The best non-toxic toaster has bare metal wherever the bread and crumbs sit, and no plastic or coating close to the heat. The only fully plastic-free toaster here is a stovetop one: Coghlan’s Camp Stove Toaster is steel wire on a steel plate. No electric pop-up here is sold as plastic-free, and few makers say what lines the slots. Keenstone does: its Retro 2-Slice listing claims 18/8 stainless steel on every surface the bread touches, and Smeg lists a polished stainless steel crumb tray and a stainless steel lever on its TSF01. Dualit’s Classic costs the most of the pop-up picks and names only its stainless steel body and cast aluminium ends, but it is made to be repaired, with heating elements and a timer sold as spares.
If the toaster you have still browns evenly, keep it. Many makers describe the shell and say nothing about the slots or the crumb tray, so a new “stainless steel” toaster may disclose no more than the one on your counter. The crumb tray deserves more attention than the shell: makers warn that a full one can catch fire.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

Which Non-Toxic Toaster Should You Buy?
Keenstone is the pick for stainless steel where the bread goes, Smeg for a stainless crumb tray, Dualit for a toaster you can repair, and Coghlan’s for no plastic at all. Below them are popular models from Breville, Hamilton Beach, KitchenAid, Mueller and Revolution, in each maker’s own words; “Not stated” means the maker doesn’t say.
| Toaster | What touches the bread | Other materials listed | Parts and warranty | Price (Oct 2026) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keenstone Retro 2-Slice (WT-330) | 18/8 stainless steel on every bread-contact surface, per Keenstone | Recycled stainless steel 50%, ABS 20%, polycarbonate 5%, polypropylene 5%, FeCrAl heating alloy 5% | 1-year limited warranty | $39.99 at Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| Smeg TSF01 | Polished stainless steel crumb tray; slots not stated | Steel body, stainless steel lever | Full one-year warranty; US repairs through ADCO | $159.98 at Amazon (black) | Buy at Amazon |
| Dualit Classic 2-Slice NewGen | Slot and crumb-tray materials not named; ProHeat elements | Stainless steel body, cast aluminium ends | Elements, timer, crumb tray and feet sold as spares (UK store); 1-year warranty | $299.99 at Amazon (matt black) | Buy at Amazon |
| Coghlan’s Camp Stove Toaster | Steel wires and base plate | Steel only; no electrical parts | Nothing to replace; 1-year limited warranty | $11.81 at Amazon | Buy at Amazon |
| Breville ‘A Bit More’ BTA720 | Not stated | Brushed stainless steel; disclosure lists stainless steel’s elements and aluminum | No spare parts listed; warranty not stated | $109.95 at Breville | — |
| Breville Die-Cast Smart Toaster BTA830 | Not stated | Die-cast aluminum; disclosure adds siloxanes and silicones, cobalt and xylenes | No spare parts listed; warranty not stated | $219.95 at Breville | — |
| Hamilton Beach 22910G | Not stated | “Brushed stainless steel finish” | 1 year in the US, 5 in Canada | $29.99 at Hamilton Beach | — |
| KitchenAid Pro Line KMT2203 | Not stated | Die-cast aluminum body, chrome accents; AB 1200 label lists chromium, copper, manganese, nickel and phosphorus | 5-year limited warranty, per KitchenAid | $279.99 at KitchenAid (list $299.99) | — |
| Mueller Retro 4-Slice MR-4000 | Not stated | Stainless steel body with ABS plastic accents; sold as BPA-free and PTFE-free | Term set by the store you buy from, per Mueller | $59.99 at Mueller | — |
| Revolution R180 Connect | Not stated | Stainless steel; AB 1200 disclosure lists PFAS, aluminum, chromium and nickel | 2-year warranty | $399.95 at Revolution | — |
What Counts as a Non-Toxic Toaster
A pop-up toaster holds each slice upright between heating elements, and the crumbs drop to a tray underneath. Those are the parts that make a toaster non-toxic or not: what the slots and the crumb tray are made of, whether either carries a coating, and how close any plastic sits to the heat.
For coatings, the closest thing to an answer is a chemical disclosure. Revolution Cooking posts a disclosure under California’s AB 1200, the law that has cookware makers list certain chemicals intentionally added to a product’s handles or food-contact surfaces. For its R180, R180 Connect, R270 and R90 toasters the list includes PFAS, alongside aluminum, chromium, nickel and other elements, and Revolution doesn’t say which part carries them. Breville’s disclosure for the BTA720 lists only stainless steel and the elements it is made of, plus aluminum, and KitchenAid’s AB 1200 label for its Pro Line toaster lists chromium, copper, manganese powder, nickel and phosphorus.
Expect some smoke the first time. Dualit’s manual has owners run one empty cycle to condition the elements and says some smoke may vent from the slots, which it calls safe and not a fault. Run that first cycle with the kitchen ventilated.
Why “Stainless” Toasters Can Still Have Plastic Parts
“Stainless” usually describes the shell. Hamilton Beach sells its 22910G as made with “a brushed stainless steel finish,” Cuisinart described its CPT-160 as having a brushed stainless housing, KitchenAid gives its Pro Line toaster an aluminum die-cast body with chrome accents, and Breville’s spec sheets give one construction material per model. None of them names what the slots or the crumb tray are made of.
A few makers go further. Keenstone’s Amazon listing claims 18/8 stainless steel on every surface that touches the bread. Smeg lists the TSF01’s crumb tray as polished stainless steel and its lever as stainless steel. Dualit names the Classic’s stainless steel body and cast aluminium ends, and nothing smaller.
Keenstone is also the one maker here that publishes a materials split: 50% recycled stainless steel, 20% ABS, 5% polycarbonate, 5% polypropylene and 5% iron-chromium-aluminum heating alloy, without saying which part is which. The FDA describes polycarbonate as a hard, clear plastic made with BPA and says the available information continues to support BPA’s safety in its approved uses in food containers and packaging; if you avoid BPA anyway, ask Keenstone where the polycarbonate sits before you buy. Mueller names its plastic without a split: its Retro 4-Slice has a stainless steel body “with ABS plastic accents” and is sold as BPA-free and PTFE-free.
If you’re also replacing a coffee machine, compare the materials that touch hot water in each brewer, rather than choosing by its outer casing. Rice cookers have the same outside-versus-inside gap, and our guide to uncoated rice cooker pots covers which models cook in bare stainless steel rather than a coated pan.
Pop-Up Picks: Keenstone, Smeg and Dualit
Keenstone Retro 2-Slice
Keenstone’s Retro is the pick for a conventional pop-up with steel where the bread goes, at a modest price. Its Amazon listing claims 18/8 food-grade stainless steel on every surface that touches the bread, and the toaster has 1.5-inch slots, six browning levels and bagel, defrost and reheat settings. It was $39.99 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by Keenstone and shipped by Amazon, with a one-year limited warranty.
That claim covers the parts the bread touches, not the 30% of the toaster the listing gives to plastics. It draws 825 watts, against 1,250 for the Dualit sold on Amazon.
Smeg TSF01
Smeg’s TSF01 is the pick for a pop-up whose maker names its crumb tray: Smeg lists it as polished stainless steel, with a stainless steel lever and a steel body, though it doesn’t say what lines the slots. The black 2-slice was $159.98 on Amazon in October 2026, sold and shipped by Amazon, and Smeg gives it a full one-year warranty.
Its 1.4-inch slots are a little narrower than the Keenstone’s 1.5-inch ones. It draws 980 watts, has six browning levels with bagel, defrost and reheat settings, and its US product page carries California’s short Prop 65 warning.
Dualit Classic 2-Slice NewGen
Dualit’s Classic is the buy-it-once pick. Each is assembled by hand at Dualit’s factory in West Sussex, England, with the assembler’s name on the base plate, and Dualit says every part, from the heating elements to the timer and selector switches, can be replaced. The matt black 2-slice was $299.99 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by Dualit and shipped by Amazon; the listing gives a one-year limited warranty.
Check the parts route before paying for longevity. Dualit’s own store sells a 2-slot end element for £9.99, a crumb tray for £9.95 and a timer for £24.99 (out of stock in October 2026), but it ships only within the UK, so US owners need to ask Dualit how to get spares. Dualit doesn’t say what the knobs or the crumb tray are made of.
A Stovetop Toaster With No Plastic
The only toaster here with nothing to ask about is the one that doesn’t plug in. Coghlan’s Camp Stove Toaster is a steel plate that sits on a camp stove burner, with rust-resistant wires that fold out to hold four slices at an angle; Coghlan’s lists the material simply as steel. It was $11.81 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by a third-party seller and shipped by Amazon, and Coghlan’s gives it a one-year limited warranty.
It asks more of you. The wires hold each slice at an angle over the heated plate, so you stay with it while it toasts and turn the slices yourself. Coghlan’s sells it for camp stoves and says it fits most two-burner models, but says nothing about kitchen ranges, so check how it sits on your burner before relying on it at home. It folds flat between uses.
Keep the Toaster You Own
A toaster that still browns evenly is worth keeping, whatever its shell is made of. Replacing a working one to shave off a little plastic turns a whole appliance into e-waste, and the new one may say no more about its slots than the old one did.
Two habits make the one you have last. Empty the crumb tray: Dualit’s and Hamilton Beach’s manuals both warn that built-up crumbs can catch fire, and Hamilton Beach says to clean the tray weekly if you toast every day. And when a part fails, see whether the maker sells it before buying a new toaster. Cuisinart still sells crumb trays for its discontinued CPT-160 and CPT-180 ($14.95 and $8.95, Oct 2026), and Smeg routes US warranty repairs through its service partner, ADCO.
Which Toaster Lasts the Longest?
The one that can be opened and fixed. Dualit sells the Classic’s working parts, heating elements and timer included, as spares, and its Amazon listing says the Classic has been hand-built in the UK since 1952. A warranty is a shorter promise: one year from Keenstone, Dualit, Smeg and Coghlan’s and from Hamilton Beach in the US, two from Revolution, three on Cuisinart’s CPT models and five, KitchenAid says, on its Pro Line toaster. It covers defects for a fixed period; a parts catalog decides whether a ten-year-old toaster can still be repaired.
If you are choosing between Dualit and Breville, the difference that matters for longevity is on paper. Breville’s pages for the BTA720 and BTA830 list no spare parts, while Dualit’s spares list covers elements, timers, crumb trays and feet. That doesn’t mean a Breville can’t be repaired, only that Breville doesn’t sell its toasters on that basis.
Toaster, Toaster Oven or Oven?
For toast alone, a pop-up heats the smallest space: two slots sized to the bread. Dualit’s UK spec rates the 2-slice Classic at 1.2 kW and up to 65 slices an hour, about 18 watt-hours a slice at full output, and its manual says to heat only the slots you are using. Among US models, Keenstone’s Retro is rated at 825 watts, KitchenAid’s Pro Line at 900, Smeg’s TSF01 at 980 and the Dualit sold on Amazon at 1,250.
A toaster oven earns its counter space if you also reheat or bake small portions. SMUD, Sacramento’s public utility, says small appliances such as toaster ovens use about 66% less energy than a conventional oven. A toaster oven brings its own materials question, since the walls around the food may be coated: the non-toxic toaster oven guide sorts bare-metal interiors from coated ones, and the non-toxic air fryer guide does the same for baskets.
When a Toaster Dies
Repair first; after that, a toaster is electronic waste rather than trash. Dualit’s manual says not to put its toasters in household waste but to take them to a collection point for electrical appliances. Retail take-back is patchy: Best Buy’s in-store recycling program lists toasters among the items it doesn’t accept (Oct 2026). City rules vary as well. New York’s sanitation department tells residents to set small appliances that are mostly metal or plastic out with their regular recycling, and names toaster ovens among them.
Some makers take their own back: Hamilton Beach accepts nonfunctioning Hamilton Beach products by mail and recycles the parts it can. A stovetop toaster like the Coghlan’s has no wiring to strip, so it can go with scrap metal wherever your city collects it.
Toaster Questions
Are toasters toxic?
It depends on the parts near the heat, not the shell: what the slots and crumb tray are made of, whether a coating sits on them (Revolution, for one, discloses PFAS in its toasters), and how close any plastic gets to the elements. A toaster holds no water for anything to leach into, the concern the plastic-free kettle guide covers, and the smoke a new toaster gives off on its first run is something Dualit’s manual calls normal.
Is there a toaster with no plastic parts?
Not among the electric pop-ups here. None is sold as plastic-free: Keenstone’s listing names ABS, polycarbonate and polypropylene among the Retro’s materials, and Mueller’s Retro 4-Slice has ABS plastic accents. A stovetop toaster has none: Coghlan’s Camp Stove Toaster is steel wire on a steel plate, with no electrical parts.
Is there a chemical-free toaster?
No product is chemical-free, steel included: Breville’s disclosure for its stainless BTA720 lists iron, chromium, nickel and the other elements of stainless steel, plus aluminum. A better test is bare metal where the bread and crumbs sit, no coating disclosed on food-contact parts, and plastic kept to the shell and controls.
Is there a toaster without a Prop 65 warning?
Yes. Keenstone’s and Dualit’s Amazon listings, Coghlan’s product page and the Breville, Hamilton Beach, Mueller and Revolution product pages carried no Proposition 65 warning in October 2026. Smeg’s TSF01 page carries the short “Cancer and Reproductive Harm” warning, and KitchenAid’s label for its Pro Line toaster names nickel. A missing warning isn’t a test result: as Smeg’s Prop 65 FAQ explains, a business must warn when a listed chemical is present unless it determines the exposure poses no significant risk, and Smeg says it warns without evaluating the exposure, which it says may be negligible.
Which toasters are not made in China?
Dualit’s Classic is the one here: Dualit assembles it by hand at its factory in West Sussex, England. The other makers in this guide don’t say where their toasters are made on their product pages or Amazon listings.
Is the Cuisinart toaster non-toxic?
Cuisinart’s pages for the CPT-160 and CPT-180 describe a brushed stainless housing, a slide-out crumb tray and “BPA Free,” and don’t name the slot or crumb-tray material. Both models are now discontinued, but Cuisinart still sells their crumb trays, and both carried a three-year limited warranty. If yours works, keep it and keep the tray clean.
Is the Breville toaster plastic-free?
Breville doesn’t call either model plastic-free. Its spec sheets give one construction material each, brushed stainless steel for the ‘A Bit More’ (BTA720) and die-cast aluminum for the Die-Cast Smart Toaster (BTA830), and don’t itemize the lever, controls, feet or crumb tray. Breville’s chemical disclosure lists stainless steel’s elements and aluminum for the BTA720 and adds siloxanes and silicones, cobalt and xylenes for the BTA830, without saying which part holds what.
Is the Hamilton Beach stainless toaster plastic-free inside?
Hamilton Beach doesn’t say. It sells the 22910G ($29.99, Oct 2026) as made with a brushed stainless steel finish and names no material for the slots or the slide-out crumb tray. Its manual gives a one-year warranty in the US and five years in Canada.

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?
Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿