Non-Toxic Air Fryer: Is a Glass Air Fryer the Safer Buy?

The best non-toxic air fryers keep food off a coated basket. The Fritaire cooks in a tempered glass bowl with 304 stainless steel accessories and, by Fritaire’s statement, no PTFE, PFAS or BPA on any food-contact surface. The Ninja Crispi cooks in glass containers that double as lunch boxes, the small pick for one person or a work lunch. The Our Place Wonder Oven is an air fryer toaster oven with a stainless steel interior and a chrome-plated steel basket and rack. For a conventional drawer, the Cosori TurboBlaze and Typhur Dome 2 swap PTFE for a PFAS-free ceramic coating, which is still a coating to look after.

Many basket air fryers already in kitchens cook on PTFE, the nonstick sold as Teflon: Philips says its baskets are mostly PTFE-coated, and Instant lists PTFE among the chemicals in its products. An intact basket is no reason to replace the machine; a scratched or flaking one is a reason to replace the basket, which several makers sell on its own.

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

What Touches the Food: Glass, Steel, Ceramic or PTFE

An air fryer is a small convection oven: a heating element and fan blow hot air over food in a basket or bowl. Two parts decide what the food is exposed to: the surface it sits on, and the housing around the element and fan, which few makers describe.

Table of what touches the food in each air fryer: an uncoated glass bowl in the Fritaire, Ninja Crispi and NutriChef, where cracking is the risk; a chrome-plated steel basket and rack in the Our Place Wonder Oven, whose one nonstick part is a ceramic-coated bake pan; PFAS-free ceramic coating on the Cosori TurboBlaze and Typhur Dome 2 baskets; and PTFE on many basket air fryers already in kitchens, fine while intact
What the food sits on in each glass, steel and ceramic pick, and in the PTFE baskets many kitchens already have. Graphic by The Zero Waste List.

PTFE, a PFAS, is the coating to understand first. Nonstick coatings are among the PFAS food-contact uses the FDA has authorized, and for the coating on pots and pans, the agency says studies show negligible amounts of PFAS can migrate to food. The concerns are heat and damage. Singapore’s food agency says PTFE can start to give off fumes above 260°C (500°F) and break down above 350°C (662°F), and that a damaged coating can contaminate food with PFAS and micro- and nanoplastics. The air fryers in the table below top out at 390°F to 450°F, below that fume threshold, which leaves a scratched or flaking basket as the thing to watch.

Ceramic nonstick is the PTFE-free alternative: Cosori and Typhur describe theirs as PFAS-free. Glass and steel carry no nonstick coating at all, which is why they lead the table, though the Wonder Oven’s basket and rack are chrome-plated rather than bare steel.

Air fryer What touches the food Size Warranty Price (Oct 2026) Buy
Fritaire Glass Air Fryer Tempered glass bowl; 304 stainless rotisserie, tumbler and stand. No coating, per Fritaire 5 qt 60 days $199.99 (list $249.99) Buy at Amazon
Ninja Crispi (FN101) Borosilicate glass containers; crisper plate, material not stated. Cooking surfaces PFAS- and PTFE-free, per Ninja 4 qt and 6 cups 1 year $152.99 SharkNinja; $152.95 Amazon Buy at Amazon
NutriChef NCAF539TW Pyrex glass bowl, no coating, per NutriChef; stainless mesh tray, coating not stated; no PFAS statement 5.8 qt 1 year $84.99 (list $121.41) Buy at Amazon
Our Place Wonder Oven Stainless interior; chrome-plated steel basket and rack, stainless crumb tray. Aluminum bake pan: ceramic nonstick 12 L 1 year $185 Buy at Amazon
Cosori TurboBlaze 6.0-Quart Basket and crisper plate in PFAS-free ceramic nonstick; base metal not named 6 qt 2 years $89.99 (list $119.99) Buy at Amazon
Typhur Dome 2 Aluminum alloy basket in PFAS-free, fluorine-free ceramic nonstick 5.6 qt, flat 18 months $299.95 (list $399.99) Buy at Amazon

Are Glass Air Fryers Safe?

A glass bowl has no coating to scratch or flake, and Fritaire and Ninja both state in writing that their cooking surfaces are free of PTFE and PFAS. What’s left to check is breakage, the plate or tray the food sits on inside the glass, and the machine around it.

Not every bowl is the same glass. Ninja’s Amazon listing calls the Crispi containers borosilicate; Fritaire calls its bowl tempered glass without naming the formula. That matters in a fast temperature change: in a 2010 Consumer Reports test, soda-lime glass bakeware broke all ten times it went from a 450°F oven onto a wet counter, while borosilicate held. Our explainer on borosilicate and tempered glass covers why. Either way, never set a hot bowl on a cold or wet surface. Fritaire’s bowl and lid are hand-wash only; Ninja says all Crispi accessories are dishwasher-safe.

Ninja doesn’t say what the Crispi’s crisper plate, which sits under the food, is made of, though its comparison chart lists the Crispi’s cooking surfaces as PFAS- and PTFE-free.

The Plastic Around the Heating Element

Glass fixes the surface under the food, not the machine, and few makers say what the housing around the element and fan is made of. NutriChef lists stainless steel, ABS and PP plastic as its construction materials. Asked whether there is plastic inside the glass bowl, Fritaire says a small internal component is food-grade PPS plastic rated to 500°F, in a machine that runs to 400°F. Our Place says the Wonder Oven has no plastic on any surface that touches food.

Over time the housing also collects grease. A University of Birmingham study funded by the UK’s Natural Environment Research Council found that air frying gives off fewer volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and ultrafine particles than shallow or deep frying. But an air fryer used more than 70 times released 23% more cooking-related VOCs and more than twice the ultrafine particles when run empty, from residue in places the researchers couldn’t reach to clean (Tang and others, ES&T Air, 2026). Total VOCs stayed below the UK building-regulation guideline, and the lead author, Christian Pfrang, says the finding makes a case for designs that allow a deep clean. Typhur says the Dome 2’s high-heat self-cleaning mode breaks down grease and residue.

The Glass Picks

Fritaire Glass Air Fryer

Fritaire built its machine around the coating question: a 5-quart tempered glass bowl, and a rotisserie, tumbling basket and air stand in 304 stainless steel. It runs at 1,300 W up to 400°F, and its cleaning cycle runs warm water and dish soap in the bowl. It was $199.99 at Fritaire and on Amazon (Oct 2026), against a $249.99 list price. Our Fritaire review covers owner reports and the fine print.

Longevity is the weak point. Fritaire’s limited warranty runs 60 days and covers only a new unit bought from Fritaire in its sealed packaging; Fritaire is also the seller on Amazon. Its store takes free returns of unused units within 30 days of delivery (Oct 2026) but lists no spare bowl, so a cracked bowl means a support request rather than a part you can order. The same store sells refurbished units for $89 and open-box units for $139, both final sale (Oct 2026).

Ninja Crispi

The Crispi splits an air fryer in two: a PowerPod holding the element and fan clamps onto a glass container, which also takes a snap-on lid for the fridge or a bag, and Ninja’s Recrisp mode reheats leftovers in it. The set has a 4-quart container, which Ninja says fits a 4-pound chicken, and a 6-cup one for a single meal. It was $152.99 at SharkNinja, down from $179.99, and $152.95 on Amazon (Oct 2026).

Ninja rates the presets to 450°F and backs the set with a one-year limited warranty. Spare containers cost $49.99 for the 4-quart and $32.99 for the 6-cup at SharkNinja (Oct 2026), so a broken container doesn’t retire the PowerPod.

NutriChef 5.8-Quart Glass Air Fryer

NutriChef’s NCAF539TW is the least expensive glass model here: $84.99 at NutriChef and on Amazon (Oct 2026), marked down from $121.41. It holds 5.8 quarts, runs at 1,200 W and tops out at 390°F, the lowest ceiling in the table, with a one-year warranty.

The bowl is settled; the tray isn’t. NutriChef’s product Q&A says the bowl is Pyrex glass with no coating, which is what NutriChef means by “non-stick,” and that the mesh tray the food sits on is stainless steel. It doesn’t say whether that tray is coated, NutriChef makes no PFAS statement, and the Amazon listing calls the tray “non-stick” and gives the inner material as “non-stick coated metal or plastic.” Ask NutriChef whether the tray is bare steel before counting this model as coating-free.

The Oven Route: The Wonder Oven or the Oven You Own

Our Place Wonder Oven

Inside the Wonder Oven’s stainless steel interior, the food sits on chrome-plated steel: Our Place lists the air fryer basket and wire rack as chromed steel and the crumb tray as stainless. The one nonstick part is an aluminum bake pan with a ceramic coating, and Our Place says the accessories are made without PTFE, PFOA, PFAS, lead or cadmium. It holds 12 liters, enough for a 4.5-pound chicken by Our Place’s measure, runs to 450°F, and was $185 at Our Place and on Amazon (Oct 2026), with a one-year warranty and a 100-day trial.

It is a toaster oven as much as an air fryer: a door and two rack levels instead of a drawer, and it also toasts, bakes and broils.

The Convection Oven You Already Own

A convection oven you already own does the same job with no new appliance: cook on its rack or in your own uncoated steel pan, and there is no basket coating to vet. Check the cavity first, because some countertop ovens line their inner walls with a nonstick finish.

Red countertop convection toaster oven with a glass door on a kitchen counter
The workaround: a glass-door countertop oven crisps like an air fryer without a nonstick basket. Photo: Pexels

Ceramic-Coated Baskets

A ceramic basket keeps the drawer and capacity of a regular air fryer without PTFE. It is still a coating, so treat it as Singapore’s food agency advises for any nonstick: no metal utensils or scouring pads, and a new basket once it is visibly scratched, peeling or flaking. A parchment liner keeps food off the coating, but parchment paper in an air fryer goes in only after preheating and under enough food to hold it down. Both models here carry longer warranties than any glass pick. The same choice comes up on waffle maker plates and slow cooker inserts.

Cosori TurboBlaze 6.0-Quart

The TurboBlaze is the budget basket. Cosori describes the basket and crisper plate as PFAS-free ceramic-coated nonstick, without naming the metal underneath. It holds 6 quarts, runs from 90°F to 450°F at 1,725 W, and carries a two-year limited warranty, the longest here. It was $89.99 at Cosori and on Amazon (Oct 2026), down from $119.99. Cosori’s product page also carries a California Prop 65 warning for lead, without saying which part it applies to.

Cosori’s Iconic, sold as “The Stainless Steel” air fryer ($249, sold out at Cosori in Oct 2026), shows what that word means here: Cosori says it still uses a PFAS-free nonstick ceramic coating. Stainless describes the build, so check what the basket is coated with.

Typhur Dome 2

The Dome 2 is the wide one: a 5.6-quart basket 2.3 inches deep that fits a 12-inch pizza, heated from above and below. Typhur lists the basket as aluminum alloy with a PFAS-free, fluorine-free ceramic coating. It was $299.95 at Typhur and on Amazon (Oct 2026), down from a $399.99 list price, with an 18-month warranty.

Typhur sells the Dome 2 basket on its own for $59 (Oct 2026), so a worn coating means a new basket rather than a new machine. The cost is counter space: a 19.7 by 15.6-inch footprint and 20 pounds.

Which Size Fits

The glass models hold 4 to 5.8 quarts, but glass is heavier to lift and wash: NutriChef’s Amazon listing puts its bowl alone at about 4.4 pounds. For one person, a dorm or a work lunch, the Crispi’s 6-cup container is the smallest option here; Ninja sells the PowerPod as having no countertop footprint, and the containers nest for storage.

For a couple or a small family, the Fritaire, NutriChef and Cosori hold 5 to 6 quarts, and the Dome 2’s flat basket suits food that needs a single layer. Bigger coating-free options cost more: Ninja’s Crispi Pro has 6-quart and 2.5-quart glass containers and, by Ninja’s count, serves up to 10 ($249.99 at SharkNinja), and the Large Wonder Oven has a 28-liter cavity for $245 at Our Place (Oct 2026). Beyond that, the full-size oven most kitchens already have does the job with an uncoated pan.

Should You Replace the Air Fryer You Already Own?

Not while the coating is intact. Replacing a working air fryer sends a machine of metal, plastic and wiring to the waste stream to fix a coating that, by the FDA’s account, lets only negligible amounts of PFAS migrate to food. Damage changes the answer. Singapore’s food agency says to replace nonstick cookware once the coating visibly deteriorates with scratches, peeling, flaking or chipping. A 2022 study from Australia’s University of Newcastle and Flinders University (Luo and others, Science of The Total Environment) estimated that a scratched PTFE surface could release thousands to millions of micro- and nanoplastic particles in a simulated cooking process, and what happens to them once swallowed isn’t known: a 2017 perspective in Environmental Science and Pollution Research calls the toxicity and fate of ingested PTFE coatings not understood.

When the basket is damaged, replace the basket, not the machine, where the maker sells one:

Air fryer you may own What the maker says about the basket Replacement parts (Oct 2026)
Ninja AF101 (4 qt) Replacement basket sold as “4-qt. ceramic-coated, nonstick”; crisper plate ceramic-coated, PTFE- and PFOA-free Basket $33.99; crisper plate $18.99 (SharkNinja)
Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF141 (5 qt) “Nonstick basket and crisper plate”; coating not named Basket $33.99; crisper tray $19.99 (SharkNinja)
Instant Vortex Plus 6QT “Non-stick air fryer basket”; Instant’s company disclosure lists PFAS including PTFE, PFA and FEP —
Philips Airfryer Steel or aluminized steel, mostly PTFE-coated; 7000 Series meshes ceramic-coated; PFOA-free (materials page filed under HD9650/90) —

SharkNinja sells the AF101 replacement basket as ceramic-coated without saying whether older AF101s shipped with the same coating, so a worn one can be swapped for a basket with a stated coating. For an Instant or Philips model, ask the maker for the part number before replacing the whole machine.

Energy: Air Fryer vs. Oven

For small batches, an air fryer uses less electricity than a full-size oven. In tests by Which?, the UK consumer group, an air fryer cooked chips on 0.287 kWh against 0.863 kWh in a built-in oven, and a roast chicken on 0.54 kWh against 1.157 kWh (October 2026). Consumer NZ drew the line by quantity and time: for small amounts cooked in under 30 minutes the air fryer is cheaper, and for large amounts cooked for more than 30 minutes the oven is (January 2024).

So the saving depends on how you cook. Which? found the savings drop off if you have to cook in batches, so for a family dinner that takes three rounds in a 5-quart basket, the oven may come out ahead.

When It Wears Out

Best Buy’s in-store recycling program lists air fryers among the appliances it doesn’t accept (Oct 2026), so local rules decide. Fort Collins, Colorado, for example, asks residents to donate small appliances that still work, takes broken ones as scrap metal at listed drop-off sites, where fees may apply, and keeps them out of curbside recycling.

The glass is the awkward part. Fort Collins keeps baking glassware such as Pyrex out of curbside recycling because it is a different material from bottles and jars, and sends unusable pieces to the trash; a cracked air fryer bowl belongs with it, though your own city’s list decides. A steel rack, rotisserie or basket can go with scrap metal where your city takes it.

What to Ask a Brand Before Buying

For a model not named here, ask three questions: what the basket or tray is made of, what coating is on it, and what the housing around the heating element is made of. A clear answer names the material. A reply that says only “BPA-free” or “PFOA-free” hasn’t answered: BPA is a plastics chemical, and Philips’ materials page, for one, describes coatings that are PFOA-free and mostly PTFE. The same questions work on a rice cooker’s inner pot; our guide to uncoated rice cooker pots names the models that ship one.

California adds a document to check. Its cookware law, AB 1200, has required makers since 2023 to post online the state-listed chemicals intentionally added to a product’s food-contact surfaces or handle, and it bars a “free of” claim for one chemical when another from the same listed class is intentionally added. Instant’s disclosure lists PFAS including PTFE, PFA and FEP; Typhur’s lists aluminum for the Dome basket and carbon black for its handle. The cookware PFAS claims tracker runs the same test on pans.

Non-Toxic Air Fryer Toaster Oven

For one appliance that air fries and toasts, the coating question moves from a basket to the cavity walls and trays. The Wonder Oven above handles both with a stainless steel interior; the non-toxic toaster oven guide covers the rest of the category, including which interiors are bare metal and which hide a PTFE lining. For a pop-up toaster, the plastic-free toaster guide covers what lines the bread slots and which makers publish a Prop 65 warning.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are air fryers toxic?

Not in normal use, by regulators’ accounts. Singapore’s food agency says studies so far show PTFE is non-toxic and inert as a coating, and the FDA says only negligible amounts of PFAS can migrate from nonstick coatings into food. The concerns are temperatures above 500°F, beyond the air fryers in this guide, and a scratched or flaking coating; replace a damaged basket, or choose glass or steel.

Do air fryers have PFAS?

Many do, in the basket coating: Instant lists PTFE, PFA and FEP, which are classified as PFAS, as the coatings that make its surfaces non-stick, and Philips says its baskets are mostly PTFE-coated. The Fritaire and Ninja Crispi glass, the Wonder Oven and its accessories, and the Cosori and Typhur ceramic baskets are sold as PFAS-free.

Which air fryers have no Teflon?

The Fritaire and Ninja Crispi glass models and the Our Place Wonder Oven are sold as free of PTFE on the parts the food touches, and the Cosori TurboBlaze and Typhur Dome 2 use a PFAS-free ceramic coating instead. NutriChef’s glass bowl has no coating, but NutriChef doesn’t say whether its mesh tray does.

Is a glass air fryer safer than a basket one?

On one point: the glass bowl has no coating to scratch or shed, though a plate or tray inside it can be a separate question. An intact PTFE basket is not the hazard regulators describe; a damaged one is. Glass trades that for weight and the risk of cracking, and does nothing about the housing around the heating element.

Is the Ninja air fryer non-toxic?

It depends on the model. Ninja says the Crispi’s glass containers are free of PFAS and PTFE. For basket models, SharkNinja sells the AF101’s replacement basket as ceramic-coated and its crisper plate as PTFE- and PFOA-free, while the Air Fryer Pro AF141 is described only as having a nonstick basket and crisper plate. Ask Ninja about your model number, or replace a worn basket with a part whose coating is stated.

Is the Ninja Crispi non-toxic?

The cooking vessel is glass that Ninja describes as borosilicate and free of PFAS, PTFE and nonstick chemical coatings, and its comparison chart lists the Crispi’s cooking surfaces as PFAS- and PTFE-free. Ninja doesn’t say what the crisper plate inside the glass is made of.

Does Cosori use PFAS?

Not on its current ceramic models, by Cosori’s account: it describes the TurboBlaze’s basket and crisper plate, and the Iconic’s coating, as PFAS-free ceramic nonstick. Those statements cover the models they sit on, so match the claim to the model number on your box rather than the brand.

Does the Instant Vortex have Teflon?

Instant’s product page for the Vortex Plus 6QT says only that the basket is non-stick, but its company-wide cookware disclosure lists PFAS “including PTFE, PFA, and FEP” as the fluoropolymers that create a non-stick surface. Treat a Vortex basket as coated with PTFE, the Teflon chemical, or a related fluoropolymer unless Instant says otherwise for your model.

Why does my air fryer have a Prop 65 warning?

Proposition 65 requires a business to warn before exposing people in California to a chemical on the state’s list of carcinogens and reproductive toxicants, unless it can show the exposure poses no significant risk. The standard warning names at least one chemical (Cosori’s TurboBlaze page names lead) but not which part contains it or how much, and short labels on products made before 2028 may name none. Treat it as a reason to ask the maker, not as evidence of a PTFE basket; an AB 1200 disclosure is more specific.

Is the plastic smell from a new air fryer dangerous?

Makers describe it as normal and temporary; no regulator cited here addresses it. NutriChef’s manual blames slight smoke or odor on first use on residual protective coating burning off, and Fritaire tells owners to wash any new appliance before first use. Wash the removable parts, run the first cycles with the kitchen ventilated, and if a strong chemical smell persists, use the return window: 30 days at Cosori, Typhur and NutriChef, 90 at Fritaire and 100 at Our Place.

Zero Waste Starter Checklist

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?

Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿

Leave a Comment