A topper can change how firm or soft a mattress feels. It cannot fix a mattress that already sags, dips, or has stopped supporting your body — no material or certification changes that. Latex toppers (Dunlop or Talalay, GOLS-certified when organic) add a firmer, more responsive layer. Wool toppers add softness and temperature regulation, not structural support. Neither replaces a worn-out mattress, and a certification on the topper says nothing about the mattress underneath it.
Disclosure: This page includes affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

What a mattress topper can and can’t fix
A topper is a comfort layer, not a repair. It sits on top of the mattress and changes how the surface feels against your body; it does not add support, tension, or structure back into a mattress core that has broken down. Confusing the two is the most common reason a topper purchase disappoints — the mattress still sags the next morning, just under a new layer of latex or wool.

Can a topper fix a sagging mattress?
No. A visible dip, a body-shaped impression, or a mattress that no longer feels level is a support-layer failure — the coils, latex core, or foam underneath has broken down. A topper adds 2 to 3 inches of cushioning on top of that failure; it will not restore support, and Avocado’s own guidance for its topper line says the same thing: the product is not designed to fix a sagging mattress. If your mattress sags, the comparison that matters is a replacement mattress, not a topper. Our organic mattress guide covers that decision.
A topper earns its place in a narrower situation: the mattress still holds you level and supportive, but the surface itself feels too firm. In that case, 2 to 3 inches of latex or wool genuinely changes how the bed feels without replacing anything structural. If the current mattress already feels close to right, the lower-waste choice is to skip the topper — it adds cost, another material to eventually dispose of, and for latex specifically, a layer that retains more heat than no topper at all.
Latex toppers: Dunlop vs. Talalay and what GOLS covers
Dunlop and Talalay describe how the latex is processed, not what tree it came from — both can start from the same natural rubber tree sap. Dunlop latex is poured into a mold and cured in one dense pour, which produces a firmer, more consistent feel with less give at the surface. Talalay latex is poured, then vacuum-expanded and flash-frozen before curing, which produces a lighter, more consistently aerated cell structure and a softer, more responsive feel at a given firmness rating. That is why brands like Avocado sell Dunlop as the firmer option and Talalay as the plusher one for the same product line.
Dunlop vs Talalay: which is more durable?
Dunlop is the denser of the two, and density is the strongest available predictor of how long a latex layer holds its shape under repeated compression — density and ILD figures, where a brand publishes them, are the closest verifiable proxy, since no independent, brand-comparable compression-cycle testing is publicly available for these specific products. Talalay’s more open cell structure sleeps cooler, but that same structure is generally considered less resistant to long-term compression set than Dunlop at an equivalent thickness. Neither claim substitutes for a warranty: check the years covered and what “material breakdown” means in the terms, since a prorated warranty can cover a topper on paper while paying little of the replacement cost.
GOLS — the Global Organic Latex Standard — certifies only the latex core: organic raw-material sourcing, processing, and chain-of-custody for the rubber sap itself. It does not certify a cotton cover, a wool layer, or the finished product’s chemical emissions. GOLS covers the latex; GOTS covers the cotton cover and the wool, the same distinction used on the site’s pillow certification tables.
Wool toppers: softness and temperature, not support
A wool topper works on a different mechanism than latex. Wool fiber traps air between its crimped structure, which adds loft and a soft hand-feel while also buffering temperature — wool pulls moisture away from the body and releases it, which is why wool toppers are marketed on temperature regulation rather than on firmness options. Unlike latex, most wool toppers do not come in a choice of firmness at all; the material itself is soft, and the only real variable is fill weight.
Is a wool topper better than latex?
They solve different problems. A wool topper will not make a too-firm mattress feel meaningfully firmer or softer in the way a 2- or 3-inch latex layer does — its main effect is surface softness and temperature, not pressure relief. Latex is the better choice when the mattress itself is too firm and needs a real feel change; wool is the better choice when the feel is already acceptable but the bed runs hot, or a reader wants to avoid latex. GOTS is the relevant certification for wool fiber and processing — it does not certify latex — and certification depth varies more across wool toppers than it does across latex ones: Holy Lamb Organics names a GOTS-certified wool option but ships an uncertified US-sourced wool by default, and Coyuchi’s wool-blend topper carries no named certification at all on its own product page.
What “organic” covers on a topper — and what it doesn’t
An “organic mattress topper” is rarely one uniform organic product. The latex core, if GOLS-certified, is organic by that program’s definition. The cotton cover, if GOTS-certified, is organic by a separate program with separate scope. Wool marketed as “organic” needs its own GOTS or equivalent certificate to back the claim; wool alone is not automatically organic just because it is a natural fiber. Finished-product marks like Greenguard Gold, MADE SAFE, and eco-INSTITUT test chemical emissions or screen against a substance list — none of them are organic-fiber certifications, and a fully synthetic memory-foam topper can carry Greenguard Gold too — Brentwood Home’s and Nolah’s rows below both do.

Reading a product page for exact scope matters more than reading the marketing headline. “GOLS-certified organic Dunlop latex” is a specific, checkable claim about the core. “Organic mattress topper” on its own is not — it could describe the whole product, or just one layer of it. The table below lists certifications exactly as each maker states them, not what the product name implies.
Thickness: 2 inches vs. 3 inches
Two inches is the smaller adjustment: it changes surface feel without adding much height, and it is easier to handle when rotating, packing for a return, or fitting existing deep-pocket sheets. Three inches makes a more noticeable change to firmness and cushioning, but it also adds more bulk, more weight, and a real chance the fitted-sheet pocket depth on your existing sheets no longer reaches. Measure the current mattress height and your sheet pocket depth before choosing 3 inches over 2 — that measurement matters more than which number sounds more comfortable.
Firmness options
Latex toppers are the category with real firmness choice: brands in the table below list anywhere from two to five firmness tiers, sometimes backed by a published density or ILD (Indentation Load Deflection) number, sometimes described only in words like “soft” or “medium-firm.” A published ILD number is the more useful signal — it is measurable and comparable across a single brand’s line, even though ILD ratings are not standardized enough to compare directly between two different brands. Wool toppers, by contrast, mostly skip firmness choice entirely and vary by fill weight instead.
Off-gassing and what Greenguard Gold tests
New foam and latex products can release volatile organic compounds (VOCs) for a period after unboxing — the “new mattress smell.” The EPA’s indoor air quality guidance, cited below, covers VOC emission from household products generally; it does not address bedding foam specifically. Greenguard Gold, administered by UL, addresses this directly: it tests a finished product’s chemical emissions against low-VOC limits designed around sensitive populations such as schools and healthcare settings. A topper carrying Greenguard Gold has been tested for emissions — a real, checkable claim — but it says nothing about whether the material is organic or synthetic; a 100% synthetic memory-foam topper can carry it too. MADE SAFE and eco-INSTITUT run separate independent chemical screenings against banned or restricted substance lists, and a maker can hold one, several, or none of these marks without changing what GOLS or GOTS actually certifies.
Care, sun sensitivity, and how long a latex topper lasts
Latex toppers generally cannot be machine washed. Avocado’s topper cover is sewn shut and non-removable, with spot-clean-only care instructions; that pattern is common across the category because a wet latex core is slow to dry and prone to mildew if it stays damp. Latex is also sensitive to prolonged direct sunlight and ozone exposure, both of which degrade the rubber over years — airing a topper briefly is fine, but leaving one in direct sun for an extended period is not.
How long does a latex topper last?
Warranty length is the most concrete signal a maker is willing to put a number behind, and it varies considerably: the toppers checked for this page range from a 1-year limited warranty up to 10 years, with most organic latex options landing at 5 years. A longer warranty is not a guarantee of longer real-world life, but a maker unwilling to warranty a product for more than a year is a meaningfully different bet than one backing it for five or ten. Trial length is a separate number — it covers your right to return the product, not how long it lasts — and the two should not be confused when comparing options.
End of life: what happens when the topper wears out
Natural latex and wool are both biodegradable, which changes the disposal picture compared with a synthetic memory-foam topper. Latex rubber breaks down over time in a way petroleum-based polyurethane foam does not, and pure wool fiber is compostable or can go through textile recycling if the cover fabric is also natural enough to accept. In practice, few municipal composting programs take a full bed-size topper, and curbside pickup rarely will either — a local textile-recycling drop-off (many take foam and rubber bedding for down-cycling into padding or insulation) is a more realistic path than assuming curbside will handle it. A memory-foam topper has no realistic end-of-life path outside landfill; its polyurethane structure does not break down or recycle through standard programs. That difference is worth weighing against price when a topper nears the end of its warranty — the lowest-cost option today is not necessarily the lowest-waste option over its full life.
The lowest-waste choice is still the one already in your house. If the current mattress surface is acceptable, skip the topper purchase entirely rather than replacing a “good enough” feel with a “better” one — that is the use-what-you-have case, and no certification changes it.
What each maker states about its own topper
An “organic” product name and a certificate are different things, so this table records the marks each maker names on its own current page. Contrast rows (Saatva, Brentwood Home, Nolah) are included because they show up in the same search results without carrying GOLS or GOTS; the differences matter more than the similarities. Woolroom prices in GBP since it is a UK retailer, and Coyuchi’s product page names no certification at all for its wool-blend topper — “not disclosed” rather than an assumed pass.
| Topper | Material | Certifications as stated | Thickness options | Firmness options | Warranty / trial | Price (Aug 2026) | Where stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avocado Organic Latex Topper — Medium | GOLS Dunlop latex | GOLS, GOTS, OEKO-TEX Std 100 Class I, Greenguard Gold, Formaldehyde-Free Verified, MADE SAFE, EWG Verified, Climate Label Certified | 2 in, 3 in | Medium (Dunlop) | 1-yr limited + Good Housekeeping 2-yr seal; 100-night trial | $–$$ (starts under $300) | Avocado (Impact link) |
| Avocado Organic Latex Topper — Plush | FSC Talalay latex | FSC, GOTS, OEKO-TEX Std 100 Class I, Greenguard Gold, Formaldehyde-Free Verified, MADE SAFE, EWG Verified, Climate Label Certified | 2 in, 3 in | Plush (Talalay) | 1-yr limited + Good Housekeeping 2-yr seal; 100-night trial | $–$$ (starts under $300) | Avocado (Impact link) |
| Naturepedic Box-Stitched Organic Latex Topper | Shredded organic latex | GOTS, GOLS, MADE SAFE, Greenguard Gold | 3 in only | Not offered (plush, pillow-top feel) | 10-yr limited; 30-night trial | $359 (Twin, sale) | Product page |
| Naturepedic Adagio Organic Latex Topper | GOLS Dunlop latex | GOLS, GOTS, MADE SAFE, Greenguard Gold | 2 in only | Not offered (“responsive support”) | 10-yr limited; 30-night trial | $319 (sale, size unspecified) | Product page |
| Naturepedic Wooly Organic Wool Topper | Organic wool batting | GOTS, MADE SAFE, Greenguard Gold, UL Formaldehyde Free | 3 in (all sizes) | Not offered (wool softness only) | 10-yr limited; 30-night trial | $599 (sale, all sizes) | Product page |
| PlushBeds Organic Latex Mattress Topper | Dunlop organic latex | GOLS, GOTS (optional cotton cover), OEKO-TEX Std 100 Class 1, Greenguard Gold | 2 in, 3 in | Soft, Med-Soft, Medium, Firm, Extra-Firm | 5-yr limited; no stated night-trial, pre-ship cancellation only | From $204 (Twin, 2 in, Soft) | Product page |
| Sleep On Latex Pure Green Topper | Dunlop (enhanced process) | GOLS, GOTS, OEKO-TEX Std 100, Fair For Life, Greenguard Gold, eco-INSTITUT | 1 in, 2 in, 3 in | Soft, Medium, Firm | 5-yr warranty; 30-day free returns | From $99 (Twin, 1 in, Soft) | Product page |
| Turmerry 7 Zone Natural Latex Topper | Dunlop (≥95% organic) | GOLS, OEKO-TEX, eco-INSTITUT, LGA | 2 in, 3 in, 4 in | Soft, Medium, Firm, Extra-Firm | 5-yr warranty; 120-day trial (returns day 30–120) | Not disclosed (size table did not render) | Product page |
| Latex for Less Natural Latex Topper | Dunlop (single-source) | GOLS, GOTS (cotton cover), eco-INSTITUT | 2 in, 3 in | Soft (D55/15 ILD), Medium (D75/28 ILD), Medium-Firm (D85/36 ILD) | 5-yr warranty; 120-night trial | Not disclosed (size table did not render) | Product page |
| Saatva Natural Latex Topper | Natural latex foam (Dunlop/Talalay not specified) | eco-INSTITUT, FSC — not GOLS or GOTS | 1.5 in only | Not offered (single comfort level) | 1-yr limited; 180-night trial | $345 (Queen) | Product page |
| Brentwood Home Memory Foam Topper | Gel memory foam + up to 20% BioFoam — not latex | CertiPUR-US, Greenguard Gold, Climate Neutral — not GOLS or GOTS | 2 in, 3 in | Not offered (single firmness) | 5-yr limited; 1-yr sleep guarantee, final sale (no returns) | $139 (sale) | Product page |
| Nolah AirFoam Topper | AirFoam (foam) core, organic-cotton cover only — not latex | Greenguard Gold, CertiPUR-US — not GOLS or GOTS | 2 in only | Plush, Luxury Firm | 10-yr limited; 30-night return | $194 (Twin, sale) | Product page |
| Savvy Rest Harmony | Latex — Talalay or Dunlop (buyer’s choice), not wool | GOTS (cover and manufacturing facility, per page text) | 3 in latex layer (~4 in total) | Soft, Medium, Firm (Dunlop or Talalay) | 90-day Latex Exchange policy | $1,099–$2,449 | Product page |
| Holy Lamb Organics Happy Lamb Fleece | Wool fleece + organic-cotton knit backing | GOTS (cotton facility; NZ wool offered as a GOTS-certified option, not the default US wool) | ~1 in (no thickness choice) | Not offered (wool softness only) | 30-day return (store credit) | $555 (Twin) – $975 (King/Cal King) | Product page |
| Woolroom Deluxe Wool Topper | 1000gsm British wool + organic cotton (UK brand, GBP pricing) | OEKO-TEX Std 100 (full range) — no GOTS named for the cotton on this page | 4–5 cm (~1.6–2 in) | Not offered (wool softness only) | 30-night sleep trial | £131.99–£299.99 (GBP) | Product page |
| Coyuchi Washable Wool Filled Topper | 85% NATIVA wool / 15% plant fiber blend, organic-cotton shell | Not disclosed — no GOTS, OEKO-TEX, or other mark named on this page | Not disclosed | Not offered (wool softness only) | Not disclosed on this page | $329 (Twin) – $449 (King) | Product page |
Avocado is the only brand here on an Impact affiliate link; every other row links to the maker’s own current product page. The full Avocado topper review covers the Medium-vs-Plush and 2-inch-vs-3-inch decision in more depth than this comparison needs to.
Where the Avocado toppers fit
Avocado is one of the few brands here certified across the full stack — GOLS on the latex, GOTS on the cotton cover, and Greenguard Gold on the finished product — while offering both firmness and both thickness options in one line. Naturepedic covers the same three marks on its latex toppers and adds a true wool option (Wooly) that Avocado doesn’t sell. Sleep On Latex and Latex for Less both carry GOLS and GOTS at a lower starting price than Avocado, with less finished-product certification depth. Among the wool toppers, only Naturepedic’s Wooly and Holy Lamb’s New Zealand option name GOTS explicitly; Woolroom relies on OEKO-TEX instead, and Coyuchi names no certification at all. Saatva, Brentwood Home, and Nolah show what the same shopping search returns without an organic claim behind it — useful for price and warranty comparison, not as an organic alternative.
Related certification guides
The same GOLS-vs-GOTS distinction shows up across the sleep category. Our non-toxic pillow guide, organic sheets comparison, and eco-friendly comforter guide each break down certification scope for a different bedding layer. If you’re deciding what to buy first for an entire sleep setup, the Avocado sleep system guide covers that order of operations, and the Avocado mattress review covers the certification scope on the mattress itself.