Who Gives A Crap’s 48-roll box is the cheapest bamboo roll per sheet in this comparison at $0.42 per 100 sheets, and it is one of the few brands that publish an FSC license code you can look up. The catch is PFAS: its own testing note reports trace organic fluorine, while PlantPaper, Save Trees and Bumboo publish non-detect results; Cheeky Panda’s non-detect statement sits on its UK site, not on its US Amazon listing. PlantPaper is the unbleached pick at roughly double the cost per sheet; Bumboo is the closest thing to a third-party PFAS mark at $0.49.
Roll names are not units: a double-length roll runs from 200 sheets at PlantPaper to 370 at Who Gives A Crap, so every box below with a published sheet count is priced per 100 sheets at the regular one-time price.
Affiliate disclosure: The Zero Waste List may earn a commission from Who Gives A Crap or Amazon if you buy through a link on this page, at no added cost to you. Links to each brand’s own store are plain maker links.

Sheets, cost and disclosures side by side
The cheapest roll per sheet is not the one with the strongest PFAS paperwork, and the unbleached roll costs about twice as much per sheet as the cheapest white one.
| Brand | Box, sheets and ply | Cost per 100 sheets (Sept 2026) | FSC license code | Bleaching as stated | PFAS disclosure | Packaging | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who Gives A Crap 100% Bamboo | 48, 24 or 12 rolls · 370 sheets · 3-ply · 3.94 × 3.94 in | $0.42 ($75 for 48 rolls); $0.55 ($49 for 24) | FSC C190271 | Chlorine dioxide and hydrogen peroxide | Verified: trace organic fluorine reported in the brand’s own testing (brand statement) | Paper-wrapped rolls, cardboard box, no plastic | Buy at Who Gives A Crap |
| Save Trees (formerly Cloud Paper) | 24 or 48 rolls · 300 sheets · 3-ply · sheet size not stated | $0.76 ($54.99 for 24 rolls); $0.74 ($105.85 for 48) | FSC C041262 (on the bulk listing) | Elemental chlorine-free (bundle listing) | Verified: organic fluorine below detection (brand statement) | Plastic-free, recyclable and compostable | Buy at Amazon |
| Reel | 24, 12 or 48 rolls · 300 sheets · 3-ply · 4 × 4 in | $0.61 ($43.99 for 24 rolls); $0.58 ($82.99 for 48) | No code published; page says FSC-certified | Elemental chlorine-free | Self-claim (no inks, dyes, PFAS or BPA; no test published) | Plastic-free, as listed | Buy at Amazon |
| PlantPaper | 16, 32 or 96 rolls · 200 sheets · 3-ply · 4.3 × 4.3 in | $1.34 ($43 for 16 rolls); $1.08 ($69 for 32); $0.87 ($167 for 96) | No code published; page says 100% FSC-certified | Unbleached | Verified: routine PFAS panel, all non-detected (brand FAQ) | Plastic-free products and packaging | Buy at PlantPaper |
| Betterway Classic White | 12, 24 or 36 rolls · 360 sheets · 3-ply · sheet size not stated | $0.69 ($29.99 for 12 rolls); $0.64 ($54.99 for 24); $0.54 ($69.99 for 36) | No code published; page says FSC-certified fibers | Not stated for Classic White; the Natural Brown line is unbleached | Self-claim (BPA- and PFAS-free badge; no test published) | Recycled cardboard box, plastic-free tape | Buy at Amazon |
| Bumboo | 24 or 48 rolls · 300 sheets · 3-ply · 10 × 10 cm | $0.56 ($40 for 24 rolls); $0.49 ($70 for 48) | No code published; FSC logo on the product page | Oxygen and hydrogen peroxide, totally chlorine-free in the product description; the same page’s bullet list and the FAQ say elemental chlorine-free | Verified: PFAS-free certification by Fidra (brand statement) | Plastic-free; FSC-paper wraps, recycled cartons, soy inks | Buy at Amazon |
| Cheeky Panda (Amazon bulk pack) | 45 rolls (5 packs of 9) · sheets per roll not stated on the listing · 3-ply · sheet size not stated | Not calculable (sheets not stated); $53.45 for 45 rolls, $1.19 per roll | Not stated on the listing; the brand cites FSC C171628 on its UK site | Not stated on the listing | Brand statement on the UK site (independently tested, no detectable PFAS); not on the listing | Plastic-free, as listed | Buy at Amazon |
The math, once: Who Gives A Crap’s 48-roll box holds 48 × 370 = 17,760 sheets. $75 ÷ 17,760 × 100 = $0.42 per 100 sheets. Every other figure in the table uses the same formula at the regular one-time price in September 2026; the Cheeky Panda row carries a price per roll only, because its Amazon listing gives no sheet count.
Sheet size shifts the ranking a little. PlantPaper’s 4.3-inch square is about 18.5 square inches against 15.5 for Who Gives A Crap and 16 for Reel, so PlantPaper’s $0.87 (96 rolls) buys roughly 19 percent more paper per sheet than the figure suggests. It is still the most expensive roll here.
Subscription pricing
The second charge is the one that belongs in a budget, so introductory prices are separated from renewals. Cheeky Panda is omitted because its Amazon bulk pack is compared here at its one-time listing price.
| Subscription | First box and renewals (Sept 2026) | Delivery choices | Changes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who Gives A Crap 48, 24 or 12 rolls; 370 sheets per roll | 48 rolls: $57 first box with the current $18 new-subscriber offer, then $75 24 rolls: $49 regular; 12 rolls: $28 regular | Store guidance: every 2 months (5–6 people), 3 months (3–4), 4 months (1–2) | Three-day reminder; skip, delay, change or cancel online |
| Reel 12, 24 or 48 rolls; 300 sheets per roll | $23.99, $36.99 or $69.99 per shipment, against $27.99, $43.99 and $82.99 one-time | Every 4, 6, 8, 12 or 16 weeks; 48 rolls adds 24 weeks | Skip, move the next date or cancel future orders |
| Save Trees 24 or 48 rolls; 300 sheets per roll | 24 rolls: $29.99 first, then $39.99 (one-time $54.99) 48 rolls: $105.85 one-time; no subscription price shown | Customer-set schedule | Heads-up email three days before shipment; delay or cancel online |
| PlantPaper 16, 32 or 96 rolls; 200 larger sheets per roll | 16 rolls $43, 32 rolls $69, 96 rolls $167 one-time; subscription price shown at checkout | Set at checkout | Edit, skip or cancel online |
| Betterway 12, 24 or 36 rolls; 360 sheets per roll | 12 rolls: $26.99 subscription, $29.99 one-time 36 rolls: $62.99 subscription, $69.99 one-time | Set at checkout | Managed from the account page |
| Bumboo 24 or 48 rolls; 300 sheets per roll | 24 rolls: $38 subscription, $40 one-time 48 rolls: $66.50 subscription, $70 one-time | Weekly to monthly intervals listed at checkout | Managed from the account page |
A subscription is not automatically the lower-waste option. It works when the box size and interval match what the household uses; otherwise convenience becomes stored surplus. If you do not know your use rate, buy one box, note when it runs out, and subscribe after that. Who Gives A Crap and Save Trees each send a reminder three days before billing, which is the moment to move or skip the next box; Reel lets you cancel any time before the next order is placed.
Brand notes
Who Gives A Crap
The default when a 48-roll box fits your storage. The US product page lists 100% bamboo, 3-ply, 370 sheets per roll, 3.94-inch square sheets, no inks or dyes, and paper wraps in a cardboard box. Whitening is chlorine dioxide and hydrogen peroxide. The footer carries license code FSC C190271, and the company holds B Corp certification.
On PFAS, the brand is unusually candid: its help-center note says it never adds PFAS, tests products and packaging for a long list of PFAS plus total organic fluorine, and has found trace organic fluorine, with every product meeting the 50 ppm future limit it benchmarks against and an internal target below that. That is more information than most brands give, and it is also the reason the row does not say non-detect. The sustainability review covers the donation model; the Parks Edition is the same roll in different wrappers.
Save Trees
The Amazon route, with a renewal price to watch. Save Trees was Cloud Paper, which is why the old name survives in the Amazon URL, and its direct store moved to savetrees.co. The product page lists 300 sheets per roll and plastic-free packaging; the bulk listing carries license code FSC C041262 and the bundle listing states elemental chlorine-free bleaching. A blog post reports lab tests for organic fluorine below the limit of detection.
Direct pricing is the weak point: $54.99 for 24 rolls one-time is $0.76 per 100 sheets, the most expensive white roll here, and the $29.99 subscription price applies only to the first box. Amazon pricing and Subscribe & Save eligibility differ by shopper and date, so calculate at checkout: divide the price by 7,200 sheets and multiply by 100.
Reel
The smallest box and the widest delivery menu. Reel’s 12-, 24- and 48-roll boxes list 300 3-ply sheets per roll at 4 by 4 inches, elemental chlorine-free bleaching, plastic-free packaging, and a no-PFAS claim. The FSC claim carries no license code on the product pages, and the PFAS claim has no published test behind it. At $36.99 on subscription the 24-roll box works out to $0.51 per 100 sheets.
PlantPaper
The unbleached roll with the most complete PFAS statement. PlantPaper’s FAQ names the compounds it tests for (6:2 and 8:2 diPAP, PFOA, PFOS, PFHxS, PFDA and a wider panel) and reports all non-detected. The paper is unbleached, 3-ply, 200 sheets of 4.3-inch square per roll, and the FAQ says products and packaging contain no plastic of any kind. The FSC claim has no license code on the page.
The price is the trade: $0.87 per 100 sheets even in the 96-roll box, and $1.34 for the 16-roll starter. If unbleached paper is the point, this is the roll; if cost per sheet is the point, it is not.
Betterway
Long rolls at a mid price, with thin paperwork. Betterway lists 360 sheets per 3-ply roll, plastic-free packaging with a recycled cardboard box and sugar-based tape, and FSC-certified fibers without a license code. The Classic White page does not say how the paper is whitened; the Natural Brown line is listed as unbleached. PFAS-free appears as a badge, not a test report. The 36-roll box at $69.99 is $0.54 per 100 sheets, behind only Who Gives A Crap and Bumboo.
Bumboo
The nearest thing to a third-party PFAS mark. Bumboo’s US store lists 300 3-ply sheets per roll, 10-centimeter square, plastic-free packaging with FSC-paper wraps and soy inks, and a PFAS-free certification by Fidra. Two details need care: the product description calls its oxygen and hydrogen peroxide bleaching totally chlorine-free while the same page’s bullet list and the site’s FAQ call the process elemental chlorine-free, and the FSC logo comes without a license code. At $70 for 48 rolls the cost is $0.49 per 100 sheets, $0.46 on subscription.
Cheeky Panda (Amazon bulk pack)
The Amazon bulk pack, with the thinnest listing in the group. The 45-roll pack, sold as five packs of nine, is $53.45, or $1.19 per roll (Sept 2026). The listing gives 100% bamboo, 3-ply, plastic-free packaging, and maker claims of hypoallergenic paper, more strength per sheet than conventional rolls, and 65.5 percent fewer emissions in production, none with a cited source. It gives no sheet count, sheet size, FSC code, bleaching method or PFAS result, so the pack cannot be priced per 100 sheets. The brand’s UK site carries license code FSC C171628 and a statement that independent tests found no detectable PFAS, both for its UK double-length roll; the US storefront is password-locked, so nothing on a page the brand controls ties those to the Amazon pack.
Not recommended
These are real bamboo rolls whose own pages leave the sourcing or bleaching question open. Each may be fine paper; the problem is that nothing on the page lets a buyer tell.
- Public Goods Tree Free Toilet Paper ($49.95 for 24 rolls, 300 sheets, 30% bamboo and 70% sugarcane, sold out on Sept. 1, 2026): the product page carries no FSC claim, no bleaching method and no PFAS statement.
- BOONBOO unbleached 3-ply ($13.98 for 4 rolls, sold out on Sept. 1, 2026): unbleached is stated, PFAS-free is a self-claim, and the product page makes no FSC claim at all.
- Silk’n Soft (True Earth Paper): the brand page lists an unbleached Oh Natural roll and a white roll, gives no bleaching method for the white one, and carries no FSC claim or PFAS statement.
Keep what you have, buy once, and what happens after
The roll on the holder is the lowest-waste roll: finish it. Switching brands is a restock decision, not a replacement, so there is nothing to throw away by waiting for the box to empty. If the household already uses recycled paper, the recycled toilet paper comparison is the better default; Who Gives A Crap says its recycled rolls use less water and carry a lower carbon footprint than its bamboo rolls, and the bamboo sustainability guide covers the material itself. Bamboo is the upgrade for someone who will not otherwise give up virgin tree pulp.
Buying once, for a consumable, means fewer boxes and fewer roll changes: a 360- or 370-sheet roll nearly halves the wrappers and cores of a 200-sheet roll, and a 48-roll box halves the shipping cartons of a 24. The subscription reminders above are the tool for not over-ordering.
At end of life the paper itself flushes. What remains is packaging: every brand in the table ships without plastic, so paper wraps go in recycling or compost and the cardboard cores and shipping box go in recycling. The same fiber trade-off applies to paper towels, where the bamboo paper towels guide found a washable cloth beats any disposable roll.
What to check on any bamboo roll

- Fiber: look for the published bamboo percentage; blends with sugarcane or tree pulp are common.
- Sourcing: match the FSC license code to a current record. The FSC bamboo toilet paper guide shows the lookup.
- Box value: use sheets and sheet size alongside the roll count.
- Whitening: keep unbleached, totally chlorine-free, elemental chlorine-free and peroxide claims distinct.
- PFAS: a published test result outranks a badge.
- Plumbing: check the product and your system’s requirements in the septic systems guide.
Which one should you buy?
- Who Gives A Crap if a 48-roll box fits, the $0.42 cost per 100 sheets matters most, and a looked-up FSC code outweighs a trace-fluorine note.
- Bumboo if you want a PFAS certification and a price within a few cents of the cheapest.
- PlantPaper if unbleached paper and a published PFAS panel are the point and cost per sheet is not.
- Save Trees if Amazon is the route you want; confirm the listing, price and stock at checkout.
- Keep looking if you need a trial pack smaller than 12 rolls or a product-specific septic disintegration time; nothing here covers both.
Questions bamboo toilet paper shoppers ask
What does FSC certified mean on bamboo toilet paper?
It means a chain-of-custody certificate covers the bamboo fibre in that product, and the brand holds a license code such as C190271 that you can enter in FSC’s public certificate search. A logo alone is not the check; the code and the product scope are. The FSC bamboo toilet paper guide walks through the lookup.
Does bamboo toilet paper contain PFAS?
Not by design, but PFAS can arrive through processing water, inks or machinery, which is why brand statements differ. Who Gives A Crap reports trace organic fluorine in its own testing; PlantPaper, Save Trees and Bumboo publish non-detect results; Cheeky Panda’s non-detect statement is on its UK site, for its UK roll, and its Amazon bulk listing says nothing about PFAS; Reel and Betterway make a PFAS-free claim without a published test. The PFAS and toilet paper guide covers the university study behind the question.
Is bamboo toilet paper septic safe?
Usually, when the tissue breaks apart readily in water and the household does not overload the tank. Who Gives A Crap, Reel, PlantPaper, Betterway and Bumboo each say their rolls work with septic systems; Save Trees’ product page does not address it, Cheeky Panda says so on its UK site for its UK roll only, and none of the seven publishes a disintegration time. The septic systems guide has a jar check for the roll you already own.
Which bamboo toilet paper has the most sheets per roll?
Among rolls sold in the US with a published count, Who Gives A Crap’s 370-sheet roll leads, followed by Betterway at 360 and Reel, Save Trees and Bumboo at 300. Cheeky Panda’s Amazon bulk pack gives no sheet count; the brand’s UK double-length roll lists 380, but that roll is not sold here. PlantPaper’s 200 sheets are larger (4.3 by 4.3 inches), so compare area as well as count.
Is bamboo or recycled toilet paper better for the environment?
Recycled paper is the lower-impact default because it reuses fibre that already exists; Who Gives A Crap says its own recycled rolls use less water and carry a lower carbon footprint than its bamboo rolls. Bamboo is the upgrade when softness or strength is the reason you would otherwise buy virgin tree pulp. The recycled toilet paper comparison and the Who Gives A Crap review cover both sides.
Does a bamboo toilet paper subscription save money?
Only on the renewal price, and only when the box size matches what the household uses. Reel’s subscription cuts the 24-roll box from $43.99 to $36.99; Save Trees’ 24-roll box is $29.99 on the first order and $39.99 after that; Who Gives A Crap’s 48-roll box returns to $75 after the discounted first shipment. A box that sits unused for months saves nothing.
Which bleaching method should I look for?
Unbleached is the simplest chemistry: PlantPaper and Betterway Natural Brown skip whitening; Cheeky Panda sells an unbleached natural-color line in the UK, and its Amazon bulk pack gives no bleaching method. PlantPaper is the most expensive roll per sheet in this group, while Betterway Natural Brown is priced the same as its Classic White ($29.99 for 12 rolls, $69.99 for 36). Totally chlorine-free (oxygen and hydrogen peroxide) is the next step, then elemental chlorine-free (chlorine dioxide). A page that says nothing about bleaching is the one to question.
Is Who Gives A Crap FSC certified?
Yes. Its US site carries license code C190271, and the FSC Search record read on Aug. 25, 2026 named the company with a certificate valid to July 2028. The company is also a certified B Corporation. The Who Gives A Crap sustainability review covers the donation model and the recycled line.
What is the smallest bamboo toilet paper subscription box?
Reel and Betterway both start at 12 rolls: Reel’s box is $23.99 on subscription or $27.99 one-time, Betterway’s $26.99 or $29.99 (Sept 2026). PlantPaper starts at 16 rolls, $38 on subscription or $43 one-time. Who Gives A Crap lists a 12-roll box at $28, but only its 24- and 48-roll boxes can be subscribed, and the 24-roll box costs $49 either way. Save Trees and Bumboo also start at 24 rolls: $29.99 on the first Save Trees subscription order and $39.99 after that, and $40 less a five percent subscription discount at Bumboo. Cheeky Panda is left out because its Amazon bulk pack is compared here at its one-time listing price.
Can I cancel a bamboo toilet paper subscription online?
Yes, at the six makers whose subscriptions are compared here. Who Gives A Crap, Reel, Save Trees, PlantPaper, Betterway and Bumboo each let you cancel from the account page and skip or push back the next delivery; Cheeky Panda’s Amazon bulk pack is compared at its one-time listing price and is not among the six. All six say they send a reminder three days before the next order is charged or shipped, and that window is the deadline: Betterway and PlantPaper say a processed order cannot be cancelled, and PlantPaper asks for changes at least 48 hours ahead. Who Gives A Crap cancels each product line separately and offers a pause of two, four or eight weeks first.
Sources for the product and label details
- Who Gives A Crap bamboo toilet paper (product details checked Aug. 25, 2026)
- Save Trees on Amazon (listing read Aug. 25, 2026)
- Who Gives A Crap help centre: What are you doing about PFAS? (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- Save Trees: bamboo toilet paper, bulk listing with FSC C041262 and PFAS blog post (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- Reel: bamboo toilet paper 24-count, 12-count and 48-count (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- PlantPaper: product page and FAQ with the PFAS test statement (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- Betterway: Classic White bamboo toilet paper and Natural Brown (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- Bumboo US: bamboo toilet paper and FAQ (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- Cheeky Panda on Amazon, 45-roll bulk pack (listing read Sept. 2, 2026)
- Cheeky Panda UK: double-length bamboo toilet paper, PFAS statement and US storefront (read Sept. 1, 2026)
- FSC Public Search – Certificate Data
- Canopy EcoPaper Database: Cloud Paper bamboo toilet paper
- Forest Stewardship Council chain-of-custody guidance
10 thoughts on “Best Bamboo Toilet Paper: FSC, PFAS and Cost per Sheet”