Organic Mattress Protector: What Makes It Waterproof

A waterproof organic mattress protector is organic cotton on the outside and plastic in the middle: every maker below that names its film uses polyurethane, often the thermoplastic kind sold as TPU, laminated to the cotton. The only plastic-free barrier among them is woven wool, which its maker calls water repellent. The film is a small share of the product (Avocado puts its layer at about 5% of the weight), and it sits under a cotton face and your fitted sheet. So the useful questions are how much film, what it is made from, what the certificate on the finished protector covers, and whether your bed needs waterproofing at all.

If nothing but a sheet sits on your mattress, buy a protector: Avocado and Saatva both exclude stained mattresses from their warranties. If you need it waterproof, pick a film protector certified as a finished product, such as Avocado’s, which carries the most certifications of those compared below; if you only need to catch sweat and small spills, an absorbent cotton pad keeps plastic out of the bed. If a protector is already on the bed and liquid still stays on top of it, keep it, whatever it is made of.

Disclosure: This page includes affiliate links. The Zero Waste List may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

Rumpled white sheets and pillows on an unmade bed in soft daylight
The fitted sheet is the layer you sleep on; a protector goes underneath it, usually with its waterproof film sealed between layers of cotton. Photo by Dina Makhmutova on Unsplash

Why an uncovered mattress is a warranty problem

A mattress warranty covers defects, and the ones below treat a stain as the owner’s doing. Avocado’s warranty terms say abuse, mishandling and neglect “will void your warranty, including stains and unsanitary conditions,” and the same page tells owners to protect the mattress with a protector. Saatva’s warranty “does not apply if the mattress has been stained.” Brentwood Home says on its protector page that many mattress warranties and sleep trials do not cover water or stains.

That makes a protector a small purchase that keeps a large one in service. Sweat, skin oil and spills land in a layer you can wash instead of in foam, latex or wool you cannot. Sleep & Beyond goes a step further: when one of its protectors is bought on the same receipt as a new mattress, it says it will cover the mattress surface against stains, provided the protector was on the bed at the time.

Toppers carry the same risk. Avocado’s topper warranty repeats the stain exclusion word for word, and Brentwood Home says a protector can go either under or over a topper. Putting the protector on top keeps an organic mattress topper covered too.

A protector only helps a mattress that still supports you. If yours already sags or carries old stains, a new cover will not restore its support or its warranty; the organic mattress guide covers what to weigh when replacement is due.

What the waterproof layer is made of

Inside almost every waterproof protector below is the same sandwich: a cotton face, a plastic film, and a cotton backing, with an elastic skirt around the edge. The film is the only part that stops liquid. The makers describe that middle layer this way:

  • Polyurethane (PU) film. Avocado, Brentwood Home, Whisper Organics and Saatva. Avocado says its layer is about 5% of the finished protector by weight and is made with a propanediol it sources from corn starch; Whisper Organics lists a 2% polyurethane middle layer; Saatva calls its barrier food-grade polyurethane.
  • TPU (thermoplastic polyurethane) film. Naturepedic, Sleep & Beyond, My Green Mattress, Nest Bedding and Savvy Rest. Sleep & Beyond gives its film as 20 microns thick and corn-starch based; My Green Mattress says its film is under 5% of the protector and made partly from non-GMO corn.
  • Vinyl (PVC). None of the barriers named below is vinyl. Naturepedic writes that traditional protectors often rely on vinyl/PVC, and Brentwood Home says similar products use vinyl, PVC or phthalates; Naturepedic, Nest, Sleep & Beyond and My Green Mattress list vinyl and phthalates as absent from theirs.
  • Woven wool. Holy Lamb Organics’ moisture barrier is 100% wool, tightly woven and slightly felted, which the maker says makes it naturally water repellent and more so after washing. Holy Lamb says its wool keeps about 1% of its natural lanolin.
  • An unnamed membrane. SafeRest describes its Premium protector as cotton terry with a “membrane back coating” and does not say what the membrane is.

A corn-derived ingredient changes where the plastic’s raw material comes from, not what the layer is. It is still a polyurethane film bonded to cotton, and none of these pages says the two can be separated when the protector wears out.

Chart of mattress protector barrier materials: polyurethane film, TPU film, vinyl, woven wool and an unnamed membrane, with what makers say about each and what to weigh
Barrier materials as each maker describes its own protector, September 2026. Graphic by The Zero Waste List.

As for plastic against skin: in every film protector here the film sits between cotton layers or on the underside, with cotton on the sleeping side and a fitted sheet over that. What differs between films is noise, heat and how long the barrier survives laundering, and the makers themselves flag the last one.

Chemical finishes are a separate question from the film. Avocado says it uses no fire retardants or antimicrobial treatments, and that Intertek tested every component of its waterproof protector for 679 PFAS substances with none detected. Nest says its TPU is free of PFAS, phthalates, PVC/vinyl and chemical flame retardants, and Savvy Rest says its protector was made without flame retardants, formaldehyde or perfluorinated compounds. These are maker statements; of the three, only Avocado names a laboratory.

What each certificate on a protector covers

Four marks come up most often on these protectors, and each one answers a different question. None of them says anything about the film’s fate in a landfill.

  • GOTS is an organic-textile standard that follows fibre through processing to the finished product. The Global Organic Textile Standard has two label grades: “organic” (at least 95% certified organic fibres) and “made with organic materials” (at least 70%). On a protector the certified part is the cotton; makers describe the film as “GOTS-allowed” (Naturepedic) or GOTS-approved (Avocado, Sleep & Beyond, My Green Mattress, Whisper Organics). Scope varies by maker: Avocado and Brentwood Home certify the finished protector, Sleep & Beyond certifies its fabric and prints the certificate number, and Nest says “certified organic cotton” without naming a certifier, while Savvy Rest says only “organic cotton” and names no certificate.
  • OEKO-TEX Standard 100 is a test for harmful substances, not an organic claim. OEKO-TEX says each component of a labelled item, down to the thread and buttons, is screened for more than 1,000 harmful substances. Saatva’s waterproof protector carries it on cotton the page does not call organic; Sleep & Beyond’s TPU film carries its own.
  • GREENGUARD Gold is UL’s certification for low chemical emissions from a finished product into indoor air. UL’s program certifies the finished protector, film included. Avocado and Brentwood Home list it.
  • MADE SAFE reviews what goes into a product rather than measuring what comes off it. MADE SAFE says certified products are screened so that more than 15,000 banned or restricted substances are avoided or constrained. Avocado, Naturepedic and Coyuchi’s cotton pad carry it.

Avocado’s waterproof protector and its limits

Avocado’s Organic Waterproof Mattress Protector carries more certifications than any other waterproof protector in the table below: GOTS for the finished product, GREENGUARD Gold, UL’s Formaldehyde-Free verification and MADE SAFE, around a polyurethane film Avocado puts at about 5% of the weight. A queen costs $229 with the standard pocket, for mattresses 6 to 16 inches deep, or $249 with the deep pocket, for mattresses up to 22 inches (September 2026).

Avocado is specific about what it does not do. The page says the protector is built for everyday moisture, that Avocado does not claim it is “100% foolproof” or meant for heavy or prolonged exposure to liquid, and that a heavier plastic enclosure may waterproof more completely for frequent accidents, at a cost in breathability and material standards. It also says the barrier gradually loses performance with use and laundering, which it describes as true of all polyurethane membranes, and it suggests keeping a second protector to swap in on wash day.

Wash it before first use: Avocado makes the protector oversized and says it can take up to three washes for the cotton to shrink to fit. The warranty is one year, alongside a two-year Good Housekeeping limited warranty seal.

Brentwood Home, which Avocado Green Brands owns, sells a close relative: GOTS-certified organic cotton around a polyurethane film, GREENGUARD Gold, a one-year warranty and a queen at $219. Its page does not list MADE SAFE or formaldehyde verification.

How the waterproof protectors compare

Nine of these eleven name a polyurethane or TPU film; the wool barrier has none, and SafeRest does not say what its membrane is. Most carry a one-year warranty; Sleep & Beyond and SafeRest offer ten years. Queen prices are as listed on each maker’s own site in September 2026.

Protector Waterproof layer Certification (scope) Warranty Queen price (Sep 2026) Buy
Avocado Organic Waterproof Mattress Protector Polyurethane film, about 5% by weight GOTS (finished product); GREENGUARD Gold; MADE SAFE 1 year, plus 2-year Good Housekeeping seal $229 Buy at Avocado
Brentwood Home Organic Waterproof Mattress Protector Polyurethane film GOTS (finished product); GREENGUARD Gold 1 year $219 –
Naturepedic Waterproof Organic Mattress Protector Pad TPU film GOTS (Control Union); MADE SAFE 1 year $199 –
Sleep & Beyond Organic Cotton Waterproof Mattress Protector TPU film, 20 microns GOTS (fabric); OEKO-TEX (TPU film) 10 years $189 –
My Green Mattress Organic Cotton Protector TPU film, under 5% of the protector GOTS (cotton) 1 year $116 on sale ($129 regular) –
Whisper Organics Organic Waterproof Jersey Knit Mattress Cover Polyurethane layer, 2% GOTS; Fairtrade cotton 1 year $151.99 –
Nest Bedding 15″ Organic Cotton Waterproof Mattress Protector TPU membrane “Certified organic” cotton, certifier not named Not disclosed (30-night trial) $137 –
Savvy Rest Organic Waterproof Mattress Protector TPU Not disclosed Not disclosed $149 –
Saatva Waterproof Mattress Protector Food-grade polyurethane OEKO-TEX Standard 100 (cotton not described as organic) 1 year $175 –
SafeRest Premium Cotton Waterproof Mattress Protector Membrane coating, material not disclosed Not disclosed 10 years $44.99 –
Holy Lamb Organics All-Natural Wool Moisture Barrier Woven, felted wool (water repellent) Not disclosed Not disclosed $379 –

The cheapest row and the most expensive one make the trade-off plain. SafeRest’s queen costs about a fifth of Avocado’s or Brentwood Home’s and carries a ten-year warranty, but its page does not say what the barrier is made of. Holy Lamb’s wool barrier is the only option without plastic, costs the most, and its maker describes it as water repellent; Holy Lamb makes it by hand, and every size was listed as sold out in late September 2026.

Absorbent pads: no film, less protection

A pad without a film catches sweat, skin oil and small spills and keeps plastic out of the bed entirely, but a large spill goes straight through. The makers say so. Avocado calls its Organic Mattress Pad Protector “absorbent, non-waterproof” and unsuited to anyone dealing with nighttime incontinence or bed-wetting. Naturepedic says its quilted pad is not waterproof, Whisper Organics labels its quilted pad the same way, and Saatva sells its organic pad as protection against light stains.

For an adult bed with no pets, children or frequent spills, that can be enough, and it removes the film’s wear-out problem. Avocado’s pad lists no polyurethane, TPU, PVC, laminates or chemical finishes; its only non-organic fibre is a latex rubber elastic band certified to OEKO-TEX Standard 100. Saatva’s organic pad uses side panels that are 4% spandex, and Coyuchi says its cotton pad is free of chemical finishes and flame retardants.

Absorbent pad Face and fill Certification Queen price (Sep 2026) Buy
Avocado Organic Mattress Pad Protector Organic cotton sateen, organic cotton fill GOTS; GREENGUARD Gold; MADE SAFE $329 Buy at Avocado
Coyuchi Organic Cotton Mattress Pad Organic cotton percale, organic cotton batting GOTS; MADE SAFE $298 –
Naturepedic Organic Quilted Mattress Protector Pad Organic cotton fabric and fill GOTS (Control Union); MADE SAFE $299 –
Saatva Organic Mattress Pad Organic cotton; side panels 4% spandex GOTS; Fair Trade Certified $235 –
Whisper Organics Organic Cotton Quilted Mattress Pad Protector Organic cotton, ¼″ padding GOTS $174.99 –

Wool mattress pads and wool barriers

A wool mattress pad is a comfort layer first; its makers sell wool on wicking moisture and regulating temperature. Sleep & Beyond’s myPad is half an inch of washable wool in a natural cotton percale cover the page does not call organic, with the cover and fill certified to OEKO-TEX Standard 100, a five-year warranty and a $249 queen. Coyuchi’s Washable Wool Filled Mattress Pad fills an organic cotton sateen shell with 85% NATIVA wool from Uruguay and 15% plant-based batting; the page names no certificate for the pad, and a queen is $398.

Wool needs gentler washing than cotton, which is part of the cost of owning it. Sleep & Beyond says to wash myPad on a wool or delicate cycle without agitation and not to spin it; Holy Lamb says its wool barrier should be washed cold and line dried, never wrung or machine dried. Sleep & Beyond also recommends wool-safe detergents to keep the fibre’s natural lanolin.

Is a wool mattress protector waterproof?

Only when something besides loose wool fill does the work. Sleep & Beyond’s myProtector is wool-filled, but its waterproofing comes from a microfiber lining with a TPU coating, and Nest’s wool and cotton protector sits on a TPU lamination under a top that is part polyester. Holy Lamb Organics’ moisture barrier uses no film: it is woven, felted wool that the maker calls naturally water repellent. Neither Sleep & Beyond’s myPad nor Coyuchi’s wool pad claims to be waterproof.

How long a protector lasts, and when to keep yours

Film protectors wear out in the wash. My Green Mattress says repeated washing and drying can degrade its membrane and recommends washing only when necessary; Avocado says the same of polyurethane barriers; and Sleep & Beyond warns that washing or drying on medium or high heat, or ironing, can damage its TPU lining. The temperature limits on the care label are there to protect the film. The barriers without a film avoid that wear: an absorbent cotton pad has no membrane to fail, and Holy Lamb says its woven wool gets more water repellent as it is washed.

A protector you already own is fine to keep while liquid stays on top of it. The sign of failure is a damp mattress surface under a spill; washing will not bring a failed film back. Until then, swapping a working vinyl or polyester protector for an organic one moves a usable product toward the trash. If its crinkle or heat is what bothers you, that is a comfort reason to switch, and the old one still works as a liner for a pet bed or as a drop cloth.

How often should you wash your mattress pad?

The makers do not agree. Coyuchi recommends washing its cotton pad monthly, Saatva says every month or two and more often with pets or allergies, and Whisper Organics suggests once every one to three months. For a protector with a film, My Green Mattress advises washing only when necessary, because each wash wears the barrier. A second protector lets you wash after a spill without leaving the mattress bare.

How often should mattress pads be replaced?

When the barrier or the fabric fails, rather than on a calendar. Saatva says a protector washed according to its care instructions should last up to five years or more. The warranties here run one year for most makers and ten for Sleep & Beyond and SafeRest, which shows what each maker will stand behind, not how long the protector will last. Replace a waterproof protector when liquid reaches the mattress, and an absorbent pad when it tears or the fill bunches up.

When it wears out: the film, the fibre and the box

A film protector is a bonded product: cotton on both sides of a plastic layer, sewn to an elastic skirt. None of the waterproof protector pages in the table mentions a take-back program or a way to separate the layers, so a worn-out one is household trash once it has served its last use as a liner.

Two makers call their TPU biodegradable. Sleep & Beyond says its corn-starch-based film is, and Savvy Rest says the same of its TPU; neither page names a test or the conditions. The FTC’s Green Guides treat an unqualified degradable claim as deceptive for items customarily sent to landfills, incinerators or recycling facilities, since none of them lets an item fully decompose within a year. Household trash ends up in exactly those places, so read “biodegradable” on a laminated protector as a statement about the film’s chemistry, not about what will happen to yours.

Wool and cotton without a film have a simpler ending. Holy Lamb says its wool and cotton products are compostable at the end of their life, and its moisture barrier is 100% wool. Avocado’s absorbent pad has no film at all; apart from a latex rubber elastic band, it is organic cotton.

Packaging differs by maker. Holy Lamb ships in a cardboard box sealed with paper tape and no plastic wrap. Avocado ships its pad uncompressed, folded under tissue, with a canvas bag; Sleep & Beyond uses a reusable cloth bag, Whisper Organics a fabric drawstring bag, and Nest a carry tote for its wool protector. SafeRest folds its protector tightly to reduce packaging. A fabric bag is a good place to store the spare protector between washes.

Sources

Prices and specifications are from each maker’s product page in September 2026. Avocado sources: the Organic Waterproof Mattress Protector and Organic Mattress Pad Protector product pages on avocadogreenmattress.com, and Avocado’s warranty terms (linked above).

Leave a Comment