazolinone and methylisothiazolinone; scent is “Fragrance” only.
Price per bottle and what happens to the container after use differ just as widely.
| Body wash, size and price (Sep 2026), bottle | Buy |
|---|---|
|
Plaine Products Body Wash 16 oz, $33 refill or $33.75 with pump Aluminum; empties mailed back to be washed and refilled |
Buy at Plaine Products |
|
Plaine Products Hair + Body Wash 2:1 16 oz, $33 refill Aluminum; same return program |
Buy at Plaine Products |
|
Dr. Bronner’s Pure-Castile Liquid Soap, Peppermint 32 oz, $17.19 100% post-consumer recycled plastic; paper refill carton |
— |
|
Meow Meow Tweet Hand + Body Wash, Lavender Sweet Orange 16 oz, $34 Glass bottle; aluminum refill bottles; pumps taken back |
— |
|
Everyone 3in1 Soap, Lavender + Aloe 32 oz, $12.99 Not disclosed |
— |
|
Attitude Body Wash, Orange Blossom & Eucalyptus 16 oz, $12.95 Bottle material not disclosed; 67.6 oz refill box |
— |
|
Native Body Wash, Coconut & Vanilla 18 oz, $11 Not disclosed |
— |
|
Olay Ultra Moisture Body Wash with Shea Butter $8.99, size not stated Not disclosed |
— |
Fragrance: Itemized Oils or a Single Word
U.S. labeling rules let a maker list an entire scent blend as “Fragrance.” FDA explains that the ingredient-list requirement comes from the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act, which can’t be used to force a company to reveal trade secrets, and fragrance formulas are the components most likely to be treated as secrets. The agency also notes that some fragrance components can cause allergic reactions and that it lacks the authority to require allergen labeling on cosmetics the way it does on food. The 2022 Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act directs FDA to write fragrance-allergen labeling rules; until those apply, one word can stand in for many ingredients.
The washes in the list above run from one word to a full accounting. Native and Olay list “Fragrance” and nothing more. Plaine’s Body Wash, Dr. Bronner’s, Meow Meow Tweet and Everyone name the essential oils that scent them, and Dr. Bronner’s points readers to fragrance-allergen information for its oils. In between, Attitude names five scent chemicals (ethyl hexanoate, gamma-decalactone, hexyl salicylate, raspberry ketone and triethyl citrate) and closes its list with an asterisked “fragrance (parfum),” and Plaine’s Hair + Body Wash 2:1 names 13 oils, then adds “Proprietary Natural Fragrance,” which Plaine describes as plant-based aromatics made from essential oils and natural isolates.
A named oil isn’t automatically gentler. FDA says “essential oil” has no regulatory definition and that the law treats plant ingredients the same as ingredients from any other source. Its advice for people worried about fragrance sensitivity is to choose fragrance-free products and read the ingredient list, and the list matters more than the front label: FDA notes that some products labeled unscented contain just enough fragrance to mask the smell of other ingredients. Plaine’s Unscented Body Wash, Dr. Bronner’s Unscented soap and Attitude’s Sensitive Skin wash list no scent ingredients.
Preservatives: Parabens, Formaldehyde Releasers and What Replaced Them
Preservatives keep a water-based wash from growing harmful bacteria and mold, which is how FDA describes their job. The two groups shoppers look for, parabens and formaldehyde releasers, appear in none of the eight ingredient lists above.
Formaldehyde releasers are preservatives that give off formaldehyde. A 2010 review in Contact Dermatitis by Anton De Groot, Ian R. White, Mari-Ann Flyvholm, Gerda Lensen and Pieter-Jan Coenraads covered the main ones used in cosmetics: quaternium-15, DMDM hydantoin, diazolidinyl urea, imidazolidinyl urea and 2-bromo-2-nitropropane-1,3-diol (bronopol). The authors found that all of them except bronopol, for which data were lacking, can in the right conditions release more than 200 ppm of formaldehyde, enough to set off allergic contact dermatitis in people already allergic to it, and that an ingredient label can’t show how much a given product releases. They advised patients allergic to formaldehyde to avoid leave-on cosmetics preserved with the first four. A body wash rinses off, so it falls outside that advice, but the five names are easy to spot on a label.
Parabens (methylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben, ethylparaben) are the other names people check. FDA says it has no information showing that parabens as used in cosmetics affect human health, and that it keeps reviewing new studies. The EU’s Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety judged propylparaben safe as a preservative up to 0.14% in 2021. In 2025 it found butylparaben at that level not safe for children aged six months to ten years when products of many types are used together; a proposal that kept 0.14% in rinse-off products and cut it in leave-on and oral-care products passed its review.
What these eight use instead is ordinary: sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate (Plaine’s Body Wash, Attitude), sodium benzoate with sodium salicylate (Native), phenoxyethanol (Plaine’s Hair + Body Wash, and Everyone with benzyl alcohol and potassium sorbate), and sodium benzoate with methylchloroisothiazolinone and methylisothiazolinone (Olay). Dr. Bronner’s and Meow Meow Tweet list no preservative, only citric acid with vitamin E or rosemary extract. Plaine gives its products a two-year shelf life and stamps a lot number on the bottom of each bottle that matches its most recent filling.
1,4-Dioxane Comes From the “-eth” Ingredients
1,4-Dioxane never shows up on a label because it isn’t an ingredient. FDA describes it as a byproduct that forms while certain detergents, foaming agents, emulsifiers and solvents are made, and identifies those ingredients by “PEG,” “polyethylene,” “polyoxyethylene,” “-eth-” or “-oxynol-” in the name. The National Toxicology Program considers 1,4-dioxane reasonably anticipated to be a human carcinogen based on animal studies, and EPA classifies it as likely to be carcinogenic to humans; FDA adds that the human data are not adequate to evaluate the link to cancer directly.
The amounts in cosmetics have fallen. FDA’s surveys found an average of 50 parts per million in finished products in 1981 and 19 ppm in 1997. The international regulators’ ICCR working group judged the levels reported in recent studies acceptable, and the EU’s scientific committee considers trace levels up to 10 ppm safe. New York went further: since December 31, 2023, personal care products sold there, a category the state defines to include soap and bath gels, may contain no more than 1 ppm. EPA’s 2024 supplement to its risk evaluation looked at 1,4-dioxane left as a byproduct in detergents and cleaning products and at its presence in drinking water.
In the list above, only Olay’s cleansers carry the marker: sodium trideceth sulfate and trideceth-3. The syllable is the one in trideceth or laureth; the isethionate cleansers on the Attitude, Native and Plaine Hair + Body Wash labels contain the same letters but are not ethoxylated. “Sulfate-free” is the wrong shortcut here. Attitude and Everyone use sodium coco-sulfate, a sulfate whose name carries no “-eth-,” while Olay’s trideceth sulfate is the ethoxylated kind FDA’s list points to. Choosing cleansers without “-eth-” or “PEG” in the name avoids the ingredients FDA ties to the byproduct; it can’t promise a zero reading, and none of the eight product pages mentions testing for 1,4-dioxane.
Seals and Label Claims, From EWG Verified to Hypoallergenic
EWG Verified appears on Dr. Bronner’s castile soaps and Everyone’s 3in1 Soap, and on Attitude’s bar soap page, though not its body wash page. EWG says a verified product can’t contain any ingredient on its “unacceptable” list for health, ecotoxicity or contamination concerns, must meet its standard for ingredient disclosure on the label and must give EWG full transparency, including about fragrance ingredients. The criteria EWG publishes cover ingredients and disclosure, not the bottle.
MADE SAFE screens a product against a banned and restricted list of more than 15,000 substances before looking at wider ecosystem effects, by its own description. None of the eight washes names it.
USDA’s National Organic Program can certify a body wash made from agricultural ingredients. “Organic” with the USDA seal requires at least 95% organic ingredients; “made with organic ingredients” requires 70% and can’t use the seal, with water and salt left out of both counts. None of the eight product pages mentions USDA certification. Dr. Bronner’s names Regenerative Organic Certified and fair trade oils instead, and Meow Meow Tweet marks its organic ingredients without naming a certifier. FDA’s position is that an ingredient’s source doesn’t determine its safety, organic or not.
Plaine lists Leaping Bunny certification in its FAQ. The program requires companies to end animal testing at every stage of product development, recommit each year and stay open to third-party audits; it covers animal testing only. Plaine is also a certified B Corp, which it describes as meeting standards of “social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency,” a check on the company rather than the formula.
Two claims on these pages carry no outside check. Plaine calls its Body Wash hypoallergenic, and FDA says no federal standard or definition governs that word. Attitude’s “98.7% naturally sourced” figure, footnoted to ISO 16128, describes where its ingredients come from, and FDA’s point that source doesn’t decide safety applies to it too.
Which Body Wash Leaves the Least Packaging
Start with what is already on the shelf. Swapping a half-used bottle for a greener one adds a bottle to the trash; using it up does not. A pump bottle you like can keep working, too: Dr. Bronner’s sells its liquid soap in a paper refill carton meant for refilling a bottle you already own, and Attitude sells its body wash in a 67.6-ounce refill box with a spigot for topping up your own containers.
A bar leaves the least
A bar needs no bottle and no pump. Dr. Bronner’s wraps its 5-ounce castile bar ($5.19) in 100% post-consumer recycled paper and makes it from the same organic oils as its liquid soap, and Attitude labels its body bar plastic-free; both makers say their bars are EWG Verified. The one habit a bar needs is a dry spot, and Attitude’s directions say to keep it away from water between uses. Slivers can be pressed onto the next bar or melted into liquid soap, and what to do with soap scraps walks through both.
Plaine Products: a bottle built to come back
Plaine Products sells its Body Wash in a 16-ounce aluminum bottle, and the bottle is the point. When it runs low, you order a refill, move the pump across, rinse the empty, pack it in the refill’s box under a return label and hand it to the mail carrier; Plaine pays the return postage, then washes and refills the bottle. The formula starts with aloe juice, glycerin and saponified coconut and safflower oils, adds plant oils and extracts, takes its scent from named essential oils (none in the Unscented version) and uses sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate as preservatives.
The loop has conditions. Plaine reuses only its own full-size bottles and gallon jars, returned empty, rinsed and dry, with no big dents and no mineral spotting. Travel sizes and damaged bottles belong in local recycling (“aluminum can be recycled infinitely,” in Plaine’s words). Inside, each bottle has a cosmetic-grade liner of epoxy phenolic resin that Plaine says is BPA-free and keeps the bottle from leaching into the product. Refill boxes double as return boxes, and Plaine says each box makes about five trips before it is recycled.
The costs are real. A 16-ounce refill is $33, or about $2.06 an ounce, with 10% off on auto-refill and free shipping on orders over $100. Every refill and every empty travels by mail, and Plaine says it offsets its shipping emissions through the nonprofit We Are Neutral. None of it pays off unless the empties go back: a Plaine bottle left in a recycling bin is simply an expensive aluminum bottle.
Plaine’s Hair + Body Wash 2:1 uses the same bottle, return program and price, which suits a household that wants one bottle in the shower. Its label is longer: synthetic cleansers (sodium lauroyl methyl isethionate, cocamidopropyl betaine and glucosides), phenoxyethanol as the preservative and the unnamed natural-fragrance component. Plaine’s shampoo and conditioner travel in the same returnable bottles, and the Plaine Products shampoo review covers those formulas and their refill prices.
Refill cartons, glass bottles and recycled plastic
Dr. Bronner’s bottles are 100% post-consumer recycled plastic. Its refill carton, FSC-certified paper with a thin plastic and aluminum lining for shelf stability, uses 86% less plastic than one of its 32-ounce bottles by the company’s count, and it goes wherever paper milk cartons are accepted for recycling. Concentration stretches any container further: Dr. Bronner’s directions call for one squirt on wet hands or a washcloth, and Plaine calls its Body Wash a concentrated formula and recommends using less than a typical body wash.
Meow Meow Tweet pairs a glass pump bottle with refills in 100% aluminum bottles, which the company calls the material most likely to be recycled in municipal facilities, and it takes pumps back to send to TerraCycle. Attitude’s 67.6-ounce refill box holds a little more than four of its 16-ounce bottles. Native, Everyone and Olay say nothing on their product pages about bottle material, recycled content or refills.
Recyclable is not the same as recycled
Aluminum’s pitch is that it can be recycled again and again, and Plaine calls its bottles “infinitely recyclable.” What happens in practice is lower. EPA’s materials data put the 2018 U.S. recycling rate for aluminum containers and packaging at 34.9% (50.4% for beer and soft drink cans), for PET plastic bottles and jars at 29.1%, and for plastics overall at 8.7%. A bottle that is washed and refilled skips the sorting line altogether, which is why the return program counts for more than the metal.

The pump is the harder part. Plaine doesn’t say what its pumps are made of, only that one pump moves from bottle to bottle and a replacement costs 75 cents. Meow Meow Tweet is the only maker in the table that says it takes pumps back.
Common Questions About Non-Toxic Body Wash
What is a good non-toxic body wash for sensitive skin?
Pick a version with no scent ingredients at all: Plaine’s Unscented Body Wash, Dr. Bronner’s Unscented castile soap or Attitude’s Body Wash for Sensitive Skin, whose list ends with grape seed oil and oat extract and carries no fragrance. FDA notes that products labeled unscented can still contain masking fragrance, so check the list itself, and it says the word “hypoallergenic” has no federal definition.
Is there a non-toxic body wash that smells good?
Yes, if the scent comes from ingredients the label names. Plaine’s Rosemary Mint Vanilla and Citrus Lavender body washes list their essential oils, Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint names its mint oils, Meow Meow Tweet’s Lavender Sweet Orange names lavender and orange oil, and Attitude names the scent chemicals in its Orange Blossom and Eucalyptus wash. Plant oils can still cause the allergic reactions FDA describes for fragrance components, so reactive skin may do better with an unscented version.
What is an affordable non-toxic body wash?
By price per ounce on the makers’ sites in September 2026: Everyone 3in1 Soap is about $0.41 (32 oz for $12.99), Dr. Bronner’s Pure-Castile Liquid Soap about $0.54 (32 oz for $17.19) and used a squirt at a time, Native about $0.61 (18 oz for $11) and Attitude about $0.81 (16 oz for $12.95). Plaine’s refill costs about $2.06 an ounce and buys the bottle-return program. A Dr. Bronner’s castile bar is $5.19 for 5 ounces.
Sources
- FDA: Fragrances in Cosmetics
- FDA: Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act of 2022 (MoCRA)
- FDA: Parabens in Cosmetics
- EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety: Opinion on Propylparaben (SCCS/1623/20, 2021)
- EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety: Opinion on Butylparaben, children’s exposure (SCCS/1674/25, 2025)
- De Groot A, White IR, Flyvholm MA, Lensen G, Coenraads PJ. Formaldehyde-releasers in cosmetics, part 2. Contact Dermatitis 2010;62:18-31
- FDA: 1,4-Dioxane in Cosmetics, a Manufacturing Byproduct
- EPA: Risk Evaluation for 1,4-Dioxane and 2024 supplement
- New York State DEC: 1,4-Dioxane Limits for Household Cleansing, Personal Care, and Cosmetic Products
- FDA: “Organic” Cosmetics
- FDA: “Hypoallergenic” Cosmetics
- EPA: Aluminum, material-specific data
- EPA: Plastics, material-specific data
- Plaine Products: FAQs (liner, shelf life, certifications, returns); product pages for Body Wash and Hair + Body Wash 2:1 and the Get a Return Label page
- Dr. Bronner’s: Peppermint Pure-Castile Liquid Soap; Unscented liquid soap, refill carton and Unscented bar soap pages
- Meow Meow Tweet: Hand + Body Wash, Lavender Sweet Orange
- Everyone (EO Products): 3in1 Soap, Lavender + Aloe
- Attitude: Body Wash; Body Wash for Sensitive Skin and Body Soap Bar pages
- Native: Body Wash
- Olay: Ultra Moisture Body Wash with Shea Butter