Non-Toxic Cleaning Products: Ingredients and Seals (2026)

“Non-toxic” is not a regulated cleaning category. A leaf on the label cannot tell you whether a formula discloses its ingredients, uses fragrance, suits the surface you need to clean, or carries an independent certification. Most homes also do not need a separate spray for every room. Use up products that already work, then replace them with a smaller kit built around the jobs you actually do.

Affiliate disclosure: This guide contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Refillable cleaning spray bottle beside a small bottle of concentrate
Concentrates can reduce packaging when the same spray bottle is reused. Photo: cleanimalist/Unsplash.

Non-Toxic Cleaning Brands Compared

Seals and full ingredient lists do not travel together here: Seventh Generation’s Safer Choice Free & Clear spray and Mrs. Meyer’s uncertified lavender spray both list methylisothiazolinone, Dr. Bronner’s Sal Suds carries the EWG mark and lists sodium lauryl sulfate, and Method publishes every ingredient with no program seal at all. Only five of these products carry an EPA Safer Choice or EWG mark that the program registry lists for that exact item.

Product Format Certifications as stated Registry entry Fragrance Full ingredient disclosure Packaging Price (Sept 2026) Where stated
Branch Basics The Concentrate Concentrate, diluted into reusable spray bottles MADE SAFE, Leaping Bunny MADE SAFE: listed; EWG Guide: A rating (not the EWG Verified mark) Unscented; no fragrance in the list Yes (7 ingredients listed) Plastic concentrate bottle; refillable glass sold separately $55 concentrate (33.8 oz, ~$1.63/oz); dilutes to several RTU bottles branchbasics.com, Sept 1
Blueland Clean Suite Kit Tablets + powder, dissolved in reusable bottles/tins EPA Safer Choice, Cradle to Cradle, Leaping Bunny, Climate Neutral EPA Safer Choice: Blueland Multi-Surface Cleaner listed Varies by item; unscented options available Not on the kit page (links to a separate list) Reusable bottles, tins and shakers; plastic-free per brand $88 for the kit; not calculable per single RTU bottle blueland.com, Sept 1
Meliora All-Purpose Home Cleaning Spray Tablet, dissolved in a reusable glass spray bottle MADE SAFE, Leaping Bunny, B Corp, 1% for the Planet MADE SAFE: listed Listing states no synthetic fragrance; scent not itemized Partial (cites organic coconut oil, not a full list) Reusable glass bottle; paperboard refill tablets $10.99 glass bottle with one tablet; $5.99 per 3-tablet refill (~$2.00 per RTU bottle) earthhero.com, Sept 1
Attitude All Purpose Cleaner Ready-to-use spray + concentrated refill EWG Verified, PETA cruelty-free EWG Verified: Citrus Zest listed Essential oils (orange peel, peppermint, clary sage, patchouli); Citrus Zest and Unscented options Yes (on the product page) Spray bottle; larger refill size offered $6.95 RTU (27.1 oz, ~$0.26/oz) attitudeliving.com, Sept 1
Dr. Bronner’s Sal Suds · Amazon Liquid concentrate EWG Verified, cruelty-free (CCIC), Vegan EWG Verified: listed Siberian fir & spruce essential oils, not fragrance-free Yes (11 ingredients listed, including sodium lauryl sulfate) 100% post-consumer recycled bottle $16.99 (32 oz, ~$0.53/oz) drbronner.com, Sept 1
Puracy Multi-Surface Cleaner Concentrate · Amazon Concentrate (dilutes to ~250 surface cleanings) USDA Biobased, cruelty-free No EPA, EWG Verified or MADE SAFE entry for this product “Natural fragrance” plus lemongrass, or green tea & lime, essential oils Yes (8 or 9 ingredients listed depending on scent, including benzisothiazolinone) Refillable “Clean Can” bottle $13.99 concentrate (16 oz, ~$0.87/oz) puracy.com, Sept 1
Seventh Generation Free & Clear · Amazon Ready-to-use spray EPA Safer Choice, Leaping Bunny, USDA Biobased EPA Safer Choice: Free & Clear listed, fragrance-free flag Fragrance-free Yes, and it lists methylisothiazolinone (MIT) and benzisothiazolinone Post-consumer recycled plastic bottle; #2 HDPE sprayhead Not stated on maker page (23 oz) seventhgeneration.com, Sept 1
ECOS All-Purpose Cleaner (Parsley) · Amazon Ready-to-use spray EPA Safer Choice, Leaping Bunny, women-owned (WBENC) EPA Safer Choice: ECOS All-Purpose Cleaner, Parsley Plus listed “Natural fragrance” (parsley); orange option Yes (7 ingredients listed) Not specified on product page Not stated on maker page (22 oz) ecos.com, Sept 1
Method All-Purpose Cleaner Ready-to-use spray Leaping Bunny only; no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified None French Lavender: “Fragrance (Parfum: Linalool)” plus two polymeric colorants Yes, full list shown Spray bottle, 100% recycled plastic excluding trigger $4.59 (28 oz, ~$0.16/oz) methodproducts.com, Sept 1
Mrs. Meyer’s Multi-Surface Everyday Cleaner Ready-to-use spray Leaping Bunny only; no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified None Lavender: fragrance components listed individually (linalool, coumarin, citral, geraniol and others); no fragrance-free option shown Yes; lists MIT, benzisothiazolinone and fragrance allergens Not stated on product page $4.99 (Lavender) mrsmeyers.com, Sept 1
Force of Nature starter kit · Amazon Appliance electrolyzes a salt/water/vinegar capsule on demand EPA Safer Choice, EPA disinfectant registration 93040-1, Green Seal, Leaping Bunny (all brand statements) Self-claim: no Force of Nature entry in the EPA Safer Choice product search None stated; brand says no fragrance, dyes or quats Yes (salt, water, vinegar) Reusable 12 oz/64 oz bottles; no single-use bottle at all $72.90 starter kit on sale from $81.00 forceofnatureclean.com, Sept 1
Cleancult All Purpose Refill Liquid refill for a reusable bottle None third-party stated None Orange Zest or Bamboo Lily; components not listed No (states what it’s made without, not a full list) Paper-based refill carton $8.99 (32 oz, ~$0.28/oz) cleancult.com, Sept 1
Aunt Fannie’s All-Purpose Cleaning Spray Ready-to-use, vinegar-based spray; 64 oz refill jug None; brand states an EWG A rating and dermatologist testing None Essential oils (Bright Lemon or Eucalyptus) Yes (vinegar, caprylyl/myristyl glucoside, essential oils) Spray bottle; 64 oz refill jug $11.99 (64 oz refill) auntfannies.com, Sept 1
Truce All-Purpose Cleaner Concentrate sold by the gallon, refilled into your own bottles None stated None Not stated No (“traditional, safe ingredients”, not itemized) No bottle included; refill system Not stated on maker page truceclean.com, Sept 1
Koala Eco Multi-Purpose Kitchen Cleaner Ready-to-use spray None stated on product page EWG Guide: B rating; not in the MADE SAFE catalog Lemon myrtle & mandarin essential oils; “no synthetic fragrance” Yes (7 ingredients listed) Recycled bottles, per brand $13.90 (16.9 oz, ~$0.82/oz) koalaeco.com, Sept 1
Bon Ami Powder Cleanser Powder None stated on product page None None listed Yes (5 ingredients listed with CAS numbers) Not detailed on page Not stated (14 oz) bonami.com, Sept 1

Puracy and Seventh Generation sit closest to a defensible claim on paper, a full list plus a certification, though Seventh Generation’s own ingredient page is the one that names MIT, and Puracy’s names a “natural fragrance” without its components. ECOS lists Safer Choice on the Parsley spray and the program search confirms that exact product, so match the certification to the item in your cart rather than the brand name. Force of Nature states Safer Choice certification on its own site, but EPA’s Safer Choice product list has no Force of Nature entry, so that seal sits in the self-claim column until the registry shows it.

Method and Mrs. Meyer’s are the mainstream contrast. Method’s All-Purpose Cleaner in French Lavender lists a synthetic “Fragrance (Parfum: Linalool)” plus two polymeric colorants on its own page and carries Leaping Bunny status but no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified seal; Method has been owned by SC Johnson since 2017. Mrs. Meyer’s now publishes a full list for its Lavender Multi-Surface Everyday Cleaner, and that list names methylisothiazolinone, benzisothiazolinone and each fragrance allergen, which is more disclosure than several “natural” brands above offer and a different thing from a non-toxic claim.

Force of Nature works differently from every bottle above: a countertop appliance electrolyzes a salt/water/vinegar capsule into an EPA-registered disinfectant and all-purpose cleaner on demand, refilling reusable 12- or 64-ounce bottles instead of buying new ones. The brand states the solution has no bleach, fragrance, dyes, preservatives, surfactants or quats and cites EPA disinfectant registration No. 93040-1 and Green Seal on its site. It answers the packaging-waste and quat questions at once, at the cost of running an appliance instead of pouring from a bottle; the Branch Basics vs. Force of Nature comparison covers that trade-off, and the starter kit on Amazon is the same appliance-plus-five-capsules bundle the maker sells.

Cleancult’s All Purpose Refill states what it’s made without (SLES, SLS, phthalates, phosphates, parabens, dyes) rather than publishing a full list, and ships as a paper-based refill with no third-party certification. Aunt Fannie’s and Truce take a similar simple-ingredient, no-certification approach: Aunt Fannie’s lists vinegar, a sugar surfactant and essential oils for its 64-ounce refill jug, and Truce sells concentrate by the gallon for refilling your own bottles without itemizing the formula. None of the three carries a MADE SAFE, EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified seal, so the safety claim rests on the brand’s word and, for Aunt Fannie’s, on a short list you can read.

Koala Eco’s Multi-Purpose Kitchen Cleaner lists seven ingredients and named essential oils rather than an undisclosed fragrance blend, and EWG’s guide rates that exact product B; the product page itself shows no certification, and the MADE SAFE catalog has no Koala Eco entry. Bon Ami’s powder cleanser is the outlier in format and now the plainest disclosure on the list: five ingredients with CAS numbers (limestone, feldspar, soda ash, baking soda and a C10-C16 alkylbenzene sulfonic acid surfactant), no fragrance and no seal.

Ingredients to Avoid, and Where Each Is Listed

Six ingredient classes account for most of what a “non-toxic” label leaves out. Each one below links to the substance entry in EWG’s Guide to Healthy Cleaning, which cites the hazard data behind its rating, so the concern is the source’s, not this page’s.

  • Quaternary ammonium compounds (quats): the disinfecting agents behind most “kills 99.9% of germs” wipes and sprays, listed as benzalkonium chloride or alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chlorides. EWG flags skin irritation and allergy for the class and rates the benzyl-alkyl chlorides F. They add nothing when the job is routine dirt removal rather than disinfecting.
  • Fragrance: the single word “fragrance” can stand in for a blend of undisclosed compounds. EWG’s entry cites skin irritation and allergy, respiratory effects and aquatic toxicity from EU Ecolabel and SCCNFP data. A maker that names each fragrance component, as Mrs. Meyer’s and Seventh Generation do, is disclosing more than one that prints the word alone.
  • Chlorine bleach (sodium hypochlorite): effective for real disinfecting, rated F by EWG on GHS hazard codes for severe skin burns, eye damage and aquatic toxicity. It belongs in the cabinet only for a job that needs a disinfectant, never mixed with anything else; the label’s own mixing warning is the rule.
  • Ammonia (ammonium hydroxide): common in glass cleaners, rated F by EWG on the same GHS burn and eye-damage codes plus respiratory concern. Same rule on mixing.
  • 2-butoxyethanol (also listed as butyl cellosolve or EGBE): a solvent in some glass and multi-surface formulas. EWG rates it F and cites EPA’s 2010 toxicological review, which found red blood cell damage in animal studies by inhalation, skin contact and ingestion.
  • Methylisothiazolinone (MIT): a preservative added to water-based liquids to stop mold growth inside the bottle, rated D by EWG for skin allergy and irritation and, per EPA’s reregistration decision, very high toxicity to aquatic life. It appears in two products in the table above, Seventh Generation Free & Clear and Mrs. Meyer’s, and only the first of those carries an EPA Safer Choice seal.

A cleaner that says which of these six it avoids, and which it uses on purpose (bleach for actual disinfecting, for instance), is giving you more than an adjective on the front label. Neither EPA Safer Choice nor EWG Verified requires a formula to be fragrance-free, quat-free or MIT-free, which is why the table lists the ingredient page next to the seal.

What “Non-Toxic” Means for a Cleaner

Two independent programs screen against those classes; most bottles that say “non-toxic” carry neither. EPA Safer Choice audits every ingredient in a specific formula for human and aquatic toxicity, certifies that exact product, and re-reviews it periodically, so the seal means someone outside the company checked this formula, not just the brand’s general philosophy. EWG Verified applies a comparable hazard-screening standard through the Environmental Working Group and publishes the restrictions behind a given ingredient. Neither program requires a product to be fragrance-free, quat-free, or free of MIT specifically, so a seal narrows what you’re buying without guaranteeing any single ingredient class is absent; certified products in the table above still list a fragrance or MIT on their own ingredient pages. A self-claimed “non-toxic,” “natural,” or “eco” label with no third-party program behind it is a marketing choice rather than a verified one, though a full published ingredient list is the next-best evidence when no seal is present.

None of that changes how much plastic ships to your door, a separate question: concentrates and refills cut packaging weight regardless of what’s inside the bottle. A concentrate that dilutes into an existing spray bottle, or a refill pouch that tops off a reusable one, avoids shipping and disposing of a full bottle’s worth of water and container every time you run out. Treat the two questions separately. A fragrance-free, EPA Safer Choice-certified spray can still ship in a single-use plastic bottle, and a zero-waste concentrate can still contain a quat or an undisclosed fragrance blend.

Four mainstream sprays and wipes that a “non-toxic” search turns up, each with the one line on its own ingredient list that keeps it off the table above. The disqualifier is what the brand publishes, read against the EWG entries linked in the previous section.

  • Clorox Disinfecting Wipes: Clorox’s SmartLabel ingredient list names alkyl C12-14 dimethylethylbenzyl ammonium chloride and alkyl C12-18 dimethylbenzyl ammonium chloride, the quats above. Fine for a surface that needs disinfecting; the wrong default for daily counters.
  • Mrs. Meyer’s Lavender Multi-Surface Everyday Cleaner: the brand’s own list includes methylisothiazolinone and benzisothiazolinone and itemizes fragrance components it flags as allergens (linalool, coumarin, citral, geraniol, limonene). Leaping Bunny is the only certification stated.
  • Method All-Purpose Cleaner, French Lavender: lists “Fragrance (Parfum: Linalool)” without the rest of the blend, plus Polymeric Red and Polymeric Blue colorants, and carries no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified seal.
  • Seventh Generation All Purpose Cleaner, Lemon Chamomile: the scented sibling of the Free & Clear row carries the same Safer Choice listing and lists methylisothiazolinone and benzisothiazolinone, plus lemon, lemongrass and spearmint oils the brand itself labels as fragrance allergens. The seal is real; the ingredient page is what keeps it off the list.

Which format fits the job

Five of the brands above, cut down to the one decision that usually settles a purchase: whether one concentrate can cover several jobs, or whether you want a ready-to-use bottle for a specific surface.

Product Useful when Format Check on the label
Branch Basics concentrate You want one concentrate for several routine cleaning jobs Concentrate diluted in reusable bottles Dilution and surface directions for the exact use
Blueland cleaning tablets You prefer premeasured refills for everyday sprays Tablets dissolved in reusable bottles Certification and ingredient list for the exact formula
Meliora all-purpose cleaner Plastic packaging and PVA are priorities Powder or refill concentrate Directions for the surface and type of soil
Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap You want one liquid soap for body care and selected household jobs Liquid Castile soap concentrate in a plastic bottle That Castile soap is suitable for the intended surface and dilution
Attitude cleaners You want ready-to-use sprays or larger refills Bottles and refill boxes EWG VERIFIED status for the specific product, not the brand name alone

Choose one everyday system first

Branch Basics makes sense when one concentrate can replace several routine cleaners. The manufacturer provides different dilution instructions for all-purpose cleaning, bathrooms and glass, so its value depends on whether those are the jobs taking up space under your sink. MADE SAFE lists the concentrate in its product catalog, and the maker’s buy-once case is that the 33.8-ounce bottle “replaces all cleaning supplies when diluted with water,” so the refill you keep buying is one bottle rather than several. Our Branch Basics review looks at the formula and packaging in more detail.

Blueland takes a different route: dry tablets shipped without the water that fills a conventional spray bottle. That can reduce shipping weight and repeat packaging, but it also commits you to the brand’s tablet system. EPA Safer Choice certification applies product by product; the program’s search lists Blueland’s Multi-Surface Cleaner by name, and the brand’s own kit page claims the system saves 65 plastic containers a year, a maker’s estimate rather than a measured one. See the Blueland review or compare Blueland and Branch Basics if these are your final two.

Meliora is the stronger fit when avoiding plastic packaging and PVA matters more than having a matched bottle system. Its cleaning products include powders, bars and refills, and the company says it avoids PVA in pods and sheets. MADE SAFE lists the All-Purpose Home Cleaner among several Meliora products, but the catalog entry still needs to match the exact item in your cart. Our Meliora review covers the trade-offs.

Add a specialty cleaner only when it earns the space

Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap is a concentrated soap for body care and selected household jobs. Dilution and surface compatibility matter, and Castile soap should not be treated as a substitute for every hard-surface formula. The Dr. Bronner’s review covers the product and packaging trade-offs.

Attitude sells ready-to-use sprays and larger refills rather than one universal concentrate. Some products appear in the EWG VERIFIED registry. That is useful evidence for the named formula, not a blanket endorsement of every product carrying the brand. The Attitude review covers its ingredient and packaging disclosures.

What to look for on any cleaner

  • A complete ingredient list: “Plant-based” says little about the finished formula. Fragrance-free is more useful than a vague natural-fragrance claim when scent is a concern.
  • A product-level certification: MADE SAFE, EPA Safer Choice and EWG VERIFIED maintain searchable listings. Match the product name or formula; a certification on one cleaner does not automatically cover the rest of the line.
  • Directions for the surface: A good ingredient profile does not make a cleaner suitable for stone, unfinished wood or every appliance finish.
  • The right cleaning claim: Routine cleaners remove dirt. A disinfectant makes a separate, regulated claim and should be used according to its label when that job is actually needed.
  • Less packaging over time: Compare the refill, not only the starter bottle. Concentrates and tablets help only if you keep and reuse the container.

A small kit is usually enough

Start with one all-purpose cleaner, such as Branch Basics concentrate, and dish soap. Add glass, bathroom or floor products only when the first cleaner cannot do the job safely. Vinegar can help with mineral deposits, but it can damage stone and some finishes; baking soda can scrub, but it is not suitable for every surface. Never mix household cleaners unless the label specifically directs it.

If packaging is the deciding factor, pair a refillable cleaner with a plastic-free dish soap. If hidden plastic in laundry products is the concern, continue with the PVA-free detergent guide or the PVA explainer. Buying fewer formulas and using each one fully does more for waste reduction than replacing a working cabinet all at once. At end of life, the bottles here are mostly recyclable plastic (Sal Suds and Method state 100% post-consumer recycled bottles; Seventh Generation states a #2 HDPE sprayhead), Meliora’s tablets ship in paperboard, and Cleancult’s refill is a paper-based carton; the trigger sprayer is the part that usually cannot be recycled curbside, which is one more reason to keep it and refill.

For a deeper dive on one category, see the non-toxic dish soap guide or the plant-based stain remover guide, covering the same certification questions for their specific product type.

Reaching for a scrub pad often? The biodegradable sponges guide covers the plant-fiber options that break down instead of shedding microplastic.

Check the certifications

Paper towels raise the same disposable-versus-reusable question as a scrub pad: our bamboo paper towels guide checks which tree-free rolls beat virgin pulp, and when a washable cloth replaces the roll outright.

Air fresheners raise the same fragrance-disclosure question as the cleaning products above — our non-toxic air freshener guide covers what actually gets listed on the label.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does EPA Safer Choice certify?

It certifies a specific formula’s overall human and environmental hazard profile at the concentration used, ingredient by ingredient, not the absence of any one ingredient class. A product keeps its Safer Choice status only if every batch stays within the program’s hazard thresholds, and EPA re-reviews certified formulas periodically rather than certifying a brand once. That is a meaningfully higher bar than a self-applied “non-toxic” claim, but it is not the same claim as fragrance-free or quat-free; Seventh Generation’s certified Free & Clear spray lists MIT, so read the product’s own ingredient list for those specifics rather than the seal alone.

Is Method non-toxic?

Not by third-party certification. Method’s All-Purpose Cleaner in French Lavender lists a synthetic “Fragrance (Parfum: Linalool)” and two polymeric colorants on its own ingredient page, and carries Leaping Bunny cruelty-free status but no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified seal. Method has been owned by SC Johnson since 2017; the brand still discloses its full ingredient list, which is more than several competitors in the table above do, but that is a different claim than non-toxic.

Is Mrs. Meyer’s non-toxic?

Not by any program’s definition, and its own list says why. The Lavender Multi-Surface Everyday Cleaner page names methylisothiazolinone and benzisothiazolinone as preservatives and itemizes the fragrance components it flags as allergens, including linalool, coumarin, citral and geraniol. Leaping Bunny is the only certification stated. Full disclosure is the useful part of that page; it is not the same as a Safer Choice or EWG Verified listing, and the brand has no fragrance-free multi-surface option.

Is Clorox Free & Clear non-toxic?

It is the mainstream product that comes closest on paper. Clorox Free & Clear Multi-Surface Cleaner appears in the EPA Safer Choice product search with the program’s fragrance-free flag, and Clorox’s SmartLabel list shows a glucoside-surfactant formula with no quats, bleach or fragrance. The same list ends with methylisothiazolinone, the preservative EWG rates D for skin allergy, which puts it in the same position as Seventh Generation Free & Clear: certified, fragrance-free and still worth reading to the last line.

Are concentrates safer than sprays?

Not automatically; format and ingredient safety are separate questions that line up at some brands and not others. Branch Basics and Puracy are concentrates that also disclose a full ingredient list, so format and transparency travel together there, though Puracy’s list includes a “natural fragrance” and a preservative. Force of Nature’s electrolyzed solution and Method’s ready-to-use spray sit on opposite ends of the axis you’d expect: Method ships ready-to-use and lists a synthetic fragrance, while Force of Nature requires an appliance and lists three ingredients. A concentrate reduces packaging regardless of what’s inside it, real progress on waste, but check its ingredient list the same way you would a spray’s.

Is fragrance-free the same as unscented?

No. “Unscented” is a marketing word with no program behind it. “Fragrance-free” has a definition under EPA Safer Choice, which publishes separate fragrance-free criteria and flags qualifying products in its search; Seventh Generation Free & Clear and Clorox Free & Clear both carry that flag. Brands outside the program can still be fragrance-free in practice, as Branch Basics and Force of Nature are on their own lists, so the ingredient list is the check when the seal is absent.

Is vinegar a non-toxic cleaner?

Mostly yes for everyday dirt, with limits the label rarely mentions. Plain white vinegar is acetic acid diluted in water; it carries no quats and no synthetic fragrance, and it cuts through mineral deposits and light grease effectively. But vinegar’s acidity etches natural stone (marble, granite, limestone) and can dull some hardwood finishes, so non-toxic does not mean safe for every surface, the same caveat that applies to Aunt Fannie’s vinegar-based spray above. Vinegar also does not disinfect to an EPA-registered standard the way bleach, quats or Force of Nature’s electrolyzed solution do, so treat it as a cleaner rather than a disinfectant substitute. Never mix vinegar with bleach; the combination releases chlorine gas, the same rule that applies to mixing ammonia and bleach.

Should I throw out the cleaners I already have?

No. A half-used bottle of Method or Mrs. Meyer’s is not a hazard on the shelf; it is a product whose ingredient list you now understand. Use it up on the jobs it does well, keep the trigger sprayer, and make the switch at the next purchase, when a concentrate or tablet system can refill the bottle you already own. Pouring a working cleaner down the drain sends the same ingredients into the water system faster, and buying a replacement before it is empty adds a bottle to the pile the refill was supposed to shrink.

What’s the difference between EPA Safer Choice and EWG Verified?

Both screen ingredients by hazard class rather than banning specific chemicals outright, but they run through different organizations: EPA Safer Choice is a federal program that audits and re-reviews certified formulas, while EWG Verified is run by the nonprofit Environmental Working Group and publishes the studies behind its restrictions. In this guide, Attitude and Dr. Bronner’s Sal Suds carry the EWG Verified mark; Blueland, Seventh Generation and ECOS carry EPA Safer Choice; Branch Basics holds an A rating in EWG’s guide without the Verified mark. Neither program requires fragrance-free or quat-free formulas, so check the ingredient list on a product carrying either seal rather than treating the two as interchangeable guarantees.

Sources & Further Reading