PVA-Free and Non-Toxic Dishwasher Detergent, Compared

Non-toxic dishwasher detergent has to hold up for the people using it and for the water it drains into, which is how the Federal Trade Commission’s Green Guides say shoppers read the claim. Most of that shows on the label: a full ingredient list, no chlorine bleach, dyes or added fragrance, and an outside review such as EPA’s Safer Choice. A seal doesn’t settle the pod film. Every pod and pack below uses a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film, and its fate after the drain is still disputed, so the simple way around the question is a PVA-free tablet or powder.

Start with Blueland, whose Free & Clear tablets are on EPA’s Safer Choice list and cost $0.28 each on Amazon in October 2026; Branch Basics’ fragrance-free tablets and Dirty Labs’ enzyme powder are the other film-free picks. If a box of pods is already under the sink, use it up: the film question is no reason to throw out detergent you have paid for.

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our recommendations remain independent.

Loading clean dishes into an open dishwasher

Non-Toxic Dishwasher Detergent Brands Compared

Film-free picks first; every pack and pod after them uses a PVA film, by its maker’s own description. Prices per load are October 2026, from the store named.

Detergent Format Film Scent Certifications Price per load (Oct 2026) Buy
Blueland Dishwasher Detergent Tablets, Free & Clear Pressed tablet None Fragrance-free (also lemon) EPA Safer Choice (fragrance-free), Cradle to Cradle, Leaping Bunny $0.28 (60 for $16.79 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Branch Basics Dishwasher Tablets Pressed tablet None (plant-based binder) Fragrance-free Leaping Bunny (company-wide) $0.34 (60 for $20.12 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Dirty Labs Bio Enzyme Dishwasher Detergent, Free & Clear Loose powder with scoop None Fragrance-free (also Aestival) USDA Certified Biobased $0.38 a scoop (110 loads for $42 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Seventh Generation Triple Action Clean Packs, Free & Clear Three-chamber pack PVA Fragrance-free USDA Certified Biobased, Leaping Bunny $0.29 (54 for $15.39 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Dropps UltraWash Dishwasher Pods Pod PVA Unscented (also lemon citrus) EPA Safer Choice, Cradle to Cradle Material Health, USDA Certified Biobased, Leaping Bunny $0.49 (32 for $15.54 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
ECOS Dishwasher Detergent Packs, Free & Clear Pack PVA Fragrance-free EPA Safer Choice (fragrance-free), Leaping Bunny — —
ATTITUDE Dishwasher Pods Film-wrapped tablet PVA Not stated Not stated $0.21 (70 for $14.92 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Puracy Dishwasher Detergent Pods Pod PVA Unscented (also Citrus Skies) USDA Certified Biobased $0.40 (50 for $19.99 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Molly’s Suds Dishwasher Detergent Pods Pod PVA Fragrance-free (also citrus) Leaping Bunny $0.33 (60 for $19.99 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
AspenClean Dishwasher Pods Pod PVA Unscented EWG Verified, ECOCERT, Leaping Bunny $0.82 (28 for $22.99 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Nature Clean Automatic Dishwasher Pods Pod PVA No perfume Not stated $0.45 (60 for $26.99 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Cascade Free & Clear ActionPacs, Unscented Pac PVA No added perfume (also Lemon Essence) Not stated $0.42 (47 for $19.94 at Amazon) Buy at Amazon
Lemi Shine Dish Detergent Pods Pac (powder and gel) PVA Lemon fragrance Not stated $0.35 (52 for $17.99 at Lemi Shine) —

The Film-Free Picks

Blueland: film-free tablets on EPA’s Safer Choice list

Blueland’s tablets are pressed powder with no wrapper. The Free & Clear version is on EPA’s Safer Choice list and meets its fragrance-free criteria; a lemon version is also sold. Blueland says the formula pairs enzymes with an oxygen stain fighter and includes a rinse-aid ingredient. A 60-tablet refill was $16.79 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by Blueland, or $0.28 a tablet.

Refills come in paper Blueland calls industrially compostable, which means a composting facility, not a backyard pile. Blueland is also a party to the PVA dispute below, as a petitioner and a study funder. Our Blueland review covers the rest of its line.

Branch Basics: fragrance-free tablets with a plant-based binder

Branch Basics’ tablets are held together with a plant-based binder instead of film and list no fragrance or essential oils. The ingredients start with washing soda, an oxygen bleach (sodium percarbonate) and citric acid, with protease and amylase enzymes further down. A 60-count bag was $20.12 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by the brand, or $0.34 a tablet.

Branch Basics is Leaping Bunny certified as a company. Its Amazon listing also calls the tablets EWG Verified and MADE SAFE certified, but MADE SAFE’s directory lists other Branch Basics products, not these tablets, and the brand’s own tablet page names neither seal. Our Branch Basics review covers its concentrate.

Dirty Labs Bio Enzyme Powder: dose by the scoop

Dirty Labs sells a loose enzyme powder: no film, no pod to fit the dispenser, one scoop for an ordinary load and two for heavy soil or particularly hard water. The Free & Clear version is fragrance-free, and the maker’s page shows the USDA Certified Biobased label. The 110-load size was $42 on Amazon in October 2026, sold by Dirty Labs, or $0.38 a load at one scoop.

The 48-load size comes in a recyclable cardboard tube with a wooden scoop, by the maker’s account, and the 110-load size is its refill. Dirty Labs advises against washing sterling silver or silver-plated pieces with it.

What Non-Toxic Means for a Dishwasher Detergent

The FTC’s guidance doesn’t define a non-toxic detergent; it asks anyone making the claim for competent and reliable scientific evidence covering people and the environment, so start with what the label shows. California law requires dishwasher detergent sold there to name each fragrance allergen at 0.01 percent or more, or to list every intentionally added ingredient with the line “Contains fragrance allergen(s).” Blueland, Branch Basics, Dirty Labs and Seventh Generation all say they leave out chlorine bleach and dyes and use an oxygen bleach instead.

An outside seal is the stronger check. For its Safer Choice label, EPA reviews every ingredient whatever its share of the formula, looks at performance and packaging, and audits certified products yearly, with a separate mark for fragrance-free products. For an EPA Safer Choice dishwasher detergent, EPA’s list of certified products includes Blueland’s Free & Clear tablets, Dropps UltraWash pods, ECOS Free & Clear packs and Seventh Generation’s plain Free & Clear packs; only Blueland’s come without a film. The same checks apply to the sprays in our non-toxic cleaning products guide.

Phosphates no longer separate brands: Ohio, for one, has barred dishwasher detergent over 0.5 percent phosphorus since July 1, 2010, and every maker here that mentions phosphates says it uses none. Protease and amylase enzymes, which break down protein and starch, are normal in tablets and pods alike.

Do Dishwasher Pods Leave PVA on Dishes?

Not on the dishes, by the makers’ account: the film is made to dissolve in the wash, and Cascade says its ActionPacs dissolve completely within minutes. The dispute is what happens to the dissolved PVA at the treatment plant.

The case against the film rests on a 2021 study by Rolsky and Kelkar, funded in part by Blueland, that fed a consumer survey and published degradation data into a model. It estimated that about 77 percent of the PVA from laundry and dishwasher pods leaves treatment plants intact, roughly 61 percent in sewage sludge and 15.7 percent in treated water.

EPA was not persuaded. In an April 2023 decision it denied a petition from Blueland, the Plastic Pollution Coalition and other groups that asked it to order safety testing of PVA and to downgrade it on its Safer Choice ingredient list. EPA said the 2021 study modeled rather than measured, and cited lab tests in which the PVA used in laundry-pod film broke down with unadapted microbes from a treatment plant that takes mostly household sewage. Those tests came from industry: one study by Procter & Gamble scientists, with P&G recorded as its funder (P&G makes Cascade), and one by authors from detergent makers including P&G, Henkel, Reckitt and Unilever.

So the evidence doesn’t settle it: one side is a Blueland-funded model, the other is industry screening tests that EPA itself says are not simulations of a treatment plant, though it calls them conservative. A film-free tablet or powder sidesteps the question at a similar price per load; our PVA explainer covers the polymer itself.

Free & Clear Dishwasher Detergents

Free & Clear is a product-line name, not a certification. The strongest Free & Clear choice also meets EPA’s fragrance-free Safer Choice criteria: Blueland’s tablets do with no film, and the ECOS and plain Seventh Generation packs do with one. Dirty Labs’ Free & Clear powder is film-free and fragrance-free but not on EPA’s list.

Is Cascade Free & Clear Non-Toxic?

It isn’t third-party certified. Cascade’s pages name no ingredient seal, EPA’s Safer Choice list has no Cascade product, and the outside names Cascade cites, a Roto-Rooter “safe for pipes” approval and a Wirecutter pick, are not ingredient certifications. By Cascade’s account, the Unscented Free & Clear ActionPacs have a dye-free liquid top and no chlorine bleach, phosphates or added perfume, while the Lemon Essence version is free only of “heavy perfumes.” Both use PVA film; Cascade notes that EPA lists PVA as a safer ingredient, but EPA’s ingredient list says that gives a product no Safer Choice claim. If you already buy Cascade, the Unscented packs skip added perfume; for a certified formula, pick one on EPA’s list.

Which Dishwasher Detergents Are Fragrance-Free?

Blueland, Branch Basics, Dirty Labs, Seventh Generation, Molly’s Suds and ECOS sell fragrance-free versions; Dropps, Puracy, AspenClean and Cascade sell unscented ones; Nature Clean lists no perfume; and Lemi Shine’s pods are lemon-scented.

Seventh Generation’s Free & Clear name covers three dishwasher products: the Triple Action packs in the table, which are not on EPA’s list and contain the preservative benzisothiazolinone; the plain packs, which are; and a powder with no film. Our Seventh Generation review covers its laundry side.

Powder vs. Pods for a Non-Toxic Dishwasher Detergent

Per load, the formats overlap. At October 2026 Amazon prices the film-free picks ran from $0.28 (Blueland) to $0.38 (Dirty Labs at one scoop), and the pods from $0.21 (ATTITUDE’s 70-count box) to $0.82 (AspenClean). A second scoop takes Dirty Labs to about $0.76, and the store matters: Blueland lists the same 60 tablets at $21 on its own site, and Branch Basics’ 38-tablet bag is $0.39 a tablet direct.

Without a film, the box or bag is the waste left. Blueland’s paper refill is industrially compostable and Dirty Labs’ tube recyclable cardboard, by each maker’s account, while Branch Basics says its pouch isn’t biodegradable. Among the pods, Dropps and ATTITUDE ship in recyclable paperboard or cardboard and AspenClean in a container it calls compostable; Seventh Generation says its powder box can’t be recycled because of a plastic moisture barrier. Check what your local program takes before trusting either label.

Hard Water, Rinse Aid and the Machine You Own

Before blaming a detergent for spots, check the rinse aid. Whirlpool says rinse aid reduces water spots and improves drying, gives a factory setting of 2 or 3, and suggests turning it up for hard water or calcium spots; your manual shows your machine’s setting.

Detergent makers differ. For hard water, Dirty Labs calls for a second scoop, Seventh Generation for its rinse aid and ATTITUDE for dishwasher salt or rinse aid; ECOS recommends its rinse aid with every load, and Blueland says its tablets already contain one. AspenClean recommends a 120–140°F cycle.

Keep the machine and routine you have. ENERGY STAR advises scraping rather than rinsing plates, using the rinse feature if dishes sit overnight, and running full loads, since a dishwasher uses about the same water and energy however full it is. Branch Basics asks owners to clean the dishwasher and its filter before switching, a step worth taking before judging any new detergent.

How to Check Your Dishwasher Detergent for PVA

  • If it is a film-wrapped pod or pac, assume the film is PVA unless the maker says otherwise; every pod in the table uses it.
  • Read the ingredient list or the maker’s FAQ for polyvinyl alcohol, PVA or PVOH; some brands call it only a “water-soluble film” or “coating.”
  • Go by the maker, not the store listing. ATTITUDE’s Amazon listing calls its tablets PVOH-free, while ATTITUDE’s own FAQ says they are coated in a PVA film.
  • An unwrapped tablet or a loose powder has no film; Blueland and Branch Basics both say their tablets contain no PVA.
Three-step package check for PVA or PVOH in dishwasher pods, sheets, tablets, and powders
A quick way to identify dissolvable PVA or PVOH film and choose an uncovered detergent format. Graphic by The Zero Waste List.

The same film question runs through the laundry room: our PVA-free laundry detergent guide and eco-friendly laundry detergent guide sort powders, sheets and pods, and the plastic-free dish soap guide covers washing by hand.

Dishwasher Detergent Questions

What makes a dishwasher detergent non-toxic?

A full ingredient list, no chlorine bleach, dyes or added fragrance, and an outside review such as EPA’s Safer Choice. A seal doesn’t rule out a PVA pod film, so check the format too.

Do dishwasher pods contain plastic?

Most do. Every pod and pack in this comparison uses a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA or PVOH) film, a water-soluble synthetic polymer that dissolves in the wash; how fully it breaks down afterward is disputed.

What dishwasher detergent has no PVA?

Pressed tablets and loose powders: Blueland’s and Branch Basics’ tablets, Dirty Labs’ powder and Seventh Generation’s Free & Clear powder have no film. Blueland’s Free & Clear tablets are also on EPA’s Safer Choice list.

Are PVA-free dishwasher tablets as effective?

The film only holds the dose; the cleaning comes from the formula, and the film-free picks use the same kinds of enzymes and oxygen bleach as most pods. Every performance claim here, for tablets and pods alike, is the maker’s own.

Is PVA in dishwasher pods safe for household use?

EPA said in 2023 that PVA carries no EU hazard phrase for the human-health effects its Safer Choice criteria cover, and kept it as a low-concern ingredient. The dispute is about the film after the drain. Pods hold concentrated detergent, so keep them away from children.

Is the film on dishwasher pods compostable?

No pod maker here calls its film compostable. Several call it biodegradable, and Dropps cites the OECD 301 test, a lab screen that uses wastewater microbes rather than compost. The film dissolves in the wash, so nothing is left to compost.

What is the safest dishwasher detergent for a septic system?

Septic-safe is a maker’s claim, and none here cites an outside standard for it. Blueland, Dirty Labs, Seventh Generation, Molly’s Suds, AspenClean, Nature Clean and Cascade all make it, and every maker here that mentions phosphates says it uses none.

Can you make non-toxic dishwasher detergent at home?

You can mix washing soda and citric acid, two of the first three ingredients in Branch Basics’ tablets, but a homemade mix lacks the protease and amylase enzymes that commercial formulas add for protein and starch. Keep rinse aid in the machine if you try one.


Zero Waste Starter Checklist

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?

Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist , 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿

Leave a Comment