Non-toxic rugs start with a natural pile, but the pile is only one layer. The backing, whatever holds the yarn in place, the dyes, any stain-repellent finish and the pad underneath are on your floor too, and those layers are where synthetic latex, glues and PFAS treatments turn up. Among the four rugs below, Tuft Love’s Black Dots discloses the most about them; Pure Nature is the undyed wool choice, made in the US; Air Dune is washable cotton under $300; and Berber Soul is washable wool that comes with its own underlay.
A rug you already own is usually fine to keep: EPA’s advice on carpet emissions is about the first few days after new carpet goes down. A rug that stayed wet after a leak may need replacing, and one with a stain-repellent finish is better moved out of a crawling baby’s play space than thrown out. Most old carpets and rugs end up in landfill, so the one that lasts longest is usually the lower-waste buy.
Affiliate disclosure: This guide contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices are from October 2026.
Non-toxic area rugs compared
Each rug below names its pile fiber, and the table shows which other layers its listing leaves out. Prices are for the size closest to 4 × 6 feet, and the per-square-foot figure lets you compare the two size systems.
| Rug | Pile and backing | Dyes and finish | Care | Price, about 4 × 6 (Oct 2026) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuft Love Black Dots | 100% GOTS-certified cotton, table tufted, 14–15 mm pile; backing not stated | GOTS-certified dyes and washes; no PFAS or flame retardants, per Tuft Love | Machine wash in a front-loader of 9 kg or more | $539 for 4′ × 6′ ($22.46 per sq ft); from $139 for 2′ × 3′ | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
| Pure Nature Classic Birch | 100% undyed European wool, 32 oz loop pile; cotton-and-hemp backing; wool binding | Undyed; what bonds the backing is not stated | Spot clean and vacuum | $376 for 4′ × 6′ ($15.67 per sq ft); non-returnable | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
| Air Dune White | 100% cotton, handmade; base and pile attachment not stated | Natural-dye claim | Machine wash at 30°C on a gentle cycle | $289 for 4′7″ × 6′7″ ($9.58 per sq ft) | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
| Berber Soul | 100% wool pile on a recycled-cotton base; underlay included | Natural-dye claim | Machine wash at 30°C; 9 kg washer or more | $381.50 for 4′7″ × 6′7″ ($12.64 per sq ft); from $167.54 | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
What touches your floor: fiber, backing, dyes and finishes
“100% wool” or “100% cotton” usually describes the pile, the yarn you see and walk on. Most carpet and rug production is tufted, more than 90 percent by the carpet industry’s own count, and a tufted rug needs something on the back to hold its yarn in. Some carpet backings and cushioning use styrene-butadiene latex, which can give off 4-phenylcyclohexene, a byproduct that UL’s Chemical Insights research program says is often recognized as the “new carpet” smell.
Among the four rugs here, Pure Nature names its backing (cotton and hemp) and Berber Soul its base (recycled cotton). Tuft Love and Air Dune don’t say what holds the pile, and Tuft Love’s listing rules out “hazardous glues” without naming what it does use.


Dyes come next. Pure Nature is undyed, which removes the question; Tuft Love says its dyes and washes, like its cotton, are GOTS certified; and the two Lorena Canals rugs carry a natural-dye claim on Rugs by Roo’s listings, with no dye certification named.
Stain and water repellents are where PFAS come in. EPA lists the repellents used on carpets among household sources of PFAS and says young children, who crawl on floors, have a higher risk of exposure to PFAS in carpets and household dust. Several states now bar the sale of new carpets and rugs with intentionally added PFAS, including Maine since January 2023, Colorado and Maryland since January 2024, and Minnesota since January 2025; Maryland’s law also covers pads used with carpet. Elsewhere, ask how a rug sold as stain-resistant gets that way. Rugs by Roo’s rating text for all four picks says they have no harmful chemical treatments, naming PFAS, phthalates and formaldehyde as examples.
Glue matters most for wall-to-wall carpet, where EPA suggests asking for low-emitting adhesives. An area rug isn’t glued down, so the layer between it and the floor is the pad, covered below.
The four picks
Tuft Love Black Dots: the fullest construction disclosure
Tuft Love shares a founder with Rugs by Roo, so its listing is the seller describing its own rug. It lists table-tufted construction in 100% GOTS-certified cotton, says the dyes and washes are GOTS certified too, and gives a 14–15 mm pile at 1,800 grams per square meter, made in a GoodWeave-certified facility in India. Prices run from $139 for a 2′ × 3′ to $1,894 for an 8′ × 10′ (Oct 2026).
The Rugs by Roo page doesn’t show a GOTS certification body or number, so check the sewn label if certification is the reason you’re buying. The 2′6″ × 10′ runner was sold out in October 2026.
Pure Nature Classic Birch: undyed wool with a textile backing
Pure Nature is Whitfield’s undyed European wool, woven as a 32-ounce loop-pile broadloom in Georgia, then cut and bound as a rug with a cotton-and-hemp backing and undyed wool serging. The 4′ × 6′ is $376 (Oct 2026), and custom sizes are cut to order.
It suits someone who wants no dye at all and can live with vacuuming and spot cleaning, since it doesn’t go in a washer. The listing doesn’t say what bonds the backing to the pile. Rugs by Roo lists Whitfield among the brands it can’t take back or exchange, so no size can be returned.
Air Dune White: washable cotton under $300
Air Dune is a handmade 100% cotton rug from Lorena Canals with a natural-dye claim. The 4′7″ × 6′7″ is $289 and the 5′7″ × 8′ only a few dollars more at $292.61 (Oct 2026); the largest size was sold out.
It washes at 30°C on a gentle cycle, but the listing doesn’t identify the base or how the pile is attached. Its ISO and AITEX references shouldn’t be read as proof that this rug is organic or low-emitting. Choose it for the disclosed cotton, the price and the care.
Berber Soul: washable wool with an included underlay
Berber Soul has a 100% wool pile on a recycled-cotton base, with a natural-dye claim, and comes with a non-slip underlay and a cotton storage bag. It’s $167.54 for 2′7″ × 4′7″, $381.50 for 4′7″ × 6′7″ and $769.30 for 6′7″ × 9′11″ (Oct 2026).
The underlay’s material isn’t identified. Its care instructions call for a 30°C gentle cycle of no more than 30 minutes, rule out dry cleaning, and say to store it in the included cotton bag rather than airtight plastic.
Wool or cotton: which lasts longer?
Neither fiber wins on its own; construction decides more. The Carpet and Rug Institute, the industry’s trade group, points to dense construction (you shouldn’t see or feel the backing through the pile), a pile of half an inch or less for heavy traffic, and small, tight loops in a loop pile. Tuft Love’s 14–15 mm pile is just over half an inch; Pure Nature is a loop pile.
Wool is the fiber that needs watching. Clothes moth larvae feed on wool carpets and rugs, and the University of California’s pest management program says the damage usually turns up in hidden spots, such as under furniture; it suggests checking beneath heavy furniture and along the edges, and calls the vacuum the best tool for most of the cleanup. Rugs made entirely of synthetic fiber aren’t affected.
A washable rug lasts as long as it survives the washer. Tuft Love warns that a top-loader can catch the fibers and damage the rug, and the Tuft Love and Berber Soul care notes both say not to leave a wet rug in the machine, where colors can run. A rug too large for your washer becomes a spot-clean rug.
What the certifications cover
- GOTS covers organic fiber content and the chemical inputs, processing and working conditions along the supply chain. The “organic” label grade means at least 95 percent certified organic fiber and “made with organic” at least 70 percent, and every GOTS label must name the certification body and the certified company’s certification number.
- OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100 tests textiles at any stage from yarn to finished product, down to every thread and accessory, against a list of more than 1,000 harmful substances, with the strictest limits for baby products. A certificate number can be looked up in OEKO-TEX’s Label Check.
- GREENGUARD Gold limits emissions of more than 360 VOCs and total chemical emissions and requires California’s CDPH test method; UL positions it for nurseries, schools and health care settings.
- Green Label Plus is the carpet industry’s own low-emission program for carpet, adhesive and cushion, run by the Carpet and Rug Institute with testing by UL.
- GoodWeave certifies production without child, forced or bonded labor, with documented working conditions. Its requirements don’t cover fiber or chemicals.
None of the four picks shows an OEKO-TEX, GREENGUARD or Green Label Plus certificate on its listing, and only Tuft Love claims GOTS. Treat brand-wide language as weaker than a certificate number for the rug you’re buying.
Keep the rug you own
EPA’s advice on carpet emissions concerns new carpet: have it unrolled and aired out before it’s installed, and ventilate for 48 to 72 hours afterward. EPA adds that scientists haven’t been able to determine whether chemicals emitted by new carpet are behind the symptoms some people report. A rug that has been down for months is past that stage, and swapping it for a new one starts the cycle again.
Two situations change the answer. If a rug gets soaked, EPA says to clean and dry it within 24 hours if possible or consider replacing it, because water-damaged carpet can harbor mold and bacteria that are very difficult to remove. And if you know a rug was sold with a stain- or water-repellent finish, it’s the one to move out of a crawling baby’s play area; it can serve in a hallway or an adult’s room instead.
Otherwise, care extends it. The carpet industry’s general advice is to vacuum at least twice a week, or at least the high-traffic areas, and to deep-clean the way the maker specifies. A pad keeps a rug from sliding, and Rugs by Roo says one also helps a rug last longer. If your washable rug is a two-piece system such as Ruggable’s, many covers and pads are sold separately, so a worn cover doesn’t mean a new rug.
Check the rug pad separately
The pad is the layer that touches the floor, and its materials are easy to overlook. Pads run from wool felt, jute and natural rubber to PVC; the listings for the two Whitfield pads below say many pads sold as 100% natural rubber still have a PVC or acrylic core. For a foam or other synthetic pad, look for Green Label Plus, which covers cushion emissions.
Check the pad against your floor, too. Floorify, a vinyl floor maker, tells owners to keep rubber off its floors, with no rubber- or latex-coated mats, casters or other rubber objects, and warns of persistent dark-brown discoloration that is very difficult to remove. The Whitfield pad listings say the pads won’t stain any type of floor; on vinyl, follow your floor maker’s care guide first.
Berber Soul includes an underlay but doesn’t identify its material. Tuft Love and Air Dune recommend a pad, and Rugs by Roo pairs Pure Nature with Whitfield’s wool-and-rubber pad:
| Rug pad | Made of | Thickness | Price (Oct 2026) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whitfield Wool with Natural Rubber | 24 oz wool felt on a natural-rubber backing | ¼ inch | $57 for 4′ × 6′; $49 to $297 by size | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
| Whitfield Natural Rubber Jute Gripper | Jute core coated in natural rubber | ⅛ inch | $47 for 4′ × 6′; $27 to $401 by size | Buy at Rugs by Roo |
The wool pad adds cushioning; the thinner jute gripper is sold mainly to stop sliding. Both are made in the US, can be trimmed with scissors and are spot-clean only, and their listings call them biodegradable. As Whitfield products, both are non-returnable at Rugs by Roo.
Sizing a rug for a nursery
Size the rug to the open floor where someone will sit, crawl or kneel, the space between the crib, dresser, chair and door swing, rather than to the whole room. A 3′ × 5′ rug covers 15 square feet, a 4′ × 6′ covers 24, and Air Dune’s 4′7″ × 6′7″ covers about 30. Tuft Love comes in both smaller sizes, at $339 and $539 in October 2026.
Washable only helps if your machine can take the size. Tuft Love’s care instructions call for a front-loading washer and dryer of at least 9 kg. The Berber Soul listing recommends at least 9 kg and says to check the sewn label for each size, while the Air Dune listing gives a 30°C gentle cycle but no capacity (Oct 2026). New wool sheds, for the first two to four weeks according to Rugs by Roo, which for that reason doesn’t usually recommend wool for children under three; new cotton pile leaves some lint too.
A rug is a floor covering, not part of a baby’s sleep space: CPSC’s safe-sleep guidance keeps cribs, bassinets and play yards bare. If you want cushioning under a crawling baby rather than a flat rug, the non-toxic play mat guide compares foam and fiber mats; for the rest of the room, see the non-toxic nursery guide.
When a rug wears out
Rugs are hard to get rid of well. EPA estimates that of the 3.4 million tons of carpets and rugs that entered the US waste stream in 2018, 9.2 percent was recycled, 17.8 percent burned for energy and 73 percent landfilled. California has a carpet stewardship program with public drop-off sites, but the law behind it defines carpet to exclude rugs, pads and cushions.
That leaves reuse. CARE, the stewardship group carpet makers set up, suggests reusing old carpet in laundry rooms, workshops, garages and pet areas, and offering carpet in good condition to thrift stores, community groups, Freecycle or Nextdoor; the same goes for a rug.
Before buying a rug online
- Confirm the exact size and price; do not rely on a collection-page starting price.
- Look for the face fiber, backing, binder or tufting method, dyes, finishes, and pad.
- Match any certification to the exact rug and the part of the product it covers.
- Check the care instructions against your household, not just the word “washable.”
- Read the return terms before ordering. As of October 2026, Rugs by Roo asks buyers to get in touch within 7 days of delivery, to send the rug back within 30 days of delivery and to pay a $30 restocking fee; custom and made-to-order rugs, and rugs from brands it lists as non-returnable (Whitfield is one), cannot be returned.
Non-toxic rug questions
What is the least toxic rug material?
Undyed wool or organic cotton, on a backing the maker names, with no stain-repellent finish. Pure Nature (undyed wool on cotton and hemp) and Tuft Love (GOTS-certified organic cotton) disclose the most among the rugs here. A natural pile can still sit on a synthetic latex backing or carry a PFAS finish, so ask about those layers as well as the fiber.
Are there rugs with no VOCs?
Some listings say so: Rugs by Roo describes Tuft Love and Pure Nature as free of VOCs, and the Whitfield pad listings call the pads zero-VOC. None of those claims names an emissions test. The programs that measure emissions, UL’s GREENGUARD Gold and the carpet industry’s Green Label Plus, set limits rather than certifying zero, and none of the four picks shows either certificate.
Are GOTS-certified rugs non-toxic?
GOTS covers organic fiber content and the chemical inputs used through processing; it isn’t an emissions test. Tuft Love’s listing claims GOTS-certified cotton, dyes and washes but shows no certification body or number, and a GOTS product label has to carry both, so the sewn label is where to confirm it.
Are wool rugs non-toxic?
Wool itself is a natural fiber; the dye, any stain treatment and the backing decide the rest. Pure Nature is undyed on a cotton-and-hemp backing, and Berber Soul has a natural-dye claim on a recycled-cotton base. New wool sheds for the first few weeks, and moth larvae feed on wool rugs in hidden spots such as under furniture.
Are washable rugs non-toxic?
Washable describes care, not materials. Tuft Love and the two Lorena Canals rugs here are cotton or wool, but a washable rug can just as easily be synthetic, so check the pile, base and backing. Ruggable’s help-center FAQ doesn’t say whether its rugs are OEKO-TEX certified (Oct 2026); for a question like that, ask for the certificate number and enter it in OEKO-TEX’s Label Check, since STANDARD 100 certifies individual articles, not a whole brand.
Is there non-toxic or organic carpet?
The same layers apply to wall-to-wall carpet, plus the installation adhesive. Pure Nature is cut from Whitfield’s undyed wool broadloom, which Rugs by Roo also sells as wall-to-wall carpet, though its listing claims no organic certification. For glued carpet, EPA suggests asking for low-emitting adhesives and having the carpet aired out before it goes down, and it advises against permanently gluing carpet to concrete that touches the ground, so it can come up if it gets wet.
Are there non-toxic rugs made in the USA?
Pure Nature is woven by Whitfield in Georgia from European wool and bound in the US, and both Whitfield rug pads are made in the US. Tuft Love, Air Dune and Berber Soul are made in India.
Are ethically made rugs also non-toxic?
Not necessarily. GoodWeave’s certification requirements are about labor: no child, forced or bonded labor, and documented working conditions. They don’t cover fiber, dyes or finishes. Tuft Love’s listing says it is made in a GoodWeave-certified facility, which tells you about the work, not the chemistry.