Whether a slow cooker is non-toxic comes down to the insert your food sits against for eight hours. That insert is glazed stoneware (the classic crock), a nonstick-coated aluminum pot, bare stainless steel, or unglazed clay, and each raises a different question: lead and cadmium in a glaze, PFAS in a coating, or nothing to take on trust. An intact crock from a maker that puts its glaze testing in writing, as Crock-Pot and Hamilton Beach do, is not the hazard the word “toxic” suggests, so if yours is sound, keeping it is the lower-waste choice. The crocks to retire are vintage, brightly decorated, of unknown origin, or crazed and chipped. If you are buying new, a bare stainless pot settles both the glaze and the coating question: the Instant Pot Duo’s standard inner pot, or 360 Cookware’s stockpot on a separate heating base. A coated pot trades the lead question for a surface that wears out.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

What Your Crock Pot Is Made Of
Look inside the pot you have. A heavy, glossy insert is glazed stoneware; a light metal pot with a dark, speckled or colored nonstick finish is coated aluminum, with either a PTFE or a silica-based “ceramic” coating; shiny bare metal is stainless steel; and a matte, unglazed pot is clay. Crock-Pot and Hamilton Beach crocks are stoneware, many multicookers and newer slow cookers use coated pots, and the Instant Pot’s standard inner pot is stainless.
Only the stainless and clay inserts skip both glaze and coating. Every stoneware and coated pot below rests on what its maker states, and the coated models differ most in how much they state.
| Model | Insert (what touches food) | Lid | What the maker states | Price (Sept 2026) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt | Bare 18/8 stainless steel, tri-ply bottom | Pressure lid (material not stated) | No glaze or coating; steel grade stated | $109.99 maker; $79.00 Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| 360 Cookware 6 Quart Slow Cooker Set | T-316 stainless steel, .110 gauge, made in West Bend, WI | Stainless steel cover | No glaze or coating; steel grade stated | $479.95 (base alone $145.00) | — |
| Wolf Gourmet Multi-Function Cooker (WGSC100S) | Tri-ply stainless steel, 7 qt | Glass | No glaze or coating; grade not stated | $699.95 | — |
| VitaClay VM7900-8 | Unglazed Zisha clay | Clay | Maker-commissioned leach tests (2017, 2018): no lead or cadmium detected | $259.00 (VM7900-6: $239.00) | Buy at Amazon |
| Hamilton Beach 6 Qt Programmable (33762) | Glazed stoneware crock | Glass | Extraction tests below detection: 0.1 µg/mL lead, 0.01 µg/mL cadmium | $62.99 maker; $62.95 Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| Crock-Pot 6 Qt Cook & Carry (CPSCVC60LL-S) | Glazed stoneware | Locking lid with gasket (material not stated) | Third-party tested; glazes meet FDA lead and cadmium requirements | $59.99 Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| GreenPan Elite 14-in-1 6 Qt | Hard-anodized aluminum pot, Thermolon Volt ceramic nonstick | Tempered glass | Coating made without PFAS, lead or cadmium | $299.99 (list $429.99) | Buy at Amazon |
| GreenLife Healthy 6 Qt | Removable pot, ceramic nonstick (base metal not stated) | Glass | Coating free of PFAS, PFOA, lead and cadmium | $69.99 maker; $69.25 Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| Ninja PossibleCooker PRO 8.5 Qt (MC1001) | Removable pot (material and coating not named) | Glass | “PFAS-free cooking pot”; no lead or cadmium statement | $169.99 | — |
| Cuisinart Cook Central 6 Qt (MSC-600) | Nonstick aluminum pot (coating not named) | Glass | No coating chemistry or lead/cadmium statement | $199.95 | — |
| Breville Fast Slow Pro (BPR700) | Ceramic-coated bowl | Removable pressure lid | “Naturally PFOA and PTFE free”; no lead or cadmium statement | $329.95 | — |
Is There Lead in a Crock Pot?
There can be. Lead has long been used in ceramic glazes, which is why the FDA polices how much lead ceramic foodware releases, not how much it contains. Its compliance guide for pottery, in place since 1980 and last revised in 2005, sets the limit for large hollowware (anything holding 1.1 liters or more, which covers a full-size slow-cooker crock) at 1.0 microgram of lead per milliliter of leaching solution, with a stricter 0.5 for cups and mugs used for hot drinks. The standard lab test soaks the vessel in 4% acetic acid, roughly vinegar strength, and measures what the liquid pulls out of the glaze.
Most of the alarming numbers online come from a different instrument. An XRF analyzer reports whether lead is present in a material, not how much migrates into food. Tamara Rubin, the consumer-safety advocate behind Lead Safe Mama, reported 70,400 ppm lead on a VitaClay cooker, but that reading came from the enameled metal lining of the appliance housing, which does not touch food; the clay pot’s food surface read 71 ppm, a level she called within safe levels by all current US and European standards, though she says she would not use the cooker in her own home. A Crock-Pot glazed liner she tested read 42 ppm, which she also described as safe by all standards while declining to recommend any ceramic crock. The FDA explains the gap: when pottery is fired properly, essentially all of its lead is bound into the glaze, and anything that migrates is an insignificant amount.
What the makers put in writing varies. Hamilton Beach’s slow-cooker FAQ says its crocks are checked with ASTM extraction tests that detect lead down to 0.1 microgram per milliliter and cadmium down to 0.01, and that neither turns up above those limits; that detection limit is a tenth of the FDA lead guideline for a crock that size. Crock-Pot’s support page says its glaze is a silicate of quartz, feldspar and clay fired into a glass film, that its slow cookers go through third-party testing, and that every glaze meets or exceeds FDA requirements for lead and cadmium. VitaClay publishes the lab certificates it commissioned for its clay pot. None of the three publishes batch-by-batch results, so a statement is what you are trusting (all as of September 2026).
Nonstick Inserts: PTFE, Ceramic and PFAS
A coated pot swaps the glaze question for a coating question. Conventional nonstick is PTFE, which is itself a PFAS, so a pot labeled only “PFOA-free” can still be PTFE; “PFAS-free” is the claim that rules it out (the PFAS-free cookware claims comparison shows which label words exclude which chemicals). The alternative is a silica-based “ceramic” coating, which is not fired clay despite the name. Air fryer baskets carry the same PTFE-or-ceramic choice, and our non-toxic air fryer guide covers the glass and bare-steel models that skip a coating.
Of the coated pots in the table, GreenPan’s and GreenLife’s put the most in writing. GreenPan’s product-safety page says its Thermolon coating is free of PFAS (including PTFE and PFOA), lead and cadmium, and the Elite 14-in-1 puts that coating, in its Thermolon Volt version, on a hard-anodized aluminum pot. GreenLife’s product page says the 6-quart slow cooker’s ceramic coating is free of PFAS, PFOA, lead and cadmium. Ninja calls the PossibleCooker PRO’s pot “PFAS-free” without naming its material or any coating; Cuisinart lists a nonstick aluminum pot for the Cook Central and names no coating; Breville calls the Fast Slow Pro’s bowl ceramic coated and “naturally PFOA and PTFE free.” None of those three says anything about lead or cadmium (Sept 2026).
Heat and wear decide how long a coated pot lasts. Slow cooking runs cool (Hamilton Beach lists 180 to 200°F on Low and 200 to 225°F on High), but a sear or sauté setting heats the same coated pot much hotter, and GreenPan rates the Elite to 450°F. Every coating is also a consumable layer: GreenPan’s own care advice is to use silicone utensils to extend its life, and once the coating wears through, the pot is finished even though the metal underneath is sound. A coated pot makes sense if searing in a light pot is the feature you will use; for an appliance meant to outlast its warranty, bare steel is the better buy.
Stainless Steel Slow Cookers
A stainless insert has no glaze and no coating, so there is nothing to certify and nothing to wear through. Stainless is not inert, though. A 2017 University of Messina study in Contact Dermatitis cooked tomato sauce and lemon marmalade for an hour in 18/10 stainless pots and found that nickel and chromium release rose with cooking time and was higher in new pots and with acidic food, while staying below known allergy-triggering levels in every test. The authors judged ordinary use safe for most people with a nickel or chromium allergy, though the most sensitive could react to the nickel in food and pot combined. Its cooks lasted an hour, well short of a slow-cooker day, so it does not settle what eight hours of simmering releases.
Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt
The stainless slow cooker you may already own is an Instant Pot. Instant Pot lists the Duo’s inner pot as 18/8 stainless steel with a tri-ply bottom, and Slow Cook is one of its seven functions. It is $109.99 from Instant Pot and was $79.00 on Amazon (Sept 2026), with a one-year limited warranty.
If you own one, check the pot before buying anything. Instant Pot also sells a 6-quart aluminum inner pot with a ceramic-coated interior ($29.99), and the stainless 6-quart pot is sold on its own ($39.99), so a worn or wrong pot is a pot swap, not a new appliance. The Duo also cooks rice, which can save buying a second appliance; if you would rather have a dedicated one, the choice again comes down to the pot, and only some rice cookers have uncoated pots.
360 Cookware 6 Quart Slow Cooker Set
For a dedicated stainless slow cooker, 360 Cookware sells a T-316 stainless stockpot with a separate heating base (.110 gauge, handcrafted in West Bend, Wisconsin): sear on the stovetop, then move the pot onto the base to simmer. The set is $479.95 and the base alone is $145.00, sold direct (Sept 2026). The cookware carries a lifetime warranty against defects; electrical parts, including the base, are covered for two years.
The separate base is what makes this a buy-once pick. According to 360’s answers on the base’s product page, it fits the brand’s 6-quart Gourmet stockpot, 4-quart stockpot and 2.3-quart casserole, but not the regular 6-quart stockpot, so anyone who already owns a fitting pot can buy the base alone, and a failed base does not take the pot with it. 360 recommends hand washing: its care notes say dishwasher detergent can damage the aluminum inside the pot’s construction and affect the warranty.
Wolf Gourmet Multi-Function Cooker
Wolf Gourmet’s Multi-Function Cooker (WGSC100S) pairs a slow-cooker base with a removable 7-quart tri-ply stainless vessel that also works on a cooktop, including induction, and in the oven. It has a glass lid and a five-year limited warranty, against one year for the Instant Pot, and costs $699.95 direct from Wolf Gourmet (Sept 2026).
Unglazed Clay: VitaClay
VitaClay’s VM7900-8 cooks in a pot of unglazed Zisha clay, and the maker says no added nonstick glaze, lead or aluminum touches the food. VitaClay says it is UL listed and lab tested to FDA, California Prop 65 and RoHS requirements, and it carries a one-year limited warranty at $259.00 for the 4-quart model or $239.00 for the 3-quart VM7900-6 (Sept 2026).
Unlike the stoneware makers, VitaClay posts its lab paperwork, which it commissioned from Anresco Laboratories. A February 2017 report (AOAC method 973.82) found no lead, cadmium or arsenic above the 0.01 ppm detection limit in the VM7900 and VF7700 series pot, and a December 2018 certificate for the VM7900-8 clay pot, leached with 4% acetic acid, found none of those or mercury. Both are several years old. An XRF reading on the pot’s food surface still finds a trace of lead (the 71 ppm above), which is the difference between present and leachable.
Clay is the fragile option, since a dropped pot cracks. VitaClay sells the replacement 4-quart clay pot and lid set for the VM7900-8 at $169.95 (Sept 2026), so a broken pot does not retire the base.
Glazed Stoneware With a Written Lead Statement
A glazed crock is the cheapest and most familiar slow cooker, and Crock-Pot and Hamilton Beach both put their glaze testing in writing. The trade-off is that you are trusting a statement rather than a material, and that a chipped or crazed glaze turns a low-risk crock into one to retire.
Hamilton Beach 6 Qt Programmable (33762)
Hamilton Beach’s statement is the most specific: its specifications prohibit any measurable lead in its slow cookers and their crocks, the factories that make the crocks are certified ceramic producers whose ware is deemed to satisfy FDA heavy-metal requirements, and extraction tests put lead and cadmium below detection limits of 0.1 and 0.01 micrograms per milliliter. The 6-quart programmable model 33762 pairs that crock with a glass lid and a timer, both crock and lid are dishwasher safe, and it is $62.99 from Hamilton Beach and $62.95 on Amazon (Sept 2026).
The crock is also sold on its own: the 33762’s product page lists a 5.5/6-quart black replacement crock among its parts and accessories for $20.99 (check the fit by model number on Hamilton Beach’s parts search), and Hamilton Beach runs a mail-back recycling program for nonfunctioning Hamilton Beach products.
Crock-Pot 6 Qt Cook & Carry (CPSCVC60LL-S)
Crock-Pot’s support page says its glaze is a silicate of quartz, feldspar and clay fired into a glass film, contains no PTFE or PFOA, and meets or exceeds FDA requirements for lead and cadmium; the company says it uses third-party testing to confirm that. The 6-quart Cook & Carry (model CPSCVC60LL-S) adds a locking lid with a gasket for transport and a digital timer from 30 minutes to 20 hours; it was $59.99 on Amazon (Sept 2026).
The statement is brand-wide, so it also covers a current Crock-Pot crock you already own.
Keep the Slow Cooker You Have?
Usually, yes. The FDA says pottery made in commercial factories for everyday use is much less likely to have lead problems than the problem types listed below, and a Crock-Pot or Hamilton Beach crock is covered by the statements above. Replacing an intact crock with a stainless pot to feel safer sends a working appliance to the landfill over a risk its maker already tests for. The same goes for an intact coated pot that still releases food cleanly.
Retire the insert, not necessarily the appliance, when the glaze is crazed, chipped or cracked; that is where a sealed surface breaks down. The FDA flags the ceramicware most likely to leach lead: antique pieces, damaged or excessively worn ones, pottery from flea markets or of unknown origin, and pieces brightly decorated in orange, red or yellow. A 1970s crock, a hand-painted flea-market find or a thrifted unit with no maker’s name fits that list; use it for display or dry serving and simmer food in something else. Rubin lists acidic food cooked for hours, such as tomato sauce or vinegar, among her reasons for avoiding ceramic crocks, so that is the use to move out of an older crock first.
Home lead swabs are less useful here than they sound. The FDA suggests them for pottery you cannot vouch for, and a positive result means the piece should not be used for food. A negative on a modern crock proves little: Rubin notes that the lead in a glazed crock liner sits far below what a swab can detect.
Buy Once, and Where a Slow Cooker Goes at the End
For a slow cooker that lasts, the question is which part fails first and whether it is sold on its own. A Hamilton Beach crock is $20.99, an Instant Pot stainless pot $39.99 and a VitaClay clay pot set $169.95; 360 sells its base ($145.00) and Gourmet pot ($329.95) separately, and Wolf covers its cooker for five years. A coated pot is the one insert with a built-in end date, set by the coating.
At end of life the parts go different ways. A glazed crock is ceramic, not recyclable glass: Cuyahoga County’s recycling guidance, for example, says ceramics, broken or intact, stay out of curbside recycling, so a cracked crock is reuse or trash. The heating base is a small electrical appliance and belongs with electronics recycling or a retailer or maker take-back, such as Hamilton Beach’s mail-back program, not the bin. A stainless pot is scrap metal that a scrap yard or municipal metal drop-off takes; Cuyahoga’s curbside program accepts only food and beverage cans.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are crock pots toxic?
Not a modern, intact crock from a maker that puts its glaze testing in writing. Crock-Pot says its glaze is a quartz, feldspar and clay silicate that meets FDA requirements for lead and cadmium; Hamilton Beach says extraction tests put both below detection. The alarming numbers online are usually XRF readings, which show that lead is present in a material, not what migrates into food, and the largest of them came from an appliance part that never touches food. The crocks to retire are vintage, brightly decorated, of unknown origin, or crazed and chipped.
Is the ceramic insert in a slow cooker lead free?
It can be free of leachable lead without being lead-free in composition. Crock-Pot’s wording is a compliance claim: its glazes meet or exceed FDA requirements. Hamilton Beach goes further, saying its specifications prohibit measurable lead and that extraction tests find lead below 0.1 micrograms per milliliter, a tenth of the FDA guideline for a crock that size. Neither publishes batch results. For lead-free by material rather than by statement, the insert has to skip glaze: bare stainless steel, or VitaClay’s unglazed clay, whose maker-commissioned leach tests found no lead.
Is there PFAS in a crock pot?
Not in a glazed stoneware crock. A glaze is fired glass, not a nonstick coating, and Crock-Pot says its glaze contains no PTFE or PFOA. PFAS comes in with nonstick-coated pots, which many multicookers use. Conventional nonstick is PTFE, itself a PFAS, so look for “PFAS-free” rather than “PFOA-free,” and for a maker that names the coating, as GreenPan and GreenLife do.
Can I use a slow cooker liner?
You can, but it does not change what the crock is made of, and it adds single-use plastic to every meal. Reynolds says its slow cooker liners are a BPA-free nylon blend suitable for the high, low and warm settings. Used weekly, that is about fifty liners a year in the trash to save a soak. If the worry is the glaze, a bare stainless insert settles it for good; if the reason is cleanup, a crock left to soak overnight comes clean without one.
Why does my slow cooker box have a Prop 65 warning?
Because California’s Proposition 65 requires businesses to warn about significant exposures to chemicals on a list that has grown to roughly 900. The warning applies to the product as sold and does not say which part of the appliance prompted it. It tells you the maker chose to warn; it is not a measurement of what leaches from the pot into food.
How do I know if my slow cooker is lead-free?
The surest route by material is an insert with no glaze: bare stainless steel, or VitaClay’s unglazed clay with its published leach reports. For a stoneware crock, you are relying on the maker’s testing statement, and Crock-Pot and Hamilton Beach both publish one. A home swab kit can flag a problem glaze, and the FDA advises against using any piece that tests positive for cooking or serving, but a negative result on a modern crock proves little: Lead Safe Mama’s Tamara Rubin notes that the lead in a glazed crock liner sits far below what a swab can detect.
Are vintage slow cookers safe?
Vintage is the risk category. The FDA lists antique, worn or damaged, flea-market and brightly decorated ceramicware among the pieces most likely to leach lead, and a 1970s or 1980s crock often fits more than one of those. Decades of use can also craze or chip the glaze. Keep an heirloom for display or dry serving and cook in something else.
What slow cookers have stainless steel inserts?
The most common is the Instant Pot, whose standard inner pot is 18/8 stainless with a Slow Cook function; check that yours is the stainless pot, not the ceramic-coated aluminum accessory. Dedicated stainless options are 360 Cookware’s T-316 stockpot on a separate heating base, made in Wisconsin with a lifetime cookware warranty, and Wolf Gourmet’s Multi-Function Cooker, with a 7-quart tri-ply stainless vessel and a five-year warranty.
Should I replace a slow cooker with a chipped glaze?
Replace the crock, not necessarily the appliance. A chipped or crazed glaze is the condition under which leaching from a modern insert becomes plausible, so stop cooking in it. Check the maker’s parts listing first: Hamilton Beach sells a replacement 5.5/6-quart crock for $20.99 (Sept 2026), and a new crock on a working base is the lower-waste fix.

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?
Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿