Organic Cat Food: What the USDA Seal Requires

Fourteen cat foods marketed around the word “organic,” checked against each maker’s own current page on August 30, 2026: only two — Tender & True and Evanger’s Organics — carry the actual USDA Organic seal. A third, Party Animal, prints “Organic” right in the product name while its own ingredient panel reads “Made with Organic Beef,” a legally different and lower tier that USDA rules explicitly bar from using the seal at all. The rest of the field — Halo, Open Farm, Smalls, Wellness, Cat Person, Made by Nacho, Rawz, Feline Natural, and Nulo — make no organic claim whatsoever; they compete on “natural,” “human-grade,” or “non-GMO” instead, three different standards that a shopper can easily mistake for organic. None of that makes the non-organic brands worse food. It means the word on the bag and the word on the seal are not the same claim, and cats — obligate carnivores whose diet is almost entirely animal-sourced — make that gap harder to close than it is for dog food or a bag of organic chips.

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

An orange tabby cat eats kibble from a stainless steel bowl, with loose kibble scattered on the floor around it.
An orange tabby cat eating kibble from a stainless steel bowl. Photo by Konstantinos Feggoulis on Unsplash

What USDA Organic Rules Require on a Cat Food Label

Pet food falls under the same USDA National Organic Program rules that govern a carton of eggs or a bag of organic rice, enforced through the same four label tiers. “100 Percent Organic” covers a recipe whose ingredients, excluding salt and water, are entirely certified organic. “Organic” requires at least 95 percent, and only these first two tiers may carry the green-and-white USDA seal. “Made with Organic …” drops the bar to 70 percent — and USDA’s own labeling guidance says a product at this tier must not display the seal anywhere, represent the finished product as organic, or say “made with organic ingredients” as a blanket claim. Below 70 percent, a maker can name individual certified-organic ingredients in the ingredient list but can’t use the word “organic” on the front of the package at all.

Table of the four USDA/AAFCO label tiers on cat food: 100% Organic, Organic (95%+), Made with Organic (70%+), and Natural, with seal eligibility for each
USDA organic rules set a specific ingredient threshold for each label word; only the 95%-and-up tiers may carry the seal.

Party Animal’s cat lines are the clearest example of that 70 percent tier in the wild. Its Purr’n Beef can reads “Made with Organic Beef, Fruits, Vegetables + Vitamins & Minerals” on the label — the exact “made with organic” wording the USDA rule describes, on a product still named “Party Animal™ Organic Purr’n Beef.” The Cocolicious line, sold by the same company, uses identical wording on its organic SKUs. Neither can carry the seal under USDA rules, and neither does on the maker’s own product page — but a shopper scanning a shelf for the word “organic” would have no way to know that from the name alone. Reading the actual ingredient-panel wording, not the product name, is the only way to tell which tier a can is really in.

Why So Few Cat Foods Carry the Seal

A cat is an obligate carnivore: unlike a dog, it can’t thrive on a mostly plant-based diet, so a cat food’s ingredient list runs heavily to meat, organ, and fish rather than the grains and vegetables that make up most certified-organic acreage in the US. That matters because the 95 percent organic threshold applies to the whole recipe, animal ingredients included — and certifying a meat supply chain as organic (feed, living conditions, and handling tracked back to the farm) is a slower, costlier process than certifying a field of organic oats. Tender & True says on its own certifications page that it is “currently the only USDA certified organic complete and balanced diets available” for pets — a claim about its specific product line, not the whole market, but a useful data point on how thin the field actually is. The upshot for a shopper: a meat-heavy recipe with the actual seal represents a harder, more expensive supply chain to build than a plant-forward organic snack, which is one reason the certified list stays short even as “natural” and “human-grade” cat food lines multiply.

The certification itself has to reach further back in the supply chain for meat than for a crop. An organic grain buyer largely needs the field’s pesticide, herbicide, and fertilizer history documented. An organic meat buyer needs the same paperwork for every animal’s feed, plus a documented chain of custody from farm to slaughter to rendering to the can — more links, each one auditable, each one a place a supplier can fall out of compliance. That’s not a reason to distrust the brands that skip organic; it’s a reason the ones that don’t skip it, Tender & True and Evanger’s Organics here, are worth naming specifically rather than treating “organic cat food” as one interchangeable category.

What the Label Says, Brand by Brand

Cat food packaging borrows the word “organic” loosely, so the table below checks what each brand’s current page or listing actually states, not what the shelf implies. A cell that says “not disclosed” means the maker doesn’t state that detail where this was checked on August 30, 2026 — never an assumption either way. Two brands, Castor & Pollux Organix and Newman’s Own, no longer appear to sell a cat recipe through their own current sites at all; both rows say so plainly rather than guessing at a discontinued product’s specs. Halo Holistic’s own site could not be reached for this comparison, so its row stays blank rather than filled in from a secondhand listing.

Food USDA seal (95% / made-with 70% / none) Wet/dry First ingredient as stated AAFCO statement stage Packaging Price per oz (Aug 2026) Where stated
Tender & True
Organic Chicken & Liver Recipe, dry
Organic (95%+) — USDA seal Dry Organic chicken “All life stages” (brand copy; formal statement not itemized on listing) Bag (3 lb, 7 lb) $0.37/oz (3 lb bag, $17.99) Maker product page
Castor & Pollux Organix Not verified today — brand site discontinued Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed castorpolluxpet.com redirects here (301, confirmed today)
Newman’s Own Not verified today — no cat food on current site Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Brand pet-food page lists dog treats only
Evanger’s Organics
Organic Beef Dinner for Cats, canned
Organic (95%+) — USDA seal, certifier Oregon Tilth Wet (canned) Organic Beef “AAFCO Complete & Balanced” — all life stages (stated on listing) 5.5 oz cans (24-count case) $0.40/oz ($52.66 per 132 oz case) Maker product page
Halo Holistic Not verified today — site blocked every fetch attempt Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Halo Holistic — brand site, not reachable for this check
Open Farm None — pursues Certified Humane instead Wet, dry, freeze-dried (varies by line) Not disclosed Not disclosed Varies (pouches, cans, bags) Not disclosed Maker’s own blog, “Certified Humane vs Certified Organic”
Smalls None disclosed on maker page Fresh gently-cooked, freeze-dried Not itemized Not disclosed Fresh pouches, freeze-dried bags Not disclosed Maker product page
Wellness None — markets its cat line as “natural” Wet and dry Not disclosed Not disclosed Bags, cans Not disclosed Maker’s own URL naming (“natural-cat-food”)
Cat Person
Salmon & Tuna Dry Food
None disclosed on the maker’s own product data Dry (also sells wet) Not disclosed Not disclosed Bag (dry), pouch (wet) $0.47/oz (4 lb bag, $29.99) Maker product data
Party Animal Organics
Purr’n Beef, canned
None — “Made with Organic” (70%+), seal barred by USDA rule Wet (canned) Organic Beef Not itemized (Guaranteed Analysis shown, no statement text found) 5.5 oz cans Not listed (many recipes shown out of stock today) Maker product page
Made by Nacho
Chicken, Duck & Quail Kibble
None disclosed on the maker’s own product data Dry (also sells wet) Cage-free chicken Not disclosed Bag (2 lb, 4 lb) $0.41–$0.47/oz Maker product page
Rawz None — no organic category in brand navigation Wet and dry (per brand nav) Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Maker site, product detail not itemized today
Feline Natural
Lamb & King Salmon Feast, canned
None disclosed on the maker’s own product data Wet (canned) Lamb (per product name; full panel not itemized) Not disclosed 85 g / 170 g tins (imported, New Zealand) $0.92–$1.32/oz Maker product data
Nulo
Prowess Paté, Whitefish & Duck
None disclosed on the maker’s own product data Wet (also sells dry) Not disclosed (panel not rendered on fetch) Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed on maker site (sold via retailers) Maker product data

Two rows are here for what they show rather than what they confirm. Party Animal shows exactly what “made with organic” looks like on a real can — the word “Organic” on the front, the seal absent, because USDA rules require that absence at the 70 percent tier. Castor & Pollux Organix shows what happens after a brand exits the organic space: its own domain now forwards to its parent company’s site, and no current organic cat SKU could be confirmed on either. If you already have a bag or can from a brand like this, finishing it is the lower-waste move — a food doesn’t stop being usable because the maker changed its lineup.

Organic Isn’t the Same Claim as Natural, Human-Grade, or Non-GMO

AAFCO — the industry group whose model regulations most states adopt for pet food labeling — defines “natural” as a feed or ingredient derived from plant, animal, or mined sources, allowed to go through most common processing methods, but not produced by a chemically synthetic process and free of chemically synthetic additives beyond trace amounts. That’s a real, enforceable standard, but it has no organic-farming requirement at all: a “natural” chicken can come from a conventionally raised bird, as long as the chicken itself isn’t chemically altered. Wellness, Rawz, and Feline Natural all lean on this claim, not organic, and their products are no less real for it — it just answers a different question than the USDA seal does.

Four-card comparison of organic, natural, human-grade, and non-GMO cat food claims, showing which agency or process each one actually governs
“Organic,” “natural,” “human-grade,” and “non-GMO” are four different standards, not four degrees of the same claim.

“Human-grade” is narrower still: it means every ingredient is legally edible by a person and the food was made in a facility licensed for human food production — a claim about the supply chain and the plant, with no federal definition written specifically into pet food labeling law. Open Farm and Smalls both build their marketing around ingredient quality and sourcing transparency rather than organic certification. “Non-GMO,” usually backed by third-party verification like the Non-GMO Project, checks only for genetically modified ingredients and says nothing about farming method, synthetic inputs, or animal welfare. A bag can legitimately carry all three claims — natural, human-grade, non-GMO — and still never qualify for the USDA organic seal, because each one is answering a narrower question than “organic” asks.

The Nutrition Statement That Matters More Than the Seal

An organic seal describes how the ingredients were farmed. It says nothing about whether the finished recipe is nutritionally complete for a cat — that question is answered separately, by the nutritional adequacy statement required on every pet food label. The FDA explains that a product can only call itself “complete and balanced” if it either meets an AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profile (there are separate profiles for growth and reproduction versus adult maintenance) or has passed a feeding trial run under AAFCO procedures. A can or bag that skips this statement, or states a life stage that doesn’t match your cat, is a bigger practical gap than an unfilled organic tier — and the FDA is explicit that endorsements or seals from other organizations, including the organic seal, aren’t assurance of nutritional adequacy on their own. A cat with a diagnosed medical condition, allergy, or unusual life stage needs a formula chosen with a veterinarian, organic or not — no label tier substitutes for that.

Where to find it: the nutritional adequacy statement sits in small print near the guaranteed analysis panel, usually on the back or side of the package, not on the front where the organic or natural claim lives. It’s worth reading on any recipe — the organic ones checked here included — before the ingredient list or the seal, because it’s the one line that actually says whether the food is meant to be a cat’s whole diet.

The Waste Question: Cans, Pouches, and Bulk Bags

An organic label is a farming-input decision. What happens to the container is a separate, and for most households a bigger, ongoing waste decision — and it doesn’t depend on whether the food inside is organic.

Finish the bag or case you already have. Switching brands mid-bag to chase a seal wastes food and packaging for a marginal label upgrade. A cat tolerating its current food well, on a recipe with a real complete-and-balanced statement, doesn’t need to change over an ingredient-sourcing claim alone.

Buy the size you’ll actually finish. A 24-count case of 5.5 oz cans, like Evanger’s or Party Animal’s, produces one steel can per meal no matter the case size, but a 7 lb kibble bag instead of four 3 lb bags cuts the plastic and printed-panel weight per ounce of food roughly proportionally. Buying larger when storage and freshness allow is one of the more reliable ways to cut packaging without changing what’s in the bowl — our guide to reduce-first habits covers the same logic for the rest of the house.

The bowl itself is worth a second look too: a “stainless steel” label doesn’t always disclose the grade or what the base is made of. Our stainless steel cat bowl guide checks which bowls actually name it.

Contaminants are a recall question, not an organic one. The FDA maintains a public recalls and market-withdrawals list for pet food, and organic status has never been a factor in whether a recipe appears on it — contamination risk depends on the specific ingredient, facility, and testing record, not on a USDA farming-input seal. Checking a specific product against that list beats assuming either “organic” or “natural” on the label makes contamination less likely.

End of life looks different by format. A steel can, rinsed, goes into most municipal metal recycling streams whole. A foil-lined wet-food pouch, the format Cat Person and several fresh brands use for single-serve portions, is a mixed-material laminate that most curbside programs reject — it’s built for shelf life and portioning, not for a second life as material. A kibble bag’s multi-layer film sits in the same bucket as most pouches: check for a brand-specific take-back or store drop-off program rather than assuming curbside recycling will take it.

The buy-it-for-life piece of a cat’s feeding setup isn’t the food — it’s the bowl. Cans and pouches get replaced every meal regardless of brand; a stainless steel bowl doesn’t. Our stainless steel bowl guide, written for dogs, covers the same 18/8 food-grade steel that works just as well for a cat’s dish — a one-time purchase instead of a recurring plastic one.

If a dog shares the house, our organic dog food brands guide runs the same USDA-seal-versus-made-with-organic check for dog recipes — the label tiers are identical, but the brand list and the winnability math differ by species. And if litter is the other half of the cat aisle you’re rethinking, our eco-friendly cat litter guide covers the same maker-disclosure approach for that purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Organic Cat Food Better for Cats?

The USDA organic seal is a farming and sourcing standard, not a nutrition ranking. A cat food’s nutritional adequacy is set separately by its AAFCO statement, so an organic recipe and a conventional one can both be complete and balanced — or both fall short — independent of the seal. Reading the nutrition statement alongside the organic claim, rather than instead of it, is the more useful check.

Can Cat Food Be 100 Percent Organic?

Yes, in principle — the “100 Percent Organic” tier exists in USDA rules and applies to pet food the same way it applies to any packaged food. In practice it’s mostly seen on single-ingredient treats rather than full diets, because sourcing every component, including every animal ingredient, as certified organic is harder for a complete cat food than for a simpler product.

What Does “Made with Organic” Mean on Cat Food?

It means the recipe contains at least 70 percent certified-organic ingredients by USDA rule — a real standard, but one that legally cannot carry the USDA organic seal or be marketed as simply “organic.” Party Animal’s Purr’n Beef and Cocolicious lines use this exact wording on their own labels, even though “Organic” appears in the product name.

Is Grain-Free the Same Claim as Organic?

No. Grain-free describes a formulation choice — the absence of wheat, corn, rice, or other grains — and has no connection to how any ingredient was farmed. A recipe can be grain-free and organic, grain-free and conventional, or grain-inclusive and organic; several rows in the table above, including Party Animal’s organic lines, are both grain-free and made-with-organic at once.

Does an Organic Claim Say Anything About the Can or Packaging?

No. USDA organic certification governs the ingredients and how they were farmed, not the container. A can, pouch, or bag from an organic-certified brand follows the same recycling and end-of-life rules as any other can, pouch, or bag of the same material — steel cans generally recycle, most flexible pouches and multi-layer kibble bags generally don’t through curbside programs.

Zero Waste Starter Checklist

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?

Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿

2 thoughts on “Organic Cat Food: What the USDA Seal Requires”

Leave a Comment