Non-Toxic Dish Soap: Plastic-Free and Bar Picks (2026)

Non-toxic on a dish soap label comes down to four checkable things: no synthetic fragrance hiding undisclosed allergens, no methylisothiazolinone (MIT) as a preservative, a plant-derived surfactant instead of sodium lauryl or laureth sulfate (SLS/SLES), and a third-party certification behind the claim rather than just the word “natural” on the front. EPA Safer Choice and EWG Verified both screen ingredients against those categories; a bottle that only says “non-toxic” with no seal has made a marketing claim, not a verified one.

Plastic-free bars and refills solve a separate problem, packaging waste, not ingredient safety, and the two questions do not always line up the way the labels imply. A bar can still use SLS. A liquid with EPA Safer Choice certification can still ship in a plastic bottle. And at least one EWG-Verified, cult-favorite liquid in this category lists sodium lauryl sulfate as an ingredient, worth knowing before you assume a seal means sulfate-free. The table below records what each maker publishes on its own product page.

This guide contains affiliate links. If you buy through one, The Zero Waste List may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

What “Non-Toxic” Means on a Dish Soap Label

Four ingredient classes drive most of what a “non-toxic” claim covers on a dish soap bottle. Synthetic fragrance is the biggest one: the word “fragrance” on an ingredient list can legally hide dozens of undisclosed compounds, some of which are common skin and respiratory irritants. A soap scented with a named essential oil, or labeled fragrance-free outright, avoids that black box. Methylisothiazolinone (MIT) and its relative methylchloroisothiazolinone are preservatives added to water-based liquids to stop mold growth in the bottle; both are recognized skin sensitizers, and the EU restricts MIT concentration in rinse-off cosmetics under Regulation (EC) 1223/2009. Dyes are the easiest to avoid and do nothing for cleaning power, so a soap that still needs one to look appealing is optimizing for the shelf, not the sink.

The fourth class, sulfate surfactants, is the one that trips people up. Sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) and sodium laureth sulfate (SLES) build thick foam and cut grease fast, and are also the surfactants most linked to dried-out, cracked hands after repeated exposure. Plenty of brands market as gentle or natural while still using SLS or SLES, because EPA Safer Choice and EWG Verified evaluate ingredients by hazard class and use concentration rather than banning sulfates outright. Two dish soaps in the table below carry one of those certifications and still list SLS on their own product pages, checked today. A seal is not the same claim as sulfate-free, and only a handful of brands make that claim explicitly.

EPA Safer Choice screens every ingredient for carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, aquatic toxicity, and environmental persistence, then audits certified formulas annually, but it certifies a product’s overall hazard profile at the concentration used, not the absence of any single ingredient. EWG Verified works from similar hazard-screening logic and also allows SLS in some formulas. MADE SAFE, carried by several bar and concentrate brands below, screens more than 15,000 restricted substances and adds a bioaccumulation check. None of the three requires fragrance-free or SLS-free; check the exact ingredient list, not just which logo is on the front.

Non-Toxic Dish Soap Brands Compared

Sixteen brands and formats, checked against each maker’s own product pages on August 28, 2026. “Where stated” links to the exact page a claim came from, so you can re-verify anything that matters to you before buying. Four listings turned up gaps worth knowing about before you shop: Ethique makes no dish soap at all, Dropps sells dishwasher-machine pods rather than a hand soap, Dawn’s current site lists no fragrance-free line, and Method’s dish-soap product pages would not load on the date checked.

Product Format Certifications Fragrance SLS/SLES Packaging Price per oz (Aug 2026) Where stated
Blueland Dish Soap (Powder Starter Set) Powder concentrate + reusable shaker EPA Safer Choice, B Corp, Leaping Bunny, Cradle to Cradle Fragrance-free Not stated Silicone shaker + paper refill pouch ~$1.13/oz (16 oz, $18) blueland.com, Aug 28
Meliora Dish Soap Bar (Boxed) Solid bar MADE SAFE, Leaping Bunny, Vegan Unscented or lemon (essential oil) Sulfate-free, no SLS listed Recyclable paperboard box $1.57/oz ($10.99 / 7 oz) meliorameansbetter.com, Aug 28
No Tox Life DISH BLOCK Solid bar None third-party; self-stated vegan, cruelty-free Fragrance-free Sulfate-free (plant-derived cocoyl alkyl sulfonates) Bar only, minimal packaging $1.83/oz ($11 / 6 oz) notoxlife.com, Aug 28
Dr. Bronner’s Sal Suds Liquid concentrate EWG Verified, cruelty-free (CCIC), vegan Essential oils (fir/spruce), not fragrance-free Contains SLS (listed ingredient) 100% post-consumer recycled bottle $0.53/oz (32 oz, $16.99) drbronner.com, Aug 28
Seventh Generation Free & Clear Liquid USDA Biobased 95%, EPA Safer Choice, Leaping Bunny Free & Clear, no fragrance or dyes Contains SLS (plant-derived, listed) 100% recycled bottle Not stated on maker page seventhgeneration.com, Aug 28
ECOS Dish Soap Free & Clear Liquid EPA Safer Choice, Leaping Bunny, Vegan, Hypoallergenic Scent-free, no dyes Not stated Not specified on page Not stated on maker page ecos.com, Aug 28
Attitude Dish Soap Liquid EWG Verified Unscented option, 6 scented varieties Not stated Not specified on collection page $0.25/oz (23.7 oz, $5.95) attitudeliving.com, Aug 28
Branch Basics The Concentrate (diluted for dishes) Liquid concentrate, not a dedicated dish soap EWG Verified, MADE SAFE, Leaping Bunny Fragrance-free, no synthetics or essential oils “Free from sulfates” (not named by type) Plastic bottle; refillable glass sold separately $1.63/oz concentrate (33.8 oz, $55) branchbasics.com, Aug 28
Puracy Natural Dish Soap Liquid PETA vegan & cruelty-free, hypoallergenic Unscented (Free & Clear) plus 4 scents Explicitly SLS/SLES-free Not stated on page ~$1.38/oz (16 oz, $21.99) puracy.com, Aug 28
Cleancult Liquid Dish Soap Refill Liquid refill (reusable glass bottle sold separately) None third-party named Lemon Verbena essential oil, not fragrance-free Explicitly SLS/SLES-free 100% recyclable paper-based refill pouch $0.28/oz (32 oz, $8.99) cleancult.com, Aug 28
Ethique No dish soap product exists ethique.com, Aug 28
Etee Dish Soap (bar, liquid, or powder) Solid bar, liquid concentrate, or powder concentrate None stated on collection page Scented (coconut lemon, citrus, lavender lime) or unscented Not stated Plastic-free shipping packaging Not calculable, size not listed shopetee.com, Aug 28
Dropps UltraWash Dishwasher machine pods, not hand dish soap EWG Verified Unscented or Lemon Citrus Not stated Not described on page $0.39/pod (64 count, $25) dropps.com, Aug 28
Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Dish Soap Liquid None; retailer lists paraben-free, dye-free only Essential-oil scented, multiple varieties Not stated Not specified $0.31/oz (16 oz, $4.99 at Target) Target listing, Aug 28 (maker page returned no products)
Dawn (Ultra, PowerSuds, Powerwash, Platinum) Liquid None stated All current lines are scented (Clean Scent, Strawberry Fields, Lemon); no fragrance-free line listed today Not stated Not specified Not stated dawn-dish.com, Aug 28
Method Dish Soap Liquid None confirmed on page A fragrance-free filter exists across the 28-item dish line; individual product pages did not load today Not stated Not specified Not stated methodproducts.com, Aug 28

The certified picks

Blueland’s powder carries four certifications, including EPA Safer Choice, and states fragrance-free plainly; the trade-off is a reusable shaker system instead of a familiar bottle.

Meliora’s boxed bar carries MADE SAFE certification, ships in recyclable paperboard, and lists no sulfates at all, matching the sulfate-free claim rather than just implying it. No Tox Life’s Dish Block carries no third-party certification, but its own disclosure names a specific plant-derived surfactant instead of a vague “naturally derived” line.

Dr. Bronner’s Sal Suds is the one EWG-Verified pick here that still lists sodium lauryl sulfate, alongside essential-oil fragrance rather than a fragrance-free formula. It cuts grease well in a fully recycled bottle, just not as a sulfate-free or fragrance-free one, whatever the seal implies.

Seventh Generation Free & Clear and ECOS Free & Clear both carry EPA Safer Choice and skip fragrance and dyes by name. Seventh Generation’s page lists plant-derived sodium lauryl sulfate; ECOS names no surfactant type, so its SLS status is unconfirmed rather than ruled out. Attitude pairs EWG Verified with a genuinely fragrance-free option but does not name a surfactant type either.

The concentrates, and where they don’t quite fit

Branch Basics sells no dedicated dish soap; its all-purpose Concentrate is diluted for dishes, and its page claims sulfate-free without naming SLS or SLES; the non-toxic cleaning products guide compares that concentrate against the other all-purpose cleaners with each maker’s ingredient list and registry entry linked. Dropps has the opposite mismatch: its EWG-Verified UltraWash is a dishwasher-machine pod, not a hand soap, so it answers a different question.

Puracy and Cleancult were the two brands whose pages named SLS and SLES outright and stated their formulas skip both, a more specific claim than “sulfate-free” alone. Cleancult ships as a paper-based refill for a reusable glass bottle sold separately; Puracy claims 160 sinks per bottle. Etee sells bar, liquid, and powder dish soap in plastic-free shipping packaging, but names no certification, sulfate claim, or container size, so its price-per-ounce is not calculable from what is published today.

The contrast brands

Method lists a fragrance-free filter across a 28-item dish line, but individual product pages would not load on the date checked, so its specific claims are unconfirmed rather than absent. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day carries no third-party certification and is scented across every variety; its own site had no working dish-soap page today, so the price above comes from a retail listing instead. Dawn’s current lineup, Ultra, PowerSuds, Powerwash, and Platinum, is entirely scented, with no fragrance-free or “Free & Clear” line on the maker’s site, a real gap next to Seventh Generation and ECOS carrying that option under the same EPA Safer Choice certification. Verify before you assume with either brand.

Where Plastic-Free Bars and Refills Fit

Format and ingredient safety are separate decisions, but they tend to travel together in this category. A solid bar, like No Tox Life or Meliora, carries no bottle at all, lasts longer than a liquid because you only use what sticks to a wet brush, and both brands above happen to also skip sulfates entirely. A refill system, like Blueland’s powder or Cleancult’s paper pouch, keeps the convenience of a dispenser while cutting the bottle down to one reusable vessel. A concentrate, like Sal Suds or Branch Basics, gives the most washes per ounce shipped, at the cost of measuring or diluting it yourself instead of pumping straight from the bottle.

Public Goods sells a refillable liquid dish soap for households that want a pump bottle without committing to a bar or a concentrate; it is a smaller step than a bar or refill system takes, but still cuts repeat-bottle purchases versus a fully disposable one. None of the three formats is automatically the non-toxic pick. Check the ingredient list on the specific bottle, box, or pouch you are buying rather than assuming a bar or refill is safer by default; the table above has several plastic-free picks that still use SLS-adjacent surfactants or undisclosed fragrance, right alongside liquids that skip both.

A refillable pump bottle raises the same question as a “stainless steel” soap dispenser: the shell material doesn’t tell you what the pump or reservoir underneath is made of. Our stainless steel soap dispenser guide checks which dispensers are genuinely metal all the way through.

How to Get the Most From a Dish Soap Bar

A bar lasts longest when it dries out between uses, so keep it on a draining soap dish rather than sitting in a puddle. Build lather by swirling a damp brush or sponge across the top, then wash as usual; for baked-on pans, soak first instead of grinding away at the bar. One 6-to-7-ounce block commonly outlasts two or three bottles of liquid, where the format pays off despite a higher price per ounce up front.

A synthetic sponge sheds microplastic into the sink with every wash; our biodegradable sponges guide covers the plant-fiber and cellulose alternatives that pair with a dish soap bar.

Plastic-free soap bars and bulk refill jars on display at a zero-waste shop
Bars, refills, and concentrates each cut packaging in a different way; none of them guarantees a fragrance-free or sulfate-free formula on their own.

Ingredients Worth Checking For

“Antibacterial” additives like triclosan are unnecessary for everyday dishwashing and rough on waterways; none of the sixteen brands checked above list it. Synthetic fragrance is the next thing to check, since the word “fragrance” alone can legally cover dozens of undisclosed compounds; a named essential oil or an explicit fragrance-free claim tells you more than “natural” on its own.

Methylisothiazolinone (MIT) shows up as a preservative in some water-based liquids and is a recognized skin sensitizer at higher concentrations; check the full ingredient panel, not the front label, if a formula has ever irritated your hands. SLS/SLES are worth checking for the opposite reason: they are common, not hidden, and several certified brands above use them anyway. If SLS-free specifically is the goal, look for a brand that states it outright, such as No Tox Life, Puracy, or Cleancult, rather than assuming any certification covers it. Phosphates have been phased out of most U.S. brands but still turn up in some imports; none checked here list them.

The Bottom Line

For the most certifications behind a fragrance-free claim, start with Blueland or Attitude. For a sulfate-free bar with no bottle at all, No Tox Life or Meliora state it explicitly. For a liquid naming SLS-free outright rather than leaving it to a seal, Puracy and Cleancult said so today. Sal Suds and Seventh Generation are both useful, certified products, just not sulfate-free or fragrance-free ones, whatever their seals imply at a glance. When you are ready for the dishwasher instead of the sink, our guide to PVA-free dishwasher tablets covers the pods side of the kitchen.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dawn dish soap toxic?

Dawn publishes no fragrance-free or sulfate-free claim, and no third-party screening behind one. Dawn’s current lineup, checked on dawn-dish.com today, is entirely scented across Ultra, PowerSuds, Powerwash, and Platinum, with no “Free & Clear” line and no EPA Safer Choice or EWG Verified certification on the site. That does not make it unsafe for normal dishwashing; it means Dawn has not made the specific claims that Seventh Generation or ECOS have.

What is the safest dish soap?

The closest thing to a defensible answer is a soap carrying a third-party certification (EPA Safer Choice, EWG Verified, or MADE SAFE) that also states fragrance-free and sulfate-free on its own ingredient page, rather than one claim alone. Puracy and Cleancult state SLS/SLES-free outright; No Tox Life and Meliora state sulfate-free without naming SLS specifically. No single brand tops every column, so match the claim that matters to you against the page it came from.

Is Blueland dish soap non-toxic?

By the certification and fragrance-free standard, yes: Blueland’s dish soap powder carries EPA Safer Choice, Cradle to Cradle, and Leaping Bunny certification and states its formula is fragrance-free on the product page. It does not state an SLS/SLES claim either way, so if sulfate content specifically is your concern, check the full ingredient list before buying rather than relying on the certifications alone.

Are dish soap bars better than liquid?

For packaging waste, yes, a bar ships with no bottle at all. For ingredient safety, it depends on the bar: No Tox Life and Meliora both state sulfate-free formulas, but nothing about the bar format itself guarantees that. Bars also need a slightly different routine, lathering on a wet brush instead of pumping from a bottle, and can take more effort on heavy grease than a concentrate like Sal Suds.

Which dish soaps contain no triclosan?

No brand in the table lists triclosan on a page that could be read, and three of the sixteen publish no ingredient list at all; it has largely disappeared from U.S. dish soap since the FDA restricted antibacterial hand-soap claims tied to it, and none of the current product pages list it. Triclosan adds nothing to everyday dishwashing, so its absence is closer to a category norm now than a differentiator.

Is plastic-free dish soap better for your skin?

Often, but not automatically. Plastic-free bars and refills from No Tox Life, Meliora, Puracy, and Cleancult also happen to skip SLS/SLES and synthetic fragrance, the more common irritants. But Sal Suds, a concentrate in a recycled bottle, still lists SLS, so packaging format and skin-friendliness are related, not identical, questions.

How long does a dish soap bar last?

It depends on how often a household washes dishes, but a single 6-to-7-ounce bar commonly replaces two to three 16-ounce bottles of liquid dish soap and lasts a few months with regular use. Keeping it on a draining dish rather than sitting in standing water stretches it further, since a bar that stays wet dissolves faster than one that dries between uses.


Zero Waste Starter Checklist

Ready to Start Reducing Your Waste?

Download the free Zero Waste Starter Checklist, 35+ practical swaps organized by room, so you can start wherever makes sense for you. One swap at a time is all it takes.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. 🌿

For the rest of the room, see our zero-waste kitchen guide and the broader best non-toxic cleaning products roundup.